Notices
View Poll Results: Which layout ?
NSS8 on port side of console
5
26.32%
NSS8 on starboard side of console
14
73.68%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

Console Layout - Which version ?

Old 09-05-2014, 12:41 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,338
Default Console Layout - Which version ?

Just thought I'd toss this out there. My build starts in about a week or so. I've been playing with layouts on the console. Primarily I am trying to figure out the best layout for my 2 NSS units. One NSS8 and an NSS12 EVO2.

Here are a couple of mock ups I did in Photoshop. The NSS8 is going to be used as a chartplotter primarily.

Console will house 2 Simrad NSS units, VHF, Fusion RA205, fuel and hour meter gauges which will go under the NSS8 unit. Simrad GS25 Heading Sensor will go up on top of the console. I'm also debating on adding a second glove box for storage and centering them on the console, just not sure yet.



Suggestions welcome.
Attached Images   
Badbagger is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 12:50 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Posts: 872
Default

With the wheel on, will it obscure the gauges below the NSS8 in layout 1?

Both layouts look good - I'll vote for layout 1 if the gauges aren't blocked.

Also, not sure how big a deal it will be, but your mic cord will be hanging in front of your glove box. May become annoying if you frequently go into the glove box.
CLM65 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 12:51 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

Put whichever one you'll be messing with more on the wheel side.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 12:54 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,338
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
Put whichever one you'll be messing with more on the wheel side.
That would probably be the chartplotter NSS8 or version 1. I don't think the wheel will block the gauges. Even if it does, it's only the fuel and hour meter so not the end of the world.
The system check gauge is more important and that won't be blocked at all.
Badbagger is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 01:02 PM
  #5  
Senior Member (used to be B-Faithful)Captains Club MemberPLEDGER Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 16,890
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
Put whichever one you'll be messing with more on the wheel side.
agreed. The unit you plan on using for navigation the most should go right in front of the wheel
iFishMD is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 01:07 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,338
Default

Pretty much what I had planned on doing aka Version 1 but, never hurts to ask as I always value input.
Badbagger is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:11 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

I thought you said "evo2" in your description, yet your photos show the NSS (non evo2) in the mock ups...they are a little different in size.
But if you're using the units in the mock-ups then I personally like Version 2 better, I bet you'll end up using the 12 more than you realize. I just added an NSS 7 evo2 to the Simrad demo boat (pics soon) and left the NSS 12 (that was already there) in front of the wheel, because it's bigger and easier to see the charts and when on multiple screens. Just a thought.
Also for a cleaner look have you thought about mounting the GS 25 under the top of the console (on the inside)?
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:21 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Idaho/Mississippi
Posts: 1,396
Default

I guess I am confused. You plan on using the smaller screen for navigation? If it were my I would be using the NSS12 for navigation and it would be like shown in layout 2. Most straight ahead looking and I want the biggest chart for the most important function. Safe travel.
ifsteve is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:22 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,338
Default

It is a mock up only and you are correct, the NSS12 shown is the EVO1. Great idea on the GS 25, thanks.
Badbagger is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:45 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

I don't know how you plan on controlling your stereo but reaching through your steering wheel to make adjustments is not something I'd go for either. Also I used to have my sat radio through my plotter (Raymarine C80 so it's stone age and maybe things are better now) but I hated controlling it through there.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:47 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

I'd probably put the a stereo remote to the right of the trim tab switches.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:52 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
I don't know how you plan on controlling your stereo but reaching through your steering wheel to make adjustments is not something I'd go for either. Also I used to have my sat radio through my plotter (Raymarine C80 so it's stone age and maybe things are better now) but I hated controlling it through there.
True about the reaching through the steering wheel, but since he's getting the RA205, he could network it via N2K (since he'll already have the backbone for the GS 25) to the evo2 and control it through the MFD through "Fusion Link".
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:59 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,338
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
I'd probably put the a stereo remote to the right of the trim tab switches.
Great idea, thanks and it will be controlled via NSS units and networked. There's only so much room
Badbagger is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 03:01 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

Like I said above, I'm sure things have changed but I wasn't a fan of controlling my stereo through my plotter.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 06:12 PM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Southport, NC & Manahawkin, NJ
Posts: 89
Default

Definitely chartplotter/FF in front of the wheel.
CapnEd is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 05:31 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 428
Default

FWIW. As my age increases and my eyes don't like reading anything smaller than a boat name without reading glasses, I like my plotter to be the largest screen. Version 2. I agree that operating the stereo through the wheel is awkward, but it looks like the display should be clear of the wheel and you should be able to reach around the wheel for controls. Make sure you put drain tubes on your cup holders. Nothing worse than sticky drink mess or excessive rain / glass condensation in your console where you want things to be dry.
Tony Trak is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 09:37 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,338
Default

Ok, so I did some hunting and found a photo of the actual console with a wheel in place. Took that into photoshop and did a silo on the wheel and brought it into my current .psd file.
Glad I did. More playing and more moving and came up with this. This is the actual wheel from the console and it's all sized proportionately in photoshop so that this works.

The NSS12 will get used more invariably being the FF. A quick glance over to the NSS8 when needed isn't a big deal. The NSS8 is primarily charts only.

Everything got moved around.

Thoughts ?
Attached Images  
Badbagger is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 09:45 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: hampstead, nc
Posts: 1,930
Default

that looks way better to me. You may have already answered this but do you prefer the fusion over the sonic hub controlled by the Simrad's? My yf was set up with no head unit and i thought the interface through the simrad was awesome. definitely make sure you get the bluetooth audio capability too.
worthless is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 09:50 AM
  #19  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,338
Default

Thanks, sure glad I have photoshop LOL. I'm going to set everything up with FusionLink and hopefully it works as advertised with the Simrads. I've got the Fusion BT100 ordered to go with the setup, much appreciated.
Badbagger is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 09:54 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: hampstead, nc
Posts: 1,930
Default

your welcome. I'm working on my fusion link tomorrow with my 6212. hope to get it all sorted out.

one other thing worth mentioning is the console grab rail. My Pathfinder had one similar to that and when you were running the boat sitting down it was dead in your line of sight. i would have much preferred simple grab handles on the side. just a thought.
worthless is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread