Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine a68 w/ CPT-100 questions

Old 09-29-2014, 07:37 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: James Island, SC
Posts: 3,378
Received 367 Likes on 229 Posts
Default Raymarine a68 w/ CPT-100 questions

I'm continuing to search for a new FF/Plotter combo unit.

Does anybody have any good/bad comments on the Raymarine a68 with the CPT-100 transducer and North American Gold bundle?

My one big question, does it have tide charts like the Garmin units? I see in some places online it comments about finding nearby tide stations with the Gold card or something like that. I played with one in the store and couldn't find tides anywhere on it...This is for an inshore boat and I really want to have quick access to tide charts like on the Garmins.

I've got it narrowed down to a68, Garmin 50s/dv and 527/547xs.

The main reason the a68 is in consideration is because it's a full on touch screen MFD for features and I've found one that falls between the 50s and 50dv for price.
Old 09-29-2014, 09:42 AM
  #2  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,874
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

If you get the Navionics software, tides, currents and additional data are all available quite easily on any of the Raymarine plotters.
Old 09-29-2014, 01:59 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: James Island, SC
Posts: 3,378
Received 367 Likes on 229 Posts
Default

Thanks for confirming that for me.

Regarding the Navionics software, is that preloaded in the "North American Gold Bundle" or would I still need to buy a Navionics Gold of Platinum + card on top of that?
Old 09-29-2014, 05:22 PM
  #4  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,874
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Whatever gives you the SonarCharts option is what you want. Gold level is Gold level. Platinum is better for 3D and topo overlay and pictures of places and harbors. If it were me, I'd just buy the cheapest level of software and take that $$ and buy a platinum + chip for your area. Then update it online and get the Community Edits too.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.