Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Need some advice on Satellite TV for boat!

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Need some advice on Satellite TV for boat!

Old 10-09-2014, 08:01 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some advice on Satellite TV for boat!

Hey guys. Looking for a satellite TV system for a 52' Jefferson. 60% of the time this will be used at the dock/marina on the gulf coast. Maybe once a year the boat will goto Bahamas (not sure if the service will work) and go across the state of Fl. I have been looking at a used 24" unit from Sea Tel but heard the service/repairs is scarce. Any suggestions?
Old 10-09-2014, 05:00 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Linwood, Ks.
Posts: 98
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just installed a Track-It system, I'am very pleased with how it performs. It uses a 20" dish and and a 2nd reciever from home. I'am on the mississippi River and it will hold a signal without any problems. Sometimes a wake will rock me enough to loose it but it only last a couple seconds. Brand new they're under a boat buck + $25.00 for the dish.
Old 10-09-2014, 05:21 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 332
Likes: 0
Received 252 Likes on 188 Posts
Default

Intellian. Easy installation and tech support (if you'll ever need it) is superior.
Old 10-09-2014, 05:31 PM
  #4  
Closed Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,771
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Intellian. Or KVh. Both are great units

i3 from Intellian http://www.boemarine.com/intellian-i...r-map-2899-00/

TV3 from KVH http://boemarine.ecomm-search.com/re...rth-america%2F

Last edited by BoemarineBrian; 10-11-2014 at 06:56 AM.
Old 10-09-2014, 05:37 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

I would go KVH for this application. Email me and I will send you a detailed quotation. Our service and pricing will not be beat.
Old 10-09-2014, 05:51 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,611
Likes: 0
Received 203 Likes on 136 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 04cobra23 View Post
Hey guys. Looking for a satellite TV system for a 52' Jefferson. 60% of the time this will be used at the dock/marina on the gulf coast. Maybe once a year the boat will goto Bahamas (not sure if the service will work) and go across the state of Fl. I have been looking at a used 24" unit from Sea Tel but heard the service/repairs is scarce. Any suggestions?
If you are going to the Bahamas you'll want the i3 from Intellian http://www.boemarine.com/intellian-i...r-map-2899-00/

Or the TV3 from KVH http://boemarine.ecomm-search.com/re...rth-america%2F

The Intellian system has a great rebate right now, and the KVH system is the newer of the 2 with some neat new wireless features.
Old 10-09-2014, 05:57 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Jim is correct the KVH is the latest and greatest. We can do both but I treat the boat as if it was my own and the KVH is really nice. Will it be more money yes. But it will do more. Our website has pricing listed as well but in the end I will work with you with both pricing and service to ensure you are happy long term.
Old 10-10-2014, 09:11 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks everyone. Like I was saying 90% of the time the boat will be at the marina. In the rare occasion we do goto Bahamas I wondered if the TV would work. If there is a big price difference than I would do without.

Stay away from Seatel?
Old 10-10-2014, 12:47 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Parker Yacht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 8,022
Likes: 0
Received 1,012 Likes on 583 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 04cobra23 View Post
Thanks everyone. Like I was saying 90% of the time the boat will be at the marina. In the rare occasion we do goto Bahamas I wondered if the TV would work. If there is a big price difference than I would do without.

Stay away from Seatel?
SeaTel is good. I would consider it more of a "big boat" system.
Stay with either KVH or Intellian.
But, do remember, especially in the Bahamas, bigger is better.
Old 10-10-2014, 02:13 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,572
Likes: 0
Received 491 Likes on 305 Posts
Default

Kvh.
Old 10-10-2014, 05:37 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 141
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Would the two systems above work in Bahamas?
Old 10-11-2014, 06:56 AM
  #12  
Closed Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,771
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes they will
Old 10-12-2014, 07:05 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ct
Posts: 1,485
Received 534 Likes on 289 Posts
Default

Quick Questions guys I have a KVH4 dome that the previous owner had hooked up. I want to get it up and running but there is no "box" or anything like that. Can I just get a dishTV or Direct TV box and account and run with it?
Old 10-12-2014, 12:19 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,498
Received 527 Likes on 305 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ctsearay View Post
Quick Questions guys I have a KVH4 dome that the previous owner had hooked up. I want to get it up and running but there is no "box" or anything like that. Can I just get a dishTV or Direct TV box and account and run with it?
Kind of...if it's properly programmed for the service you're going to use and all updates have been done, you can run a power wire to it (assuming you have the power connector) and run your RF cable to a NON-SWM receiver (very important it's non-swm or at least compatible with NON-SWM satellites) and it should track. However, the chances of that happening are not great, I would take it to a KVH dealer and pay a few hundred bucks to at least get it programmed for Directv (we like them the best). You WILL need a legacy receiver for this system, you cannot use any of the Genie stuff they will not work with this dish and you'll spend hours trying to fix a problem that cannot be fixed.
Old 10-15-2014, 11:59 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ct
Posts: 1,485
Received 534 Likes on 289 Posts
Default

Thanks Max, Yeah I kind figured its best to leave it to the pros

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.