Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

yamaha tach install??

Old 10-01-2014, 05:11 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default yamaha tach install??

Iam just installing the tach gauge only to the yamaha key switch. My question do I need to install the harness that has the two fuses or can I install it without? Thanks max
Old 10-02-2014, 10:03 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 34 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

Good wiring practices would have a fuse in the circuit from the key switch to the gauges.

The fuse protecting the wiring to the dash is rated at 20 amps I recall. The wire gauge from the key switch to the gauges is probably insufficient for 20 amps. Thus the Yamaha mini-harness uses a lesser rated inline fuse.

Plus, with the Yamaha harness it will be plug and play. Assuming you are installing a Yamaha tachometer.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.