Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Lowrance Elite 4 hdi, Stopped working after 3 weeks!!

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance Elite 4 hdi, Stopped working after 3 weeks!!

Old 09-04-2014, 08:17 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brooklyn, Ohio
Posts: 381
Default Lowrance Elite 4 hdi, Stopped working after 3 weeks!!

So Iv'e had great luck with my Lowrance x65 for the past 14 years. It was a great fishfinder. Looked for a combo plotter and fishfinder and this seemed like a nice unit. First trip out it shut itself off and turned back on. Lost position and map for a minute or two then ok. Later on that day it does the same thing. Checked all my connections. Everything tight, shrink wrapped, battery reads 13.3 volts.

Next trip out does same thing only doesnt restart again. Screen reads Lowrance Elite and will not boot up or work at all!! Wont shut off, had to remove fuse.

Called Lowrance and he said it's a software issue. You need to buy a sd card, card reader, and installa the software update to make it work right. WTH!! It's a brand new unit.

Why would they sell me a new unit with faulty software? Then make it difficult to do the update?

Sent it back to gander mountain, getting hit with a "restocking" fee of 20 percent. Luckily, they took it back past the 30 day electronics warranty.


Oh well, the search continues. Humminbird? or are they just as bad?\\

Thanks, Paul
Releaserman is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 11:03 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 539
Default

What you are describing is usually caused by problems with the electrical system. Updating the unit is a good idea anyway, but I had no such issues with the original software on my own Elite 4 HDI.
Team Colibri is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 11:30 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Default

Originally Posted by Releaserman View Post

Called Lowrance and he said it's a software issue. You need to buy a sd card, card reader, and installa the software update to make it work right. WTH!! It's a brand new unit.
There is NOT a SINGLE brand now that does not need software updates to fix bugs....

And the reason for that is - it has become too easy to ship software updates via the Internet - so before the internet - a lot more work went into testing products before shipping.

Products have also become much more complex - so the number of permutations to test is huge - so it is close to impossible to test ALL permutations - so you can/should expect issues.

So good luck finding something that does not need software updates Garmin, Raymarine, Simrad, Lowrance, Hummingbird - all need software updates at some point..
kaz911 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 04:25 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seacoast NH
Posts: 6,281
Default

Originally Posted by kaz911 View Post
There is NOT a SINGLE brand now that does not need software updates to fix bugs....

And the reason for that is - it has become too easy to ship software updates via the Internet - so before the internet - a lot more work went into testing products before shipping.

Products have also become much more complex - so the number of permutations to test is huge - so it is close to impossible to test ALL permutations - so you can/should expect issues.

So good luck finding something that does not need software updates Garmin, Raymarine, Simrad, Lowrance, Hummingbird - all need software updates at some point..
I think this is 100% spot on. That being said - they should ship whatever you need to do the updates. I went through this with Garmin years ago when they used their "special" cards and readers which were insanely marked up.
Boat Hound is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 06:03 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Default

But all you needed was a MicroSD card USB reader - which are available for < $3 and a 2 GB MicroSD card for $2...

So for $5 you could have solved the issue vs $50 for returning it...
kaz911 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 11:00 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 539
Default

Do they even sell PCs or laptops etc anymore without buildt in SD card readers? I think even my laptop 10 years or so ago had one.

While I totally agree on the point that shipping a card and cardreader with the unit as a standard could be done, I really don't want to pay 10-15 $ more for my units because of it. (Because I already have it...) Given the choice of buying a unit like it is, or buying a unit that gets (free) upgrades for the next 3-5 years or so, I don't think I would have to think to hard anyway. I for one do not want to go back to the place where the software was 5 years ago, not to mention 10 years ago.
Team Colibri is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 03:15 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal, HB
Posts: 540
Default

Originally Posted by Releaserman View Post

Why would they sell me a new unit with faulty software? Then make it difficult to do the update?
Answer to 1st question...... Sometimes shit happens
Answer to 2nd question........ There is nothing difficult involved with doing an update.

Unless you had another reason to return it and pay the restocking fee it would have been much cheaper and easier to try the update.

Any other brand you purchase you should research 1st what items you are gonna need to do software updates so that you don't go through the same dilemma again, and giveaway $.
mossbackinsocal is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 06:43 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brooklyn, Ohio
Posts: 381
Default

The problem is the unit froze up and wouldn't even boot up. Prior to that it shut itself on and off. So even if the update was done would you trust this unit 15 miles out in the fog to get you home? Plus, the software wasn't very intuitive. It certainly was way too complicated to operate in my opinion.
Releaserman is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread