Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Will dual transducers interfere with one another?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Will dual transducers interfere with one another?

Old 10-08-2014, 07:02 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Will dual transducers interfere with one another?

Does anyone know if it's okay to have 2 transducers running on the transom of my boat at the same time? Or will they interfere with one another?

I have a Simrad NSS8 with TM260 transducer that's great for deep water but not worth a hoot at detecting depths under 30 feet. To avoid running aground in unfamiliar waters, I'd like to install another sounder that works well in shallow water, but I need to know if you can run 2 sounders/transducers at the same time without their sonar beams interfering with one another.

Many thanks in advance.
Old 10-08-2014, 07:09 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

I'm wondering why your NSS and TM260 don't work well below 30', because it should.

Which frequency do you use? Is it only the depth you are after in shallow water or are you looking for fish?

If you run sounder at 50kHz and the other at 200kHz they won't interfere.

StructureScan is another option for shallow waters.

If you add a SonarHub you can add a B60 or P66 for shallow water use and also StructureScan if you like. This unit supports both and use your NSS as dispaly. You can currently not show 50 kHz from one sounder and 200kHz from the other at the same time on NSS. But when you change from the external SonarHub to the Internal NSS sounder or the oposite, the unused sounder will automatically stop pinging.
Old 10-08-2014, 07:50 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

My NSS8 looses bottom below about 27 feet at both frequencies, 50 & 200kHz. To be sure i understand what you're suggesting is the following correct: If I add a Simrad SonarHub sounder module such as the SM1100-200, then add a P66 transducer, my NSS8 will automatically switch when I get into shallow water and give me shallow water readings from the P66? Or do I have to switch something on the NSS8 when I get into shallow water?

I hope my questions make sense. I greatly appreciate your advise.
Old 10-08-2014, 08:10 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,486
Received 539 Likes on 314 Posts
Default

Hello. I have never seen dual transducers running simultaneously. I have seen a set up of two transducers connected to one screen via a switch to go between one and the other, for the very same reason you have. This was on a Furuno unit. Hope this helps.
Old 10-08-2014, 08:21 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RockNRowBoat View Post
My NSS8 looses bottom below about 27 feet at both frequencies, 50 & 200kHz. To be sure i understand what you're suggesting is the following correct: If I add a Simrad SonarHub sounder module such as the SM1100-200, then add a P66 transducer, my NSS8 will automatically switch when I get into shallow water and give me shallow water readings from the P66? Or do I have to switch something on the NSS8 when I get into shallow water?

I hope my questions make sense. I greatly appreciate your advise.
You have to go into a NSS menu to switch between the two sounders.

Another alternative is to add a NSS7 Evo2, this has SonarHub integrated. With two screens in your setup you will be able to run both sounders at the same time. One at 50kHz and the other at 200kHz. Switching between P66 for shallow waters and TM260 for deep waters the switching by menu is much simpler for NSS Evo2, for your NSS it's deeper in the menu system.

In a Simrad two screen setup you can decide by menu choice if both units should show the same transducer (actually sounder module) or if each unit should show it's own sounder/transducer. If both show the same changing the sounder module at one unit will affect both. I switch between these two operating modes quite often.
Old 10-08-2014, 08:22 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by buxa View Post
Hello. I have never seen dual transducers running simultaneously. I have seen a set up of two transducers connected to one screen via a switch to go between one and the other, for the very same reason you have. This was on a Furuno unit. Hope this helps.
I've probably been running 5 transducers at the same time, but of course with some interference.
Old 10-08-2014, 09:14 AM
  #7  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Wait, so a couple of you are "losing" the bottom in shallow depths? How long has this been going on? Do you have any screenshots of this? That sounds like the "auto" range is jacked up, seems to be a fairly common issue and I've seen that same problem with my units, and it always turns out to be the auto range, very simple fix.
Old 10-08-2014, 04:24 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I think you've nailed it mahimahi99. I called Simrad service today and they advised me to check the auto range and in the Echo settings I changed the TVG to 6 then lowered the depth range to 60 feet and I was able to get depth readings at shallow depths. I tested the boat in 5 feet of water and got good reads!

The average depth of the lake where I keep my boat is 150 feet so I have to switch the depth range to a deeper setting while cruising the main lake then switch to a lower depth range setting of 60 feet when I enter an area of shallower water. So, I'm happy to say my NSS8 and TM260 are working fine now in both deep and shallow waters after I set the TVG setting to "6".

Thanks.
Old 10-08-2014, 04:25 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

At 30' TVG should be 1 or Off. Auto depth range should work fine. Set the Ping rate to Max and Noise reduction to Off or Low.
Old 10-08-2014, 04:41 PM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

"abbor"--THANK YOU! Great info! I'll try those settings on my next trip to the boat and report back. We have days of rain coming, so it will be a week or so before I can give your suggestions a try. I really appreciate the advise all of you have offered.

Thanks again.
Old 10-08-2014, 10:24 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

And use 200kHz in shallow water for the bottom, 50kHz with it's wide cone angle is good for showing fish, so split screen with both frequencies is a good idea.
Old 10-09-2014, 11:51 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 979
Received 30 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Abbor, at what depth should one start to adjust the ping rate down on a NSS8?

Last edited by tainted; 10-09-2014 at 03:32 PM.
Old 10-09-2014, 03:18 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 577
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Good question.

I will be running a 1040xs with a B175C HW and an FCV295 with a SS264 pair....am I likely to have issues with interference if they run simultaneously ?

Steve
Old 10-09-2014, 04:09 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

Yes, you will see interference, but it can be reduced, probably to a level where you don't notice it, by increasing the interference rejection settings. The penalty for this is slightly reduced sensitivity.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.