Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

does garmin make a good VHF?

Old 10-01-2014, 06:34 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,129
Received 245 Likes on 123 Posts
Default does garmin make a good VHF?

Just curious I want my whole dash panel to match and have twin Garmin 741xs.
Old 10-01-2014, 07:01 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

I would recommend standard horizon or Icom for the VHF.
Old 10-01-2014, 07:53 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: north carolina
Posts: 2,791
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

no
Old 10-01-2014, 09:38 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,970
Received 436 Likes on 272 Posts
Default

I'm very happy with my VHF200 from Garmin. N2k, remote wireless mic., etc.
Old 10-01-2014, 09:46 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 156 Likes on 116 Posts
Default

I've never had one but know another member here that has had a number of problems with his. I buy Standard Horizon or ICOM, plug-and-play at a fraction of the cost for Garmin (and I'm Garmin for everything else).
Old 10-01-2014, 09:54 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,433
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

Lowrance Link-8 is a good VHF with integrated AIS receiver and NNEA 2000 interface which will work well in your setup. You can get it for about $240.
Old 10-01-2014, 10:21 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Standard Horizon, ICOM, and Furuno make the best radios. Garmin. ..not so much
Old 10-01-2014, 10:57 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,889
Likes: 0
Received 1,695 Likes on 928 Posts
Default

One thing to consider is that Garmin does not actually manufacture the VHF units they list....some one else makes them for Garmin.etc.
1 year warranty.

Some of the other brands have a much longer warranty
For example:
Standard Horizon has a full 3 year warranty and then a special flat rate repair after that
So warranty could be something to consider also on any units




Then for space saving on crowded dashes you have units like the Icom M400BB with its command mic.
Install the main box out of the way....all you need is the command mic.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-03-2014 at 08:07 AM.
Old 10-01-2014, 11:10 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,130
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I got a GARMIN VHF 300 AIS -- it's been exceptional. I also have a Raymarine 240 as secondary VHF.

The AIS adds quite a bit to price but there are deals out there. The AIS displays on ny Chartplotter and provd itself up at Cape Canaveral during a launch -- could see every gov't vessel in area and see their tracks.

I like it for Bahamas trips as well to see cruise ships near me

It seems like it's built like a brick outhouse -- I'd buy again and whenm the Raymarine dies I'll get a 2cd GARMIN
Old 10-02-2014, 02:47 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,486
Received 539 Likes on 314 Posts
Default

Hello. A lot of the new boats arriving here have Garmin as standard. We have also fitted some for clients, both normal fixed type and the black box type. They are quite user friendly, not too flashy or hard to learn. The only problem I have come across is interfacing them with non Garmin GPS via NMEA, but as you already have the Garmin units you will avoid this. I am really, really picky about VHF´s, I personally Like Sailor, Simrad and Icom, but as I say, im picky. Hope this helps.
Old 10-02-2014, 03:45 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: waretown nj
Posts: 464
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

i'm happy with garmin vhf 200
Old 10-02-2014, 03:50 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake VA
Posts: 7,659
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
I would recommend standard horizon or Icom for the VHF.
this!!
Old 10-02-2014, 04:22 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,940
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

no issues with vhf 200 garmin
Old 10-02-2014, 05:07 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 7,470
Received 2,960 Likes on 1,405 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bradv View Post
no issues with vhf 200 garmin
We have installed quite a few of these without any issues reported by our customers.
Old 10-02-2014, 07:06 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,970
Received 436 Likes on 272 Posts
Default

With the Garmin VHF and Garmin MFDs, you can place DSC calls from the plotter screen. If you add AIS, you can place calls to AIS targets with a few button pushes. Really nice integration.
Old 10-02-2014, 08:12 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: See screen name
Posts: 5,947
Received 859 Likes on 538 Posts
Default

No personal ownership, but have seen it in action on another boat and the integration as noted above is really slick. Performance seemed very good. Guy subjects the radio to heavy use and has been happy with his set up for at least a year or two now. If I was buying a new Garmin system I wouldn't hesitate to include the Garmin radio, and I have historically had Standard Horizon and Icom. I take my VHFs fairly seriously, consider it one of the very most important tools on the boat.
Old 10-02-2014, 08:16 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: coral gables, florida
Posts: 5,723
Received 775 Likes on 403 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Buoy Scout View Post
With the Garmin VHF and Garmin MFDs, you can place DSC calls from the plotter screen. If you add AIS, you can place calls to AIS targets with a few button pushes. Really nice integration.
is this only possible with a Garmin VHF? can the same be accomplished with other VHF brands?

thanks
Old 10-02-2014, 08:43 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
David2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SE PA & NC
Posts: 2,336
Received 1,337 Likes on 933 Posts
Default

In real practical specific terms, what makes one better than the others?
Old 10-02-2014, 10:55 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,970
Received 436 Likes on 272 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by alacrity View Post
is this only possible with a Garmin VHF? can the same be accomplished with other VHF brands?

thanks
It may be--I do not know for sure. I can tell that on my last boat, I had a Uniden (and subsequently, when that crapped out, a S/H unit) class D DSC radio interfaced with an Icom receive only AIS (all NMEA0183) to a pair of 3210 Garmin plotters. While AIS targets were displayed, you could not select them to call, nor could you place DSC calls from the plotter on the Uniden radio. The Uniden did not send DSC directory info to the plotter like the Garmin Radios do. Perhaps that's an N2K thing? Not sure.
Old 10-02-2014, 11:09 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: coral gables, florida
Posts: 5,723
Received 775 Likes on 403 Posts
Default

i think this is a question for Gil at semperfifishing

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.