Notices

Single NSS9 vs. Dual NSS7's?

Old 09-11-2014, 03:53 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Shore, Massachusetts
Posts: 242
Default Single NSS9 vs. Dual NSS7's?

I am contemplating replacing the old furuno gp-7000f on the SeaCraft with a new simrad nss9, however I have now been thinking about going with 2 nss7's, which would be almost exactly the same price. Is there any reason I would hate myself for doing this? I am looking to go to more of a "glass helm" on the boat, by installing a nolands rs11 to eliminate the gauges on the dash, so I think having the extra screen to display things like fuel burn, engine data, and other things like speed would be nice. I was also thinking of adding a t-top and radar in the future and it would be nice to just plug and play and have a dedicated radar screen.
Boatboy6 is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 04:06 AM
  #2  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,513
Default

I think you will want dual screens for sure doing all that. No downside to dual screens.

You should give 2nd thought to converting all of your engine data to n2k. Most that have tried on an older engine become a slave to trying to make it all work. Lots of uncharted territory there. If you do decide to do it please make a thread about it on here to let us know how it works for you. I am looking forward to when it becomes a straight forward process.
yachtjim is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 04:29 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Another vote for dual screens. The 7 is also a much better value than the 9. The 9 is overpriced.
stiletto is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 04:49 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Shore, Massachusetts
Posts: 242
Default

From what I have read the engine data I want to display shouldn't be too bad, all I am looking for is tach, battery voltage, and possibly fuel level, but the fuel level is basically useless and should be obsolete when I add a fuel flow sensor.
Boatboy6 is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 07:57 AM
  #5  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,513
Default

Originally Posted by Boatboy6 View Post
From what I have read the engine data I want to display shouldn't be too bad, all I am looking for is tach, battery voltage, and possibly fuel level, but the fuel level is basically useless and should be obsolete when I add a fuel flow sensor.
I would just not remove the analog version until you have worked the kinks out of the n2k version.
yachtjim is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 04:08 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: West Falmouth, MA
Posts: 3,778
Default

I went with twin NSS7's this yeaar.... I am happy with my choice. And yes the price points are sort of strange that approximately 2xNSS7 = 1xNSS9.

Mike
Parapapam is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 04:29 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 686
Default

For fuel flow, i have the floscan flo-net integrated to my simrad nss system. Gives me flow, range, fuel remaining. Very easy to integrate and very handy to have.
t-bone31 is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 05:24 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

I was thinking that at first the big advantage (at least to me) of the 9 can run more than 2 windows but then that's not a problem at all with (2) 7's
I just installed a NSS 7 evo 2 next to a NSS 12 and didn't think it was going to be useful or necessary but after I installed it this past Saturday, there hasn't been a night this week I haven't gone out there and turned them both on! Definitely go with the dual screens, plus you'll be able to run the overlay downscan with the CHIRP should you go that route.
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 06:33 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 3,611
Default

I did dual NSS 7 units as well - made no sense to buy the 9" that I could do dual 4.5" screens vs. just having TWO 6.4" screens, plus doing dual screens on both units.

Plus you have a backup in case one goes tits up.

I spent the extra money and got the GPS antenna that helped to not only give me more accurate coordinates but also has a built-in compass that shows what direction my boat is facing even while I'm at anchor or idle.
grey2112 is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 02:54 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Melbourne Beach
Posts: 453
Default

I also like having the two screens. Have 2 NSS 8s. I'm sometimes tempted with going to a single NSS 16. I see them on ebay for less than $4k. Already have the structure so besides the single Chirp I'm not sure if there is a benefit?

Anybody go from dual screens to a single 16" ?
stratt7777 is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 05:11 AM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sneads Ferry, NC
Posts: 98
Default

One more vote for dual screens. I used an NSS7 Evo 2 and my older Garmin 740s but still the same concept. I love being able to have full screen sonar with full screen chart or nav up and when I'm just cruising I can use one for the gauges etc... I would do it again.
Attached Images  
Semper Fido is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 06:10 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 3,611
Default

Here's a pic of my initial setup:

Name:  P7120018_zps348ba803.jpg
Views: 160
Size:  46.7 KB
grey2112 is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 06:14 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Originally Posted by stratt7777 View Post
I also like having the two screens. Have 2 NSS 8s. I'm sometimes tempted with going to a single NSS 16. I see them on ebay for less than $4k. Already have the structure so besides the single Chirp I'm not sure if there is a benefit?

Anybody go from dual screens to a single 16" ?
Well, there are extremes that make the difference a good change. Wide screen versus full screen aside, the NSS16 is 4x NSS8 in screen area. I know it is a bit less due to the NSS8 being full screen and the NSS16 being wide screen. If someone offered me both, I would go 16
stiletto is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 08:04 AM
  #14  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Originally Posted by grey2112 View Post
Here's a pic of my initial setup:

In your pics it look like you have a cockpit similar to mine (W/A with a hardtop). I just bought the NSS 7 and want to mount mine in my dash just as you have done. Is the internal GPS adequate in this configuration or have you installed an external antenna? I have been concerned that my hardtop might block the signal.
Cortez Dreamer is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 08:54 AM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9
Default

I am also contemplating the dual screen approach. Some questions, if anyone can help in this area:

1) How easy is it to integrate the two units? If I save a waypoint in one unit, is it available in both? Or do they both operate totally independent of one another?

2) Can a single transducer handle both units simultaneously, and would they each operate at different frequencies or settings simultaneously? One on Chirp and the other on High?

3) A lot of questions on here about GPS signal when there are two units, why is this an issue, when it doesn't come up with only one unit? Will they interefere with each other that much? And if one installs the antennae, can you tie two units into one antennae?

Thanks for the help.
graphite51 is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 09:06 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 3,611
Default

Originally Posted by Cortez Dreamer View Post
In your pics it look like you have a cockpit similar to mine (W/A with a hardtop). I just bought the NSS 7 and want to mount mine in my dash just as you have done. Is the internal GPS adequate in this configuration or have you installed an external antenna? I have been concerned that my hardtop might block the signal.
I spent the extra $$ on the external antenna for two reasons: 1. It doubled the signal strength which also has the added benefit of making it more accurate. 2. It gave me an internal compass, which stays on even at idle or anchor, so I always know what direction the bow is facing, and it shows this on-screen. This is a big help for me. Sure I could look at my compass, but seeing it on the screen I know where other points are on the screen - I dive, so it helps to show me where I need to swim or dive in reference to where the bow of the boat is pointing.
grey2112 is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 09:09 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 3,611
Default

Originally Posted by graphite51 View Post
I am also contemplating the dual screen approach. Some questions, if anyone can help in this area:

1) How easy is it to integrate the two units? If I save a waypoint in one unit, is it available in both? Or do they both operate totally independent of one another?

When wired properly to the network, a waypoint saved on one unit shows up on both - I like to mark spots on my bottom finder or side-scan screen, and then it shows up on the map on my GPS screen on the other unit.


2) Can a single transducer handle both units simultaneously, and would they each operate at different frequencies or settings simultaneously? One on Chirp and the other on High?

Yes, mine do - don't have Chirp but I can't imagine why you couldn't do this - I actually now have both a through-hull Airmar as well as a structure scan/side scan transducer and can switch back and forth or have one on one screen and one on another.


3) A lot of questions on here about GPS signal when there are two units, why is this an issue, when it doesn't come up with only one unit? Will they interefere with each other that much? And if one installs the antennae, can you tie two units into one antennae?

I've never had any issues, interference, etc. on mind.

And yes, you can tie two units into one antennae.


Thanks for the help.
See above comments in red
grey2112 is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 10:19 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

Here's the NSS7 that we just added to the Simrad Demo Mako - It all barely fits

mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 10:25 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

Why does it have to have such a big black bar around the screen? I wonder if that's for waterproofing. Kinda sucks, makes it look like the screen could have been much bigger.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-13-2014, 06:52 AM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NOLA/BSL
Posts: 706
Default

So I've been contemplating between a HDS12 versus HDS9. But interesting that you guys would prefer two 7" units. Something to think about for sure.
ccc13 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread