Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

5amp vs. 10amp fuse for stereo amplifier

Notices

5amp vs. 10amp fuse for stereo amplifier

Old 09-06-2014, 06:10 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mass
Posts: 1,848
Default 5amp vs. 10amp fuse for stereo amplifier

I had no sound from 3 speakers so I checked the amplifier and sure enough, the 5am fuse was blown. I had a 10amp fuse handy and plugged that in. Sound came back, problem solved.
Question is, is it ok to switch to a 10amp fuse? The original was 5.
Thanks.
Reel Pursuit is online now  
Old 09-06-2014, 06:28 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 352
Default

mine is a 50 amp, so google ur make and put the correct one in, its rated for a reason., and 5 amp fuse sounds wrong for an amp my radio alone is a 15.
Charlie116 is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 07:32 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: On the wild side !!
Posts: 5,697
Default

If the owners manual says 5 amp , put another 5 amp in !
BW23 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread