Notices

Need Lowrance education

Old 09-08-2014, 06:16 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Default Need Lowrance education

I have Lowrance transducer and power cables already run in my boat. Trying to learn difference between HDS and Elite models. I am not a super technical guy, I just want to see the map in front of me and know where I am. I could care less about touch screen and hooking up gauges for my motor. Does the HDS require a map card? I had an elite 5 on a smaller boat and loved it. I am thinking going bigger in the elite series, but question wether I should upgrade to HDS? I have no clue! Any advice or knowledge would be appreciated.
Snookslayer13 is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 07:50 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,100
Default

I bought my 2nd Elite 7 HDI gold. Update the software, VS 4 now available, as they become available. Best bang for the buck and works great. Only wish the Elite came in a 9" screen.
Deeper Tog is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 08:23 AM
  #3  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,892
Default

Your only consideration is whether or not you will want to network more than one unit in the future. If YES, go with the HDS. If NO, you can update to the Elite-7 and with it's wide screen format you can be in another world.
Edd is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 10:24 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks, From everything I read, and I am trying to learn, the elite 7X is not a GPS unit, the 7 is a GPS unit? I already have a Navionics card for the entire coastline of the US. I already have a Transducer and power cord (lowrance) mounted in the boat. I have no idea what transducer it is, but when i bought the boat, the guy had an HDS 9 mounted that he kept. The transducer should work fine for an Elite 7 shouldn't it?
Snookslayer13 is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 10:38 AM
  #5  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,892
Default

For Lowrance units:
X = Sonar ONLY
M = Chart ONLY
No X or M designation = Combo unit sonar+chart

Yes your transducer will work fine with the Elite, unless you buy the Elite- HDI in which case it will still work but you will not have the DownImaging.

Edd
Edd is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread