Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Navionics chart not read by Raymarine C classic

Notices

Navionics chart not read by Raymarine C classic

Old 12-24-2014, 03:26 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Spain - Gibraltar
Posts: 56
Default Navionics chart not read by Raymarine C classic

I have just purchased a Raymarine Dragonfly 7 from Rayitaly by PAINE that I bought with a - Chart 5G545S2 Version 04.26 AGUILAS - CADIZ Aguilas to Cadiz and Martil to Tanger. Including Strait of Gibraltar. Downloaded: 2014-11-21@11:02 - (Fugawi ID details)

This Micro SD chart works fine with the Dragonfly but when placed into a genuine Raymarine MSD to Compact Flash adaptor and then into my C Classic C120 MFD, the chart does not appear!
I can read the chart on my PC with Fugawi directly and with the Raymarine adaptor so no problems there.

How can I get the C120 to read this chart?
Koalita is offline  
Old 12-24-2014, 03:55 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,856
Default

how big is the SD card? some of the older machines might be limited to 4gb or less for cards.
smac999 is offline  
Old 12-24-2014, 07:32 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Destin Fl USA
Posts: 1,135
Default Doesn't

Never has worked in mine either. It's to big a card for it to read.
Ed
Edstillfishing is offline  
Old 12-24-2014, 07:47 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 169
Default

The software need to be updated to version 5.04 or newer.
Please check here:http://www.raymarine.com/view/?id=3751
Detlefb is offline  
Old 12-25-2014, 11:12 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Spain - Gibraltar
Posts: 56
Default

Aaagghhh....... I've just downgraded to ver. 4.20 from 5.16 to get the chart radar overlay back.
Now I'll have to choose between looking at the chart on the larger C120 screen or lose the radar overlay.

As always, thanks everyone for your useful input.
Koalita is offline  
Old 12-25-2014, 01:27 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 169
Default

Originally Posted by Koalita View Post
Now I'll have to choose between looking at the chart on the larger C120 screen or lose the radar overlay.
You're always welcome.
If you add a heading sensor to your system, you can have both - nice chart and the overlay.
Even MARPA will be possible.
Detlefb is offline  
Old 12-25-2014, 02:31 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Spain - Gibraltar
Posts: 56
Default

Originally Posted by Detlefb View Post
You're always welcome.
If you add a heading sensor to your system, you can have both - nice chart and the overlay.
Even MARPA will be possible.
Ermm, can you please explain what I must do to add a heading sensor?
Koalita is offline  
Old 12-25-2014, 05:47 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,856
Default

buy and install heading sensor. or auto pilot.
smac999 is offline  
Old 12-26-2014, 01:18 AM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Spain - Gibraltar
Posts: 56
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
buy and install heading sensor. or auto pilot.
The boat is already fitted with a Simrad AP16. How can I link them to get both radar overlay and read the chart on my Classic C120?
Apologies if these seem mundane questions to the more knowledgeable folk.
Koalita is offline  
Old 12-26-2014, 01:37 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 169
Default

Hello Koalita,
by connecting the AP16 course computer MNEA0183 output to C120 NMEA0183 Input.
As far as I know the Simrad has Heading Output of HDT or HDG NMEA sentences.

You have to refer to both installtation manuals.

Simrad AP16

C120Classic Install
Detlefb is offline  
Old 12-26-2014, 10:29 AM
  #11  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Spain - Gibraltar
Posts: 56
Default

Originally Posted by Detlefb View Post
Hello Koalita,
by connecting the AP16 course computer MNEA0183 output to C120 NMEA0183 Input.
As far as I know the Simrad has Heading Output of HDT or HDG NMEA sentences.

You have to refer to both installtation manuals.

Simrad AP16

C120Classic Install
Thanks very much for the information and links.
I'll spend a quiet couple of hours on the boat and see how I get on, however I may have to refer back to you again.

James.
Koalita is offline  
Old 12-26-2014, 04:19 PM
  #12  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Spain - Gibraltar
Posts: 56
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
how big is the SD card? some of the older machines might be limited to 4gb or less for cards.
UPDATE; I just checked the size of the Msd card chart that I bought with the Dragonfly and it's 2Gb. The existing Navionics CF card chart is also 2Gb, so size should not be the cause of the Msd in the Raymarine adaptor not working with the C120.
Koalita is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread