Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Running fish finder on trailer

Old 10-01-2014, 04:50 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Long Island Sound
Posts: 590
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Running fish finder on trailer

I need to power up my fish finder / gps unit to do a software upgrade and a few other things but the water is 30 minutes away and the manual warns against powering up the unit without having the transducer submerged.

Is it just about cooling the transducer? Can I just prop up a bucket of water under the transducer or is it more about having some minimum depth for it to sound?
Old 10-01-2014, 04:51 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Just unplug the transducer cable while you do the update.
Old 10-01-2014, 09:30 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Long Island Sound
Posts: 590
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

No can do. Power and transducer are the same cable.
Raymarine Dragonfly unit.
Old 10-01-2014, 09:36 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,561
Likes: 0
Received 324 Likes on 222 Posts
Default

Bucket of water will work if you can get it in there.
Old 10-01-2014, 09:53 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,061
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

Strap a plastic bag full of water to the bottom of the x-ducer
Old 10-01-2014, 11:10 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,823
Received 222 Likes on 135 Posts
Default

With the transducer INSIDE the bag of water....

Had to throw that in to garnish your excellent suggestion
Old 10-01-2014, 11:23 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,061
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by marketic View Post
With the transducer INSIDE the bag of water....

Had to throw that in to garnish your excellent suggestion
Great minds think alike. I stand corrected. He'd have figured it out anyway.
Old 10-01-2014, 11:53 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,443
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

The pinging of most sounders can be stopped.
Old 10-01-2014, 12:05 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,895
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by everythingissushi View Post
No can do. Power and transducer are the same cable.
Raymarine Dragonfly unit.

On the Dragonfly..you can simply disable the sonar on your unit.

Go to the Shortcuts page on your unit....step #3 Enable/ Disable soanr- selecting will enable or disable the internal sonar and DownVision.

6.7 In the manual pg 43.

Thus no need to worry about the transducer.
And most systems sold today will have a sonar disable in the units menue.
Plus... units like Garmin and many others will have the sonar disabled while in the simulator mode.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-01-2014 at 04:34 PM.
Old 10-03-2014, 05:07 PM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 69
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So what happens it burns out the transducer and it won't show bottom anymore?
Old 10-13-2014, 11:45 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Long Island Sound
Posts: 590
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Just in case anyone is wondering.... A 1-gallon ziploc full of water and a bungee cord did the trick.

I still did the sonar disable thing, but that takes a few minutes so I did the water bag just to ensure nothing bad happened in those few minutes.
Old 10-13-2014, 12:09 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 979
Received 30 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

This brings up a question I've been meaning to ask.

On Simrad/Lowrance systems, when the sonar is 'paused', does it stop pinging or just stop displaying the return?
Old 10-13-2014, 12:25 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,443
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

Yes, when a Navico unit is paused the pinging is stopped.
Old 10-13-2014, 01:51 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,061
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by everythingissushi View Post
Just in case anyone is wondering.... A 1-gallon ziploc full of water and a bungee cord did the trick.

I still did the sonar disable thing, but that takes a few minutes so I did the water bag just to ensure nothing bad happened in those few minutes.
A real fisherman would have put a couple of aquarium fish in the bag.
Old 10-16-2014, 06:42 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

This may be a stupid question but what's the reason for not turning on the transducer when not on the water? Does it throw off the calibration?
Old 10-16-2014, 07:34 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,895
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MuddyMarine View Post
This may be a stupid question but what's the reason for not turning on the transducer when not on the water? Does it throw off the calibration?
Not stupid at all...

The reason is that the transducer can possibly overheat with prolonged use and damage itself without proper cooling.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 10-16-2014 at 07:47 AM.
Old 10-16-2014, 08:54 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 120
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
Not stupid at all...

The reason is that the transducer can possibly overheat with prolonged use and damage itself without proper cooling.
Thanks, that makes sense. Semper Fi
Old 10-19-2014, 02:31 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 1,028
Received 52 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Is it the same story with an Airmar M260 that doesn't have a hull penetration. I can hear mine click when out of the water... And avoid running it at all out of the water. Wonder what if anything could be damaged.

Does the Raymarine e120 har the ability to disable the sonar?
Old 10-19-2014, 02:46 PM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,895
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by vyper340 View Post
Is it the same story with an Airmar M260 that doesn't have a hull penetration. I can hear mine click when out of the water... And avoid running it at all out of the water. Wonder what if anything could be damaged.

Does the Raymarine e120 har the ability to disable the sonar?
The M260 can be run while out of the water as it has its own tank for cooling.
Just always make certain the fluid level is correct as part of a yearly inspection etc.
The best fluid is non toxic anti freeze.(RV )

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.