Notices

Furuno 582L problem

Old 09-06-2014, 07:53 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SD Ca.
Posts: 6
Default Furuno 582L problem

Hello. I'm trying to figure out why my Furuno 582 stopped showing the depth reading on the bottom left of the screen. I am new to boating and don't have much experience with marine electronics so it could be something I'm doing wrong with the settings. I attached a pic so hopefully someone can diagnose the problem by looking at it. I'm thinking it's the transducer but I'm not sure how to test it without just getting another transducer to hook up.
Thanks.


Name:  photo.JPG
Views: 490
Size:  103.1 KB
42Hatt is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 06:54 AM
  #2  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SD Ca.
Posts: 6
Default

Bump
42Hatt is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 10:56 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 10,211
Default

Did you try turning your gain up?
Your bottom should read mostly shades of red.
Yours look green and yellow.
Is your transducer mounted correctly ?
Is it plugged in firmly?
Your temp sensor seems to be working
I'm just guessing here but I'd guess something is out of adjustment .
Also adjust your range so it matches the depth water you're in.

Scratch the gain, I can see in your pic it's up around where it should be.
Might be your range.
north coast is online now  
Old 09-09-2014, 11:07 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 10,211
Default

Another thought .
Sometimes they get finicky in very shallow water
Does or will it read in deeper water ?
I'm on my 3rd 582L one died, the other 2 have many years on them,
I've never had mine do this except being out of the proper range or very shallow water.
Good luck
north coast is online now  
Old 09-09-2014, 12:41 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SD Ca.
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for your reply.
Last week I was in 40 to 70 ft deep water and the only way I could get a depth reading was if I set the range to 400 ft, but it was showing random depths that I knew weren't right. I'm pretty sure the transducer is in an ok place because it worked when we did the see trail.

I also tried resetting the unit back to original settings and still nothing. No matter how I adjust the gain, I never get the red color for the bottom, but the greenish yellow bottom it shows is pretty accurate to the real depth of the water.

Thanks again.
42Hatt is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 01:12 PM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 46
Default Furuno 582L

Try setting the unit to auto and see what happens.
Aquaman 29 is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 01:18 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SD Ca.
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by Aquaman 29 View Post
Try setting the unit to auto and see what happens.
I tried that while in my slip with no luck. I will try again next time I take the boat out.
Thanks.
42Hatt is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 01:53 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 10,211
Default

Just another thought,Is your transducer mounted externally or through hull?
I just remembered one time mine wouldn't read, it's on a kick up bracket , mounted on the transom.
It got kicked up once and I didn't realize it . It was marking odd depths ( as you described ) and periodically not reading anything. Took a little to figure what was wrong .
north coast is online now  
Old 09-09-2014, 02:53 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: SD Ca.
Posts: 6
Default

Originally Posted by north coast View Post
Just another thought,Is your transducer mounted externally or through hull?
I just remembered one time mine wouldn't read, it's on a kick up bracket , mounted on the transom.
It got kicked up once and I didn't realize it . It was marking odd depths ( as you described ) and periodically not reading anything. Took a little to figure what was wrong .
Thanks, North Coast.
It's a thru hull transducer.
I'm hoping to take the boat out later this week. I'll try messing around with the setting more when I'm in some deeper water.
42Hatt is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 03:17 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,732
Default

Get another ducer and hold it over the side..and try it first in Auto.
semperfifishing is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread