Notices

Help me figure out the problem here...

Old 09-04-2014, 01:04 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default Help me figure out the problem here...

On the left I have a Garmin 2110c with gsd21 and basic transom mount transducer. 400 watts analog? On the right is a Raymarine c80 with dsm300 and a m260. 1000 watts digital?

Obviously the Raymarine system should be better than the Garmin. But something is wrong. I seem to recall it working at one point but honestly I can't remember.

How can I troubleshoot this?
Attached Images    
VanW is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:09 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

I have a tm 260 for the Raymarine but I can't mount it. I tried holding it over the side of the boat and it seemed to work better that the m260 but it was rough so it was hard to tell. Also the tm260 doesn't fit in the m260 box so I can't tell if it's the location in the hull.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:10 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 714
Default

Dirty transducer ? Unshielded wires run parallel to c80? Shut off the 210c and see if the c80 clears up if so it is interference from the 210. All I can think of. good luck
thefever is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:11 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

It's nothing like that. Oh and the m260 tank is full.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:12 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

I can't read bottom in depths it should not have problems in. In the top pic it can't pick up bottom.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:33 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,026
Default

Since you are not sure it ever worked properly there may be air voids in the hull.
abbor is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:38 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

Possible, but how can I confirm that?
VanW is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:40 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

If I take the tank apart the tm 260 can fit in there. Would that be better than trying the plastic bag method? Or maybe put the m260 over the side of the boat?
VanW is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:40 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 151
Default

do you have enough cord that you could pull the M260 and hold it over the side of the boat to get a baseline in performance...that would give you a starting point.

Just a thought
CapnKip is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:42 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

Also maybe it's just my imagination but the tm 260 seems to have a stronger pulse than the m260.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 01:42 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

Originally Posted by CapnKip View Post
do you have enough cord that you could pull the M260 and hold it over the side of the boat to get a baseline in performance...that would give you a starting point.

Just a thought
No but I can pull the cord out if I have to.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 03:28 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,805
Default

I see in one of the pics you're running both simultaneously at 200khz. You cannot do that because they will interfere with each other and give erroneous information. Only one can be pinging at a time.
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 03:31 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

I've never noticed a problem with interference before but next time I'll put the Raymarine on 50. It's supposed to be nicer on Saturday so maybe I'll be able to figure something out.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 06:40 AM
  #14  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 93
Default

It's RF interference. If you turn one unit off it should clear right up. Give them some frequency separation and you'll still get minor pixelation if you turn the sensitivity way up on them, but you should fine on just about anything less than max.
StripeRR HunteRR is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 04:04 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

Looks like the type of interference (vertical streaks) I've seen when two units are running the same frequency, and it can be inconsistent too, one weekend work great another they interfere but usually they can't run together.

Last edited by mahimahi99; 09-05-2014 at 04:32 PM.
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 04:13 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

I'm going to do more testing tomorrow...
VanW is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 11:37 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,934
Default

Have you turned off auto mode on the Raymarine to optimize settings ( gain, noise-rejection , chart and ping speed ) manually?
Any difference on 50kHz?

If you can manage it, it may be a good reality test to hang the M260 over the side as you wondered about.
If you suspect cross-interference simply switch one to a different frequency if that is available.

I have two 50/ 200 kHz t/ds and one 200 kHz only t/d on the boat and they rarely interfere when used at once on 200. There is fairly good separation . The one 50/200kHz basic transom mount (Lowrance Skimmer) has much better performance at any speed than either of the 2 thru-hulls( w/ high speed fairings) , but particularly at cruise speed normally in the 20-25 kt range. I manually adjust.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 04:56 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

Well the m260 has a problem, tm260 works to over 1000 ft. while idling, I don't have much luck at trolling speed or cruising though. Not sure what the deal is. I guess I'll try the water in the bag and see if it works better on the other side.

Oh I was not using the Garmin this time to rule out interference...
VanW is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 05:41 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Waterford,CT
Posts: 890
Default

When running both sonars your interfering with each other. When you see vertical noise on the display thats almost always caused by two sonars on or near the same frequency. As others have told you run one at a time and you should see better results. On the Raymarine display be advised that even if your not on a sonar page the DSM module is still pinging so you need to physically remove the power cord.
tpp517 is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 06:57 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

I'm also now getting dsm connection lost errors I guess my transducer troubleshooting is on hold.
VanW is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread