Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

How to use my gps when away from the boat

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

How to use my gps when away from the boat

Old 09-28-2014, 07:18 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default How to use my gps when away from the boat

I have a new gps/sonar combo that I am learning to use and would like to be able to play with the unit when away from the boat. I know I can use my truck's cigarette lighter plug to operate the unit but I want to bring the unit inside the house to use it. Other than a new power cord for my new unit what hardware do I need? Do I need a converter or inverter? Also, can a configuration like this harm my gps/sonar?

Thanks for the education.

Charlie
Old 09-29-2014, 07:02 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Elizabeth, Pa USA
Posts: 491
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You can use a spare car battery or you can go to Radio shack and get a small 12v power supply. There are plenty of guys that do that with there Lowrance and Humminbird units in winter up north here.

Keith
Old 09-29-2014, 12:52 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by threeriversmarine View Post
You can use a spare car battery or you can go to Radio shack and get a small 12v power supply. There are plenty of guys that do that with there Lowrance and Humminbird units in winter up north here.

Keith
Keith,
By "small 12v power supply" do you mean a small 12v battery? I appreciate your reply.

Charlie
Old 09-29-2014, 01:11 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 16,493
Received 1,012 Likes on 780 Posts
Default

You don't say what item you are asking about, but as long as you have the power cord and power supply many/most "permanent mount" gps/FF have a Simulation Mode or a "Use Without GPS Fix"-type mode and can be used for practice or WP/Route trip planning without a GPS antenna hooked up if one is not built in.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...uctId=21919056

That would likely provide sufficient amperage for your set, but something like a VHF transmitting might require a little higher output., so in the long run something like this might be the wiser purchase:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103960

Or just use a car or boat battery and recharge after use.
http://www.12volt-travel.com/12-volt...1b6ccb50c4c28b
Old 09-29-2014, 02:28 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TTaxi View Post
You don't say what item you are asking about, but as long as you have the power cord and power supply many/most "permanent mount" gps/FF have a Simulation Mode or a "Use Without GPS Fix"-type mode and can be used for practice or WP/Route trip planning without a GPS antenna hooked up if one is not built in.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...uctId=21919056

That would likely provide sufficient amperage for your set, but something like a VHF transmitting might require a little higher output., so in the long run something like this might be the wiser purchase:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103960



Or just use a car or boat battery and recharge after use.
http://www.12volt-travel.com/12-volt...1b6ccb50c4c28b
TTaxi,
First, thanks for taking time to offer your advice. My gps/sonar combo can run in simulation mode so I assume all I have to worry about is getting 12v power to the unit. My plans were to use 110v from a wall socket, at home, and run the juice through some piece of hardware that will change the 110v to 12v. Looks like the first piece of hardware you recommend would accomplish this, would it not? My gps/sonar is a Humminbird and I had asked them about adding a cigarette lighter plug to one of their power cords to operate the unit (less sonar, of course) when I am in the truck. They said it would work but advised using a 3 amp inline fuse for protection. I would also want to use a 3 amp inline fuse for this purpose also.

Now the big question, is this a safe thing to do? The last thing I want to do is damage the new gps/sonar.

Thanks again for your help.

Charlie

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.