Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

What fails? Ensuring reliability

Old 10-04-2014, 08:14 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,106
Received 330 Likes on 189 Posts
Default What fails? Ensuring reliability

I think I have done as much as I can to be a super reliable system and backup.

Furuno TZ Touch 9"
Airmar GH2183 heading/GPS
Furuno PS012 Radar power supply
Furuno DRS4D radar
Furuno DFF1 black box finder
Furuno Ethernet HUB 101
Lowrance Link 8 VHF (Morad HD VHF antenna)
Standard Horizon GX1200 (Shakespeare XP antenna)
Raymarine Dragonfly with gold charts

The TZ Touch, 2183, Link 8 are on a NMEA 2000 network
The SH has no GPS input

The TZ Touch, NMEA network, HUB are powered off a 12 circuit blue seas fuse panel fed by a 20 amp breaker from my main panel

The VHF easy have their own VHF breaker feeds
The radar power supply is on its own breaker
The Dragonfly is on its own breaker (installed as a backup plotter/sounder)

Do any of you have backup GPS receivers? It is a major single point of failure in my mind. I am thinking of adding a Lowrance Point 1 as a backup sensor.... Or maybe a Furuno GP 330 to provide 0183 GPS to the Standard Horizon VHF and my Yamaha Command Link Plus.

My only regret is he 9" vs the 14". Going to have to work a bit more OT to buy the 14"

Is this as bomb proof as I can?
Old 10-04-2014, 09:25 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,970
Received 436 Likes on 272 Posts
Default

I have redundant GPS receivers. I have a pair of 4210s connected to an N2K network. The N2k network is switched, and has a GPS receiver on it. I also have a separately switched NMEA0183 GPS receiver feeding one of the plotters. So I can select either the N2K networked GPS receiver OR the NMEA0183 receiver.

I have two depth instruments--a NMEA 0183 smart transducer connected to a garmin intrument display, and a GSD24 sonar unit. these are independently switched.

The two 4210s are supplied from different breakers and fuse blocks.

I carry a handheld radio, GPS, and hand bearing compass as well as paper charts.

Ditch bag and liferaft.
Old 10-05-2014, 07:55 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,221
Likes: 0
Received 300 Likes on 171 Posts
Default

I think your instinct is correct. I would add another GPS data source. Probably not a Furuno GP330, however, as it is somewhat outdated. A Garmin GPS 19X can be put on your NMEA 2000 network and be available as a second data source for the plotter. Alternatively, you can get the 19X HVS NMEA 0183 version for your radio and Yamaha gauges interface.

My preference would be to get the NMEA 2000 version and install a gateway to get NMEA 0183 GPS data for those devices.
Old 10-05-2014, 11:19 AM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: At the floaters . . .
Posts: 9,680
Received 3,314 Likes on 1,561 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Buoy Scout View Post
I have redundant GPS receivers. I have a pair of 4210s connected to an N2K network. The N2k network is switched, and has a GPS receiver on it. I also have a separately switched NMEA0183 GPS receiver feeding one of the plotters. So I can select either the N2K networked GPS receiver OR the NMEA0183 receiver.

I have two depth instruments--a NMEA 0183 smart transducer connected to a garmin intrument display, and a GSD24 sonar unit. these are independently switched.

The two 4210s are supplied from different breakers and fuse blocks.

I carry a handheld radio, GPS, and hand bearing compass as well as paper charts.

Ditch bag and liferaft.
yup!!
Old 10-05-2014, 11:20 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saint Francisville, LA
Posts: 1,880
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

An EPIRB ! , and have one VHF with a built in GPS wouldn't hurt either. Running two vhf's off the same panel switch or is that would you have? anyway run the vhf's off a fuse panel, no switch ,each vhf off it's on fuse and for that matter run all that stuff that doesn't require a switch straight off the fuse block.
Old 10-05-2014, 11:26 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,106
Received 330 Likes on 189 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by knotreel View Post
An EPIRB ! , and have one VHF with a built in GPS wouldn't hurt either. Running two vhf's off the same panel switch or is that would you have? anyway run the vhf's off a fuse panel, no switch ,each vhf off it's on fuse and for that matter run all that stuff that doesn't require a switch straight off the fuse block.

There is no"fuse" block in my boat, only s in panel off the main Blue Seas breaker/switch panel for the navigation sub systems. Each VHF is on its own circuit.

Of course we have an EPIRB, Raft, Handheld VHF (with built in GPS)

I think the non redundant GPS receivers is my next weakness to address. The Dragonfly doesn't rely on it, but I loose the TZ Touch, DSC emergency and radar overlay without it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.