Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine c70 screen issue

Old 10-11-2014, 08:10 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,184
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Raymarine c70 screen issue

I have a c70 and c80. The c70 screen is scrambled and looks like a barcode. After reaserching it looks like it will be a bad connection from the jockey board. Is this something I can order and do fairly easy or should I send it to raymarine? Any input is appritiated. Thanks
Old 10-11-2014, 01:31 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

It's a know fault of these units. The circuit board inside is making poor contact with a connector. If you search the internet I remember seeing a series of photos on taking the unit apart and pressing the tabs back together.

I smack the screen with my palm and it works when this occurs, others press on the edges of the screen and that seems to help.

Probably not worth it to send to Raymarine.
Old 10-11-2014, 04:09 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,498
Received 526 Likes on 304 Posts
Default

bad jockey board, needs to be serviced
Old 10-11-2014, 04:41 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Why would you pay for shipping and service on a obsolete unit? FYI, I have two on my vessel, one gets a smack every now and then.
Old 10-11-2014, 07:15 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Destin Fl USA
Posts: 1,169
Received 48 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

Send it to Raymarine they will fix it. Just had mine in for new screen.
Ed
Old 10-12-2014, 04:03 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

What was the fee for repair?
Old 10-12-2014, 11:31 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,184
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Edstillfishing View Post
Send it to Raymarine they will fix it. Just had mine in for new screen.
Ed
What did they charge and how long was it there. ?
Old 10-12-2014, 07:45 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Destin Fl USA
Posts: 1,169
Received 48 Likes on 34 Posts
Default

They had it about 2 weeks. My screen was fried. The screen is the most expensive part. But while the had it they replaced the ribbon cable made the repair for other posted problems. Mine was $400.00. It comes a warranty. Can't remember how long it is for.
Ed

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.