Notices

Simrad BSM 3 problem

Old 11-29-2014, 08:12 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Central Fla
Posts: 95
Default Simrad BSM 3 problem

I have a new system that is giving me some issues. What is going on is when powering up the system it will not automatically recognize the BSM 3. I have to go in a do a source search then go to the sounder menu and select the BSM 3. After I do this it will work fine until I have powered it down and restart then go back thru the search process again.

My dealer told me that this is a know software glitch that Simrad is working on. Has anyone else had any issues like this or know of this software glitch. The version I'm running on the BSM 3 is 2.0. The MFD's are NSS16 evo2's.
Flying W is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 04:27 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Originally Posted by Flying W View Post
I have a new system that is giving me some issues. What is going on is when powering up the system it will not automatically recognize the BSM 3. I have to go in a do a source search then go to the sounder menu and select the BSM 3. After I do this it will work fine until I have powered it down and restart then go back thru the search process again.

My dealer told me that this is a know software glitch that Simrad is working on. Has anyone else had any issues like this or know of this software glitch. The version I'm running on the BSM 3 is 2.0. The MFD's are NSS16 evo2's.
What version is your evo2 software? What is your BSM3 yellow wire hooked to?
stiletto is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 06:51 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Central Fla
Posts: 95
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
What version is your evo2 software? What is your BSM3 yellow wire hooked to?
Cant Answer that question tonight will get that info tomorrow.
Flying W is offline  
Old 11-30-2014, 06:51 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,151
Default

I have exact setup as yours. I had issues as you are having that are now resolved with software update on the Evo2 units. It was a pain to select the bsm every time. PM me as we have exact same systems if needed
Extractor is offline  
Old 11-30-2014, 05:14 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Central Fla
Posts: 95
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
What version is your evo2 software? What is your BSM3 yellow wire hooked to?
Stiletto, There is not a yellow wire coming out of my BSM-3. If your referring to the Network port on the top Left side of the unit the best I can tell due to the wires being bundled together with tie wraps this network wire goes into the NEP-2 Expansion Port. Unfortunately I forgot to look at the version of soft ware I have on the NSS 16.

I don't keep my boat where I live so I can't get back to it at this time. Due to a trip I am going on it will be a few weeks to get back to it.
Thanks for any insight you might be able to give with this limited info.
Flying W is offline  
Old 11-30-2014, 05:58 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 6,117
Default

Originally Posted by Flying W View Post
Stiletto, There is not a yellow wire coming out of my BSM-3. If your referring to the Network port on the top Left side of the unit the best I can tell due to the wires being bundled together with tie wraps this network wire goes into the NEP-2 Expansion Port. Unfortunately I forgot to look at the version of soft ware I have on the NSS 16.

I don't keep my boat where I live so I can't get back to it at this time. Due to a trip I am going on it will be a few weeks to get back to it.
Thanks for any insight you might be able to give with this limited info.
The yellow wire that Stiletto is referring to is in the power cable. It turns the unit on.
bluewaterseeker is offline  
Old 12-01-2014, 09:21 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Central Fla
Posts: 95
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterseeker View Post
The yellow wire that Stiletto is referring to is in the power cable. It turns the unit on.
Thanks for the clarification Bluewater. The unit has power each time that I power up the MFD's. That was the first thing I checked. The power light is on as well as the network light is flashing.
Flying W is offline  
Old 12-03-2014, 11:53 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 163
Default

I am convinced that many of the start up issues we all experience related to that little yellow wire is really a network issue. From my observations, I am guessing they are using DHCP to assign network IP address and there are some "race conditions" associated with power on and startup that causes devices to not be assigned an IP address or to assign out of some predetermined sequence. I have seen similar issues in high performance cluster computing. We built a software tool that would sequence the IP address assignment and startup process to avoid network collisions. Assign static IP addressing at startup configuration and then you will never have to mess with it again - until you add another device - then just touch once (assign address) and be done with it when you do the install... Marine systems today are essentially networks of computers.
PrivateerSportFishing is offline  
Old 12-04-2014, 08:26 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,153
Default

I have a GoFree WiFi-1 in my system and I have none of these issues, the GoFree adapter acts as a DHCP server. I have NSS12, NSS9 Evo2, HDS-7 Touch, 4G radar, LSS-1 StructureScan, BSM-2 and SonarHub.

The yellow wires for the MFD's are unconnected, for all other devices I control the yellow wires from one common +12V switch.
abbor is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread