Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Lowrance structure scan transducer placement

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance structure scan transducer placement

Old 10-14-2014, 11:56 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowrance structure scan transducer placement

Having a lowrance 8 w/ structure scan installed and I had read some things about placement being somewhat tricky. The installer is intending on mounting to transom of a nautic star 214. Anything I should be aware of with him mounting it there? Thanks!
Old 10-14-2014, 12:02 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,885
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

Is your installer experienced ?...
I can't imagine this is his first Lowrance install.
Old 10-14-2014, 12:07 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

He is experienced but also cautious. I had voiced some concerns on previous things I read so he called to discuss placement to make sure I was comfortable with it

Last edited by usmc248; 10-17-2014 at 08:17 AM.
Old 10-14-2014, 12:59 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 979
Received 30 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

It looks like the 214 has a stepped transom? A transom mount should work fine so long as you're talking about mounting on the wall where the drain plug is located.
Old 10-14-2014, 01:08 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,885
Likes: 0
Received 1,694 Likes on 927 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by usmc248 View Post
He is experienced but also cautious. Ibhad voiced some concerns on previous things I read so he called to discuss placement to make sure I was comfortable with it
Good idea...
Old 10-14-2014, 01:27 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Here is a picture of stern for reference
Attached Images  
Old 10-14-2014, 01:37 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 7,470
Received 2,959 Likes on 1,405 Posts
Default

Depending on bilge access, I would personally flat-mount (screwed to the hull, no bracket) it to the top of the transom notch. Of course it would only work at idle/trolling speed, but there is no way it can be knocked off.
Old 10-14-2014, 02:42 PM
  #8  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

If you surface mounted it to the bottom of the transom step it would leave you plenty of room so that you could mount the regular sonar transducer within 12" so that you would still get your Downscan Overlay as well, because it looks tight next to the drain plug (in that picture at least). But like davidwademarine said, it wouldn't work on plane, but you'd still have your traditional sonar
Old 10-16-2014, 11:10 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok so my installer called and said he talked to Nautic Star and Lowrance and neither could commit to a good location to mount the structure scan transducer because of the smaller transom on this boat. He mentioned my best bet would be to go with a thru hull. I told him I am not interested in that at this point. Could Nautic Star and Lowrance not be able to provide a location for this transducer? I am only looking for trolling speeds for structure scan capability.

Last edited by usmc248; 10-17-2014 at 08:20 AM.
Old 10-16-2014, 11:18 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,399
Received 474 Likes on 340 Posts
Default

Get a couple of more pics if you can of the stern. Say kneeling down and up closer and showing the step and depth of the step. I'm not personally buying the "need" for a thru hull but whadda I know lol. ?
Old 10-16-2014, 11:31 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 979
Received 30 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

What is the distance between the drain plug and motor?
Old 10-16-2014, 12:18 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Not sure on the distance. I don't have access to the boat right now so I can't get better pics. It appears the distance between the drain and motor is at least 10 inches.
Old 10-16-2014, 01:08 PM
  #13  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by usmc248 View Post
Ok so my installer called and said he talked to Nautic Star and Lowrance and neither could commit to a good location to mount the structure scan transducer because of the smaller transom on this boat. He mentioned my best bet would be to go with a thru hull. I told him I am not interested in that at this point and how can Nautic Star and Lowrance not be able to give any insight on how to get this one to work. He said its something like 850 bucks for the thru hull. Can anyone give me a bit more advice on this. I am having a hard time agreeing that there is not spot on this boat to have this transducer work properly. I am only looking for trolling speeds for structure scan capability.
I've installed the SS like in my description on the same hull as yours, if I remember correctly the the transducer might stick out an inch or two out from underneath the step/transom. But it worked perfectly, there it absolutely no need to get a thru-hull for that boat. Where are you located? I can't believe an installer is having such issues with this transom & transducer, even crazier is that you're not getting any help from the boat company.
Old 10-16-2014, 02:01 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 1,191
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I also like the idea of attaching directly to bottom of the notch directly aft of drain plug.
Old 10-16-2014, 02:51 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,399
Received 474 Likes on 340 Posts
Default

Have a read and also google this while doing a THT search: http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...2-x-ducer.html
Old 10-16-2014, 04:01 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 7,470
Received 2,959 Likes on 1,405 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mahimahi99 View Post
I've installed the SS like in my description on the same hull as yours, if I remember correctly the the transducer might stick out an inch or two out from underneath the step/transom. But it worked perfectly, there it absolutely no need to get a thru-hull for that boat. Where are you located? I can't believe an installer is having such issues with this transom & transducer, even crazier is that you're not getting any help from the boat company.
Doesn't sound like a very qualified installer.
Old 10-17-2014, 07:43 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 391
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just wanted to close this out real quick with an update. The installer was able to finally able to get the right person on the phone at Lowrance. The lowrance person actually went to the Nautic star facility and tested the LSS on multiple boats. Turns out the best location is indeed on the stepped part of the transom next to the plug. Appreciate everyones responses!
Old 10-18-2014, 05:47 AM
  #18  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Excellent, congrats and tight lines!
Old 10-18-2014, 10:21 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,420
Received 984 Likes on 762 Posts
Default

Could you kindly post back with a review of how it works in that location & to what speed?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.