Notices

Garmin intergration suggestions???

Old 09-04-2014, 06:43 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,442
Default Garmin intergration suggestions???

I just picked up a new to me Garmin 4212 it has with it
A GSD 22 black box sounder no transducer I would like to know my options on this giving all the info I have
Garmin GPS 17
I already have a Garmin 2010C on the boat and am very happy with the unit and intend on keeping it on board as well. I would like the 2010 and 4212 to talk to each other. I can see that the 2010C is compatible with the GSD22 but not the 24 and up. If anyone has any insight on how to get the best bottom picture please provide input. Maybe 2 black boxes?
My assumption is i have this transducer already installed. Long stem bronze thru-hull mount transducer with fairing, depth/speed/temp (200/50kHz)
010-10193-02

The TEMP stopped working some time ago
I would like some suggestions on transducers to use along with the black box it would work best with and how to integrate it into my system.

I have furuno RADAR that I run right now. The idea is to remove this old unit and use one of garmins newer units to integrand with the 4212 making room for it in the dash suggestions on domes? i do think i want a closed array.

AIS yes that would be cool?
Fish eye veiw super cool?

Thinking about maybe a standard horizon radio with AIS built in will it transmit that info to the garmin?

I also have a humming bird 998SI that i intend to leave in the dash it has been good to me.

Type of fishing I do
VA inshore Stripers/Rockfish we do pretty well with this. this can be foggy at times.
VA mid-atlantic canyon fishing mostly YFT mahi etc
have also hooked a couple BFT
NC Atlantic ocean fishing out of Oregon

First out last in it is usually dark going out and coming back.

34 ft proline center console with twin 300 verados Garmin's auto pilot would be on the list later.
I regularly cruse in the ocean any where from 35-40mph and it can be over 3000 ft deep where i fish sometimes.


Opinions/Suggestions????????
34pro is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 11:48 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,442
Default

Am i asking to much here? 44 views and not even an opinion.
34pro is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 06:18 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 3,008
Default

I believe you can get them to work together but not read each other. Now the hummingbird? no clue
Castrohasanafro is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 06:47 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,442
Default

Thank you yes i have done some reading and can get them to work together sharing the GSD 22 but that will not support chirp i wonder if i can have a GSD 26 also ?
34pro is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 08:21 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,938
Default

Originally Posted by 34pro View Post
I just picked up a new to me Garmin 4212 it has with it
A GSD 22 black box sounder no transducer I would like to know my options on this giving all the info I have
Garmin GPS 17
I already have a Garmin 2010C on the boat and am very happy with the unit and intend on keeping it on board as well. I would like the 2010 and 4212 to talk to each other. I can see that the 2010C is compatible with the GSD22 but not the 24 and up. If anyone has any insight on how to get the best bottom picture please provide input. Maybe 2 black boxes?
My assumption is i have this transducer already installed. Long stem bronze thru-hull mount transducer with fairing, depth/speed/temp (200/50kHz)
010-10193-02

The TEMP stopped working some time ago
I would like some suggestions on transducers to use along with the black box it would work best with and how to integrate it into my system.
The GSD 22 will only integrate with the 2010 via Can net if I recall. I wouldn't bother. The 2xxx series is not networkable to newer equipment other than NMEA data. You can keep it as a redundant unit if you want, but it will basically be a stand alone plotter.

Go on garmin.com and look for transducers compatible with your GSD22. The transducer plugs into that black box, then an ethernet cable connects the black box to your 4212. Your existing trandsducer may or may not work.

Originally Posted by 34pro View Post
I have furuno RADAR that I run right now. The idea is to remove this old unit and use one of garmins newer units to integrand with the 4212 making room for it in the dash suggestions on domes? i do think i want a closed array.
Opinions/Suggestions????????
Close (radome) is fine for navigation or collision avoidance. You'll want an open array to find birds if that's what you want to do.

Originally Posted by 34pro View Post
AIS yes that would be cool?
Fish eye veiw super cool?

Thinking about maybe a standard horizon radio with AIS built in will it transmit that info to the garmin?

I also have a humming bird 998SI that i intend to leave in the dash it has been good to me.
Opinions/Suggestions????????
AIS is a good safety tool--at night, crossing shipping lanes, you'll want a class B transceiver. Garmin makes one-AIS600. If you want, a Garmin VHF 200 will all integrate with your 4212 via NMEA2000 giving you DSC calling of AIS targets from the Plotter screen. Very cool.

Not sure what the "humming bird" is. My wife feeds them though.

I'm no help on the fishing stuff.

Me? I'd pull out the 2010, buy another 4212, and network it all together. that way, you can have radar on one screen, plotter on the other running in and out, and sonar on either one while fishing.
Buoy Scout is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 09:07 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,442
Default Ais

Originally Posted by Buoy Scout View Post
The GSD 22 will only integrate with the 2010 via Can net if I recall. I wouldn't bother. The 2xxx series is not networkable to newer equipment other than NMEA data. You can keep it as a redundant unit if you want, but it will basically be a stand alone plotter.

