Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 527xs "CANNOT UNLOCK MAPS"

Old 10-08-2014, 01:20 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ambergris Caye, Belize
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin 527xs "CANNOT UNLOCK MAPS"

Greetings folks, maybe somebody can assist me before I go nuts.

I recently purchased the 527xs with base maps only. Since then, I created an account on MyGarmin, and purchased the maps for my area.

My unit refuses to read anything to do with maps on the SD card, and shows it as empty. I've tried different cards, larger than 2 gb, smaller than 2gb, formatted, reformatted, updated the unit etc.

So it reads my updates, but not my supplemental maps that I've purchased.

With the unit on, when I insert the SD card, it opens the data management page, but shows the card as empty and I get the message :" cannot unlock maps"

I've dealt unsuccessfully with Garmin by mail and phone thus far....still no joy.

Anyone have any ideas?;?;

Thanks!
Old 10-08-2014, 01:30 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

What operating system are you using on your computer?

What is the name of the map you are downloading....

Are you certain the computer has shown the the down load successful?

Did you call Garmin USA at this number?...1-913-397-8200
Old 10-08-2014, 02:10 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ambergris Caye, Belize
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It's all showing download completed, and today for the first time ever, after about ten complete reinstalls onto the card, it's showing up on Homeport now too as installed on the card. So I guess it's time to head down to the boat to check. It's never shown up on Homeport before.

The map showing up on Homeport is South East Caribbean, in accordance with MyGarmin account and what the download said. OS X 10.9.5, and yes that's who I called.

It's been going on for three months now and we have not managed a thing. Today however, s I mentioned, it's showing up on Homeport.

&&&&&&&& UPDATE....


...Still no joy in the unit. I see it reads the supplemental maps but beeps three times and says CANNOT UNLOCK MAPS

Last edited by LaminarFly; 10-08-2014 at 03:20 PM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.