Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Second Garmin 8000 Series Chartplotter

Old 10-01-2014, 02:46 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Second Garmin 8000 Series Chartplotter

I currently have a single 8215 Garmin Chartplotter (with optional g2 Vision SD card) and eventually would like to add a second MFD. Do i need to buy one with maps installed (another 8215) or can i save $100 and buy the 8015 and use the map data built into my current 8215 and SD card?

Thanks!

wfrueh
2015 Everglades 255CC with Twin 4.2L Yamaha F250's
Old 10-01-2014, 03:27 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,338
Received 221 Likes on 103 Posts
Default

Yes you can order the 8015 part number 010-01018-20 and use it as a second display. It wi share the map data from the network such as the G2 Vision Card.
Old 10-01-2014, 10:45 AM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I couldn't fit a second 15 in screen on my 255cc. Had to put a 8212 next to my 8215. I know that wasn't your question but wanted to let you know about footprint limitations on the dash.
Old 10-01-2014, 09:13 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Coral Gables, FL
Posts: 1,089
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Can waypoints be saved to the network? Each machine has its own waypoints, but it would be great to be able to access all the waypoints from any screen.

2 x 8215
Old 10-02-2014, 04:23 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,940
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

merge data
Old 10-02-2014, 01:23 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 3,316
Received 261 Likes on 157 Posts
Default

you can use one card for both they have to be connected both via 0183 and 2000 though to do allow everything to work together.

Or im wrong but its what I have to do with my 4208's and my buddy did with both of his 8212's

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.