Go on garmin.com and look for transducers compatible with your GSD22. The transducer plugs into that black box, then an ethernet cable connects the black box to your 4212. Your existing trandsducer may or may not work.



Close (radome) is fine for navigation or collision avoidance. You'll want an open array to find birds if that's what you want to do.



AIS is a good safety tool--at night, crossing shipping lanes, you'll want a class B transceiver. Garmin makes one-AIS600. If you want, a Garmin VHF 200 will all integrate with your 4212 via NMEA2000 giving you DSC calling of AIS targets from the Plotter screen. Very cool.



Not sure what the "humming bird" is. My wife feeds them though.

I'm no help on the fishing stuff.

Me? I'd pull out the 2010, buy another 4212, and network it all together. that way, you can have radar on one screen, plotter on the other running in and out, and sonar on either one while fishing.

Can the GArmin get its AIS info from a standard Horizon radio via a NEMA connection without having to buy an AIS box?
34pro is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 01:52 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

34pro, if I were you I would look at the Simrad RS35 AIS/VHF, I've installed both the GX2200 and the RS35 intergrates so much easier via NMEA 2000, plus by adding N2K it will make adding things in the future much easier. The 2010 unit won't connect to the 4212 but you can still run them side by side. But seriously look at the RS35 VHF that's a great buy for the $
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 02:54 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

I think you would be able to share basic nmea data on the 2010 but that's it. The 2010 can (or the 2110 at least) can connect to the gsd22 through canet. I have no idea what sort of info the two units will share like that. If I were you I'd connect the GSD22 to the 4XXX series and just use it as the sounder. However it's also better for navigation.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 02:55 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,647
Default

Ooops I guess somebody already wrote pretty much what I wrote.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 04:27 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,938
Default

Originally Posted by 34pro View Post
Can the GArmin get its AIS info from a standard Horizon radio via a NEMA connection without having to buy an AIS box?

Yes. You'll see AIS targets on your screen, but they won't see you because it's receive only. May not be a concern, but I'd like to have my boat on the commercial traffic's screens in a busy shipping/commercial vessel area, especially at night.

The other advantage of N2k integration between the Garmin AIS, VHF radio and their chartplotters, is you can call an AIS target directly via their MMSI using the DSC function in the radio. You cursor over the target on the plotter, then press "Call via DSC" soft key and the radio calls them. Their DSC radio alarms with the incoming call.

I don't think that functionality is available via NMEA0183 (but I could be mistaken--would like to hear if anyone else has done this).
Buoy Scout is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 04:41 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 671
Default Garmin

I have two 4212's and had issues getting my 4212's to read the ais from my Standard Horizon radio- ended up hooking the the AIS SH radio to my Raymarine- may have just been my issue or lack of technical knowledge- It should work on Garmin- but I never got it solved

other than that- I like the Radar,fishfinder, FLIR, chart , and intuitive choices on the 4212- not crazy about the bottom contour mapping- I think Navionics (Raymarine)has better technology for seeing lumps, etc.

Good luck
hipmotized is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 05:17 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,612
Default

Originally Posted by 34pro View Post
Can the Garmin get... AIS info from a Standard Horizon radio via a NEMA (sic) connection without having to buy an AIS box?
I have no idea what you mean by the description "AIS box," but that does not matter, because it won't be necessary.

The Standard-Horizon VHF Marine Band radios with AIS receivers send the AIS data on their NMEA-0183 HS (high speed) connection. You can connect any display device that has the ability to show AIS targets to this NMEA-0183-HS connection. That display device will plot the position of other vessels as described in the AIS data it has received.

Please note the connection is a NMEA, not a NEMA connection. The NMEA is the National Marine Electronics Association. The NEMA is the National Electrical Manufacturers Association. The two organization are quite different.
jhebert is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 05:36 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,938
Default

Originally Posted by hipmotized View Post
I have two 4212's and had issues getting my 4212's to read the ais from my Standard Horizon radio- ended up hooking the the AIS SH radio to my Raymarine- may have just been my issue or lack of technical knowledge- It should work on Garmin- but I never got it solved

other than that- I like the Radar,fishfinder, FLIR, chart , and intuitive choices on the 4212- not crazy about the bottom contour mapping- I think Navionics (Raymarine)has better technology for seeing lumps, etc.

Good luck
Some of the SH radios need two NMEA 0183 ports--one at 4800 baud for DSC and one at 38400 baud for AIS. It should work fine on your 4212s. Be sure to bridge the NMEA0183 data from one plotter to the other.
Buoy Scout is offline  
Old 09-09-2014, 07:56 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,442
Default

Originally Posted by jhebert View Post
I have no idea what you mean by the description "AIS box," but that does not matter, because it won't be necessary.

The Standard-Horizon VHF Marine Band radios with AIS receivers send the AIS data on their NMEA-0183 HS (high speed) connection. You can connect any display device that has the ability to show AIS targets to this NMEA-0183-HS connection. That display device will plot the position of other vessels as described in the AIS data it has received.

Please note the connection is a NMEA, not a NEMA connection. The NMEA is the National Marine Electronics Association. The NEMA is the National Electrical Manufacturