Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

All new electronics... Ethernet and NMEA ?'s

Notices

All new electronics... Ethernet and NMEA ?'s

Old 09-10-2014, 09:14 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Default All new electronics... Ethernet and NMEA ?'s

I am outfitting my boat with all new electronics that I am ordering tomorrow. Problem is that this is going to be my first time that I will have units that can be networked together and talking to one another and am needing some guidance from the experts here. I am going to be getting 2 new Simrad NSS9 evo2's with the TM150 chirp transducer, and the LSS-2 Structure scan transducer. I will also be ordering the GoFree Wifi module, the Sonichub, and the Simrad RS35 VHF radio. I have been searching on the 'net for a while now and am going crazy trying to figure out what cables I need and how many, and also which units will be connected via ethernet and which others will be NMEA. Any help at all is appreciated.

Thanks!
cstew00 is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 12:48 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 103
Default

Originally Posted by cstew00 View Post
I am outfitting my boat with all new electronics that I am ordering tomorrow. Problem is that this is going to be my first time that I will have units that can be networked together and talking to one another and am needing some guidance from the experts here. I am going to be getting 2 new Simrad NSS9 evo2's with the TM150 chirp transducer, and the LSS-2 Structure scan transducer. I will also be ordering the GoFree Wifi module, the Sonichub, and the Simrad RS35 VHF radio. I have been searching on the 'net for a while now and am going crazy trying to figure out what cables I need and how many, and also which units will be connected via ethernet and which others will be NMEA. Any help at all is appreciated.

Thanks!
Chris. Gil (Semper Fi) can help you with this. He knows what wires come with the units and what you will need to buy.
Team Old School is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 01:06 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 539
Default

Ethernet between your two NSS, and one ethernetcable from Gofree to any of the NSS. NEMA2000 dropcables from each NSS and the RS35 to NMEA200 backbone (the backbone is what you get in the "NMEA2000 starter kit"). Pretty sure none of the units come with these cables, so you will need 3 T-connections and three dropcables for your NMEA2000-network.

Waiting to se if Gil proves me wrong here.
Team Colibri is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 03:44 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Originally Posted by Team Colibri View Post
Ethernet between your two NSS, and one ethernetcable from Gofree to any of the NSS. NEMA2000 dropcables from each NSS and the RS35 to NMEA200 backbone (the backbone is what you get in the "NMEA2000 starter kit"). Pretty sure none of the units come with these cables, so you will need 3 T-connections and three dropcables for your NMEA2000-network.

Waiting to se if Gil proves me wrong here.
The Ethernet cable will go from NSS9 to gofree to NSS9. There is only 1 port on the NSS9. They have a 4 port NMEA2000 T that I like to use as the basis of my backbone. It is a little smaller than 4 T's and more solid.
stiletto is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 07:11 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Default

So the only things connected via Ethernet are the NSS and the Gofree. All the rest will be connected via NMEA. Next question. Can you leave a t connector open or does everything have to be terminated?
cstew00 is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 07:43 AM
  #6  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,513
Default

You can leave a T open. But it is just as easy to remove the T.
yachtjim is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 07:52 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,018
Default

The bottom of the T can be open, the side should always be connected to something (a cable, another T or a terminator. Each end of what's called the backbone (The sides of the T's with connected cables) should always be terminated with a terminator plug.
abbor is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 08:56 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 539
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
The Ethernet cable will go from NSS9 to gofree to NSS9. There is only 1 port on the NSS9. They have a 4 port NMEA2000 T that I like to use as the basis of my backbone. It is a little smaller than 4 T's and more solid.
Good point. I use the 4-port myself under the console, it cleans up things nicely.
Team Colibri is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 11:45 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,011
Default

Happy to be from the simnet Era
I have 3 7 way joiners that are filled.
They take littlle space

Now expanding with 4way T joiners.
keizerh is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 11:47 AM
  #10  
Closed Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,770
Default

Let me know when you are ready. It was a pleasure to speak with you earlier,
BoemarineBrian is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 01:41 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by Team Old School View Post
Chris. Gil (Semper Fi) can help you with this. He knows what wires come with the units and what you will need to buy.
I gave Gil a call and he pointed me in the right direction. Really knowledgeable and gave some really interesting info on CHIRP and other transducers.
cstew00 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread