Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

transducer/sounder question

Old 10-04-2014, 04:52 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: yorktown va
Posts: 276
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 5 Posts
Default transducer/sounder question

Okay, so i mostly fish the chesapeake bay and have a standard lawrance hds transducer. I am currently buying a larger boat and might go off shore one in a while to jig/pop. So what do i need to do to have a working machine in a few thousand feet of water? Thanks
Old 10-04-2014, 09:52 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Entourage View Post
Oka So what do i need to do to have a working machine in a few thousand feet of water? Thanks
Are you wanting to see targets (Fish) at 2000'.
Or just read bottom at that depth ?
What depth do you think your targets will be at?
Old 10-04-2014, 12:10 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: yorktown va
Posts: 276
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

In case i go jigging for tuna sometimes they are in 1500 plus feet deep. And i have been on boats that we couldnt see them. I may be wrong but i know people use better transducers for some reason.
Old 10-04-2014, 12:22 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Entourage View Post
In case i go jigging for tuna sometimes they are in 1500 plus feet deep. And i have been on boats that we couldnt see them. I may be wrong but i know people use better transducers for some reason.
Better and higher grade transducers.....absolutely.
Just one example:
Furuno FCV 295 or DFF3 and an Airmar 16 or 25 element CHIRP transducer will give good target detail at depth.

Link to Airmar:
http://www.airmartechnology.com/uplo...20Sounders.pdf
Old 10-04-2014, 01:58 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: yorktown va
Posts: 276
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Cool. So its the transducer itself. No amplifiers or anything? Like i said this is new to me.
Old 10-04-2014, 02:21 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Entourage View Post
Cool. So its the transducer itself. No amplifiers or anything? Like i said this is new to me.
No.....not by itself.
Part of a system.
The Furuno FCV 295 for example is what powers the transducer.
And the transducer is a vital part of the sonar equation..especially when going for deeper targets.

It is a partnership of both a quality sonar circuit and super sensitive transducer.


There are many good sonar transducer combinations for you to look at.
The Furuno FCV 295 / DFF3 was just an example of one that would be a good option for deep water use.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-04-2014 at 02:33 PM.
Old 10-04-2014, 03:01 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Gil,
I have a question...my boat came equipped with a Garmin 547xs and transducer already installed from Key West. I see on Garmin website that it comes with or without transducer, but does not specify which one. I dont see any numbers on the transducer. ..do you know off hand which transducer I have?
Old 10-04-2014, 03:19 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CaptPuddie View Post
Gil,
I have a question...my boat came equipped with a Garmin 547xs and transducer already installed from Key West. I see on Garmin website that it comes with or without transducer, but does not specify which one. I dont see any numbers on the transducer. ..do you know off hand which transducer I have?
Is your transducer a transom mount or a thru hull ?
This may help you ID your unit...The 3 most likely transom mount options are in order :


1 ) Plastic Transom Mount Transducer with Depth & Temperature (Dual Frequency, 8-pin)
010-10272-10..Traditional sonar.


2) All-in-one HD-ID and DownVü Transducer (8-pin)
010-12087-01...Traditional 500 watt 77/200 kHz sonar.. CHIRP for the 455 kHz Down Vu with the xs series.


3)Plastic Transom Mount Transducer with Depth & Temperature - Airmar TM150M
010-11928-20...CHIRP.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-04-2014 at 03:45 PM.
Old 10-04-2014, 04:00 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

First of all...thank you! I have the first one. Is this like a P 66? Is this a quality unit? I am just thinking of a TM 150 upgrade. If i did this, would my original transducer work with my Si-Tex SVS760CF which has an 8 pin receptacle on the back. Thoughts?
Old 10-04-2014, 04:10 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CaptPuddie View Post
First of all...thank you! I have the first one. Is this like a P 66? Is this a quality unit? I am just thinking of a TM 150 upgrade. If i did this, would my original transducer work with my Si-Tex SVS760CF which has an 8 pin receptacle on the back. Thoughts?
The first one is excellent for use in rain puddles and hot tubs...and I do not think it compatible with the Sitex..same pins but different wiring etc.
The P66 is a higher quality ..but since you have a CHIRP unit...
The TM150M is a CHIRP transducer and will be the unit to use with your 547xs.

Link to Bluewaterpirate's video of 547xs and TM150m
http://vimeo.com/96197938
Old 10-04-2014, 04:19 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Ok...thanks. I need to check the wiring run on my unit. Hopefully the TM 150 holes will line up with the ones used on the existing unit. I will likely put an order in with you. Thanks Gil
Old 10-04-2014, 04:54 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CaptPuddie View Post
Ok...thanks. I need to check the wiring run on my unit. Hopefully the TM 150 holes will line up with the ones used on the existing unit. I will likely put an order in with you. Thanks Gil
Take a look at the Stern Saver:


http://www.sternsaver.com/
Old 10-04-2014, 05:56 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: yorktown va
Posts: 276
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

So the better transducers are chirp? Can these tap into any newer style units?
Old 10-04-2014, 07:53 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Ther Stern Saver is an excellent tip. Thanks for posting!
Old 10-04-2014, 08:31 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Gil, do you sell the Stern Saver as well?
Old 10-05-2014, 08:26 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Entourage View Post
So the better transducers are chirp? Can these tap into any newer style units?
I suggest you buy the Stern Saver direct from them..use the link.
They give excellent support..good people.

...http://www.sternsaver.com/
Old 10-05-2014, 08:30 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Entourage View Post
So the better transducers are chirp? Can these tap into any newer style units?
Yes, for the most part a CHIRP transducer for deep dropping can have an advantage due to their increased sensitivity.
As I posted earlier..you can use a CHIRP transducer in a non CHIRP system such as the Furuno FCV295 or FCV 1150.

And a complete CHIRP system is also available from Simrad, Garmin, Raymarine and Furuno.
Old 10-05-2014, 12:52 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Gil, one final question. ..I fish mostly in the Chesapeake Bay ( Rockfish), Ocean City for flounder in the back bay, and offshore in less than 100 ft ( Bluefish and Sea Bass). That being said, am I best suited for purchasing a TM 150 for my Garmin 547xs or possibly a P66 for my Si-Tex? The transducer i have now just doesn't cut the mustard....I ask this simply because everyone has differnt target fish and areas fished. Thanks again
Old 10-05-2014, 01:44 PM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CaptPuddie View Post
Gil, one final question. ..I fish mostly in the Chesapeake Bay ( Rockfish), Ocean City for flounder in the back bay, and offshore in less than 100 ft ( Bluefish and Sea Bass). That being said, am I best suited for purchasing a TM 150 for my Garmin 547xs or possibly a P66 for my Si-Tex? The transducer i have now just doesn't cut the mustard....I ask this simply because everyone has differnt target fish and areas fished. Thanks again
Correct, the current ducer on your 547xs is not applicable..use the Tm150M.
Old 10-05-2014, 02:14 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Gil....PM sent for order

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.