Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Best place for a transducer on this hull???

Notices

Best place for a transducer on this hull???

Old 09-10-2014, 05:42 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 37
Default Best place for a transducer on this hull???

I'm new to the whole boating and marine electronics thing. I just purchased this vessel and will be upgrading the fish finder. Where should I mount the transducer? In the same location as the last one? What about a location for a second transducer?

Name:  20140910_083339_resized_zps433942e2.jpg
Views: 41
Size:  120.0 KB

Name:  20140910_083247_resized_zpsf503d375.jpg
Views: 56
Size:  116.7 KB
kyote is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 06:31 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,645
Default

Does it work good there or don't you know?
VanW is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 06:41 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 37
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
Does it work good there or don't you know?
It works well at slow speeds but loses signal when on plane. I have no idea what unit it is or what quality the transducer is.
kyote is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 07:26 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,645
Default

I'm not positive but I don't think it's best to mount it on the strake. I'd probably put it further underneath the scupper. It's hard to tell though it might just need adjustment.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 07:34 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saint Francisville, LA
Posts: 1,812
Default

it might just need an adjustment it height and fore to aft angle. try posting a closeup picture of the transducer that shows it in relation to the hull bottom.
knotreel is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 08:40 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,719
Default

Inboard of the strake is better than on it..
Also..
I have mounted units (Such as a P66 etc) on similar boats right next to the drain plug.

But what sonar are you using..and having a quality thru hull ducer helps also at speed.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 09-10-2014 at 03:38 PM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 01:44 PM
  #7  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,513
Default

Needs to be just outboard of one of the scuppers on your boat. Even better would be a flush mounted thru-hull.
yachtjim is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 04:03 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 37
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
Inboard of the strake is better than on it..
Also..
I have mounted units (Such as a P66 etc) on similar boats right next to the drain plug.

But what sonar are you using..and having a quality thru hull ducer helps also at speed.
Looking at HB 889 or low hds 7 gen 2. Is there a thru hull ducer for side imaging?
kyote is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 04:45 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,719
Default

Originally Posted by kyote View Post
Looking at HB 889 or low hds 7 gen 2. Is there a thru hull ducer for side imaging?



The thru hull I was speaking of was a flush mount style...designed for trailering.

Mounting a thru hull side is more of a challenge for a trailed boat because they are not a flush mount style.




So staying with a transom mount may possibly be the best option for side scan on your boat.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 09:28 PM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 37
Default

So what I'm getting is a placement in an area more like the ones I've circled in red below?
Name:  Untitled_zps27b65d4e.png
Views: 57
Size:  1.20 MB
kyote is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 10:35 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,719
Default

Originally Posted by kyote View Post
So what I'm getting is a placement in an area more like the ones I've circled in red below?
Also beside the drain plug is an option.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 09-11-2014 at 09:13 AM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 06:19 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saint Francisville, LA
Posts: 1,812
Default

the drain plug would be fine as far as transducer function with no hull vee to deal with, but for my opinion, especially on a bay boat that may see some shallow water duty, it being on the lowest point of the hull it would be more exposed to damage. Granted the motor skeg will extend well past it, but there are scenarios where the transducer could be more easily damaged being that low.
knotreel is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 07:01 AM
  #13  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 37
Default

That would be my concern as well. Based on the input I've got here I'm thinking I'll place it inboard of the strake nearer to the scupper.Thanks for all the help everyone.
kyote is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 07:56 AM
  #14  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,513
Default

Originally Posted by kyote View Post
That would be my concern as well. Based on the input I've got here I'm thinking I'll place it inboard of the strake nearer to the scupper.Thanks for all the help everyone.
Ding ding ding ding. Good conclusion.

It appears as though you may have some thru-hull fittings ahead of the scuppers though. Inboard, but ahead. Just make sure these are not in the path of the ducer.
yachtjim is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 08:25 AM
  #15  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 37
Default

Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
Ding ding ding ding. Good conclusion.

It appears as though you may have some thru-hull fittings ahead of the scuppers though. Inboard, but ahead. Just make sure these are not in the path of the ducer.
I'll make sure I do that.do you mind explaining why that's important?
kyote is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 09:11 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saint Francisville, LA
Posts: 1,812
Default

before you move it, check to see if its adjusted right. The leading edge should be just a bit proud of the bottom of the transom, maybe 1/8 inch. Then the aft part of the transducer should be a little lower than that, another 1/8" or so. If you can't find the specific instruction for your transducer if it is not an Airmar P66, you should be able to use the airmar P66 installation instructions for whatever yours is.
knotreel is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 09:32 AM
  #17  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,513
Default

Originally Posted by kyote View Post
I'll make sure I do that.do you mind explaining why that's important?
Anything ahead of the ducer that will cause turbulence in the flow of water is a bad thing.
yachtjim is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 09:41 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
captain nate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bradenton Florida
Posts: 8,503
Default

Originally Posted by kyote View Post
It works well at slow speeds but loses signal when on plane. I have no idea what unit it is or what quality the transducer is.
same spot. if it doesnt work on plane just lower it a touch...
captain nate is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread