Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin Meteor 300 with Loweance HDS touch Gen2

Notices

Garmin Meteor 300 with Loweance HDS touch Gen2

Old 09-13-2014, 12:48 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 166
Default Garmin Meteor 300 with Loweance HDS touch Gen2

I have been doing my homework on new electronics and a new stereo. I'm really liking the new Lowrance HDS Touch units and leaning towards one of them. I then found out about the Sonic Hub and really like that solution. Then I found out the Sonic Hub is only comparable with the BT100 which would only allow streaming via bluetooth but no control over the phone or artist info on the HDS nor does it have a input to connect a SiriusXm tuner. Major disappointment! I continued my research and stumbled across the Garmin Meteor 300 which has built in bluetooth with phone control as well as a SiriusXm tuner input. Score, exactly what I was looking for! Now, Sonic Hub (Lowrance and Simrad) and Meteor (Garmin) are all made by Fusion. Both units connect via NMEA2000 and both units look almost identical. Fusion has been bought out by Garmin so there is no surprise the Meteor setup has more features. My question (if you have not guessed it yet) is will the Meteor 300 audio interface work with a Lowrance unit since it all connects with NMEA? I'm fully expecting the answer to be no since there is probably something proprietary with Garmin and the Meteor stuff.
90zxdriver is offline  
Old 09-18-2014, 05:42 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 166
Default

I emailed Fusion and they directed me to contact Garmin and Lowrance respectively. Although Fusion did recognize they make both products, they advised each company controls the software. The only thing that leads me to believe there *might* be a chance for this to work is how everything talks via N2K. However, I get the feeling the only way I am going to be able to get an answer is by trial and error.
90zxdriver is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 02:08 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

Also, I say stay away form the SonicHub, we have been having a lot of them fail. I steer most people towards the Fusion 205 and link it via NMEA2k aka FusionLink. On the other hand, we have sold quite a few Metor 300's and haven't had any of them come back. And before anyone calls me a hater, I have all Simrad equipment on my boat, in fact I am currently on my 3rd SH since last Sept. (fingers crossed this one is good to go, if not bye-bye docking station and hello 205 or Metor 300).
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 07:42 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,075
Default

Originally Posted by mahimahi99 View Post
Also, I say stay away form the SonicHub, we have been having a lot of them fail. I steer most people towards the Fusion 205 and link it via NMEA2k aka FusionLink. On the other hand, we have sold quite a few Metor 300's and haven't had any of them come back. And before anyone calls me a hater, I have all Simrad equipment on my boat, in fact I am currently on my 3rd SH since last Sept. (fingers crossed this one is good to go, if not bye-bye docking station and hello 205 or Metor 300).
Sonichub is built by Fusion for Simrad......
kaz911 is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 08:36 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

Originally Posted by kaz911 View Post
Sonichub is built by Fusion for Simrad......
I know...that's what's crazy. I also have the IP600 on my pontoon boat that I have only had one issue with (which also seems to be getting more and more common with this model), sometimes when you turn the volume knob down the music actually goes up a little, not a big enough deal for me to de-rig the unit for return...yet
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-20-2014, 12:06 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,075
Default

My sonic hub works fine - now on its 2nd year.

But Fusion in general is the King of Warranty Replacements and I do hope Garmin can help them get the manufacturing quality better. But Fusion have been good at handling warranty issues and support lately. But replacing items is still a PITA and a precious waste our our time.
kaz911 is offline  
Old 09-22-2014, 12:40 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 166
Default

Does anybody know of any venders that carry both Garmin and Lowrance products? Maybe they could try connecting a Meteor to a Lowrance and seeing what happens.
90zxdriver is offline  
Old 09-22-2014, 09:02 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

Originally Posted by 90zxdriver View Post
Does anybody know of any venders that carry both Garmin and Lowrance products? Maybe they could try connecting a Meteor to a Lowrance and seeing what happens.
If we don't get an answer by Sunday, I can try it when I go in to work Sunday. I think it will work...but who knows

Originally Posted by kaz911 View Post
My sonic hub works fine - now on its 2nd year.

But Fusion in general is the King of Warranty Replacements and I do hope Garmin can help them get the manufacturing quality better. But Fusion have been good at handling warranty issues and support lately. But replacing items is still a PITA and a precious waste our our time.
Luckily I bought the "PLUS Plan" from West Marine when I got my IP600 so I'm covered on that unit for 5 years, and trust me it will be returned in the 4th year But the sonichub is on the Simrad Demo Boat so that one is really theirs so it's covered too, but it's just a PITA to not have it and on that boat when it goes down I'm at their mercy when it comes to the speed of getting it replaced.
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-23-2014, 09:22 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 166
Default

[QUOTE=mahimahi99;7131892]If we don't get an answer by Sunday, I can try it when I go in to work Sunday. I think it will work...but who knows

That would be awesome! I have a RA205 sitting here at the house but I kinda want to go the black box route and not cut another hole in my console, plus, the RA205 can't do SiriusXm and bluetooth. If the Meteor 300 system will work with the Lowrance, I'll return the RA205. If it won't work, lookalike I'll have to just keep the 205 and live with not having bluetooth and Sirius and cut another hole somewhere in the console.

In the mean time, I am also going to try to contact both Garmin and Lowrance and see what they say. I think the only way to ultimately figure it out is going to be simply plugging them in together.
90zxdriver is offline  
Old 09-23-2014, 09:27 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

[quote=90zxdriver;7135237]
Originally Posted by mahimahi99 View Post
If we don't get an answer by Sunday, I can try it when I go in to work Sunday. I think it will work...but who knows

That would be awesome! I have a RA205 sitting here at the house but I kinda want to go the black box route and not cut another hole in my console, plus, the RA205 can't do SiriusXm and bluetooth. If the Meteor 300 system will work with the Lowrance, I'll return the RA205. If it won't work, lookalike I'll have to just keep the 205 and live with not having bluetooth and Sirius and cut another hole somewhere in the console.

In the mean time, I am also going to try to contact both Garmin and Lowrance and see what they say. I think the only way to ultimately figure it out is going to be simply plugging them in together.
You could do the BT-100, yeah I know you won't be able to control the phone through the 205, but that would give you both BT and Sirius...if the Metor doesn't work and you have to keep the 205. I too may get rid of my IP600 since I'm switching all my stuff to a "Glass" helm, it's be nice to use the Metor connected to my NSS 7 evo2. I'll let you know what I find out.
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-28-2014, 02:54 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

I can confirm at this point the Garmin Metor 300 only works with a Garmin unit. I hooked up to the Lowrance HDS 5 gen 2, Lowrance HDS 9 Touch, Simrad NSS 7 evo2, and Simrad NSE 12. The units did recognize that an audio device was connected and but got locked up with the following message across the bottom of the screen where the SonicHub info defaults to, "SonicHub Initializing" and it never moved from that message. So in short the Metor 300 is only for Garmin. I also hooked it up to a Raymarine a78, same thing it could tell there was an audio device, but that's it no way to control it. hope that helps.
mahimahi99 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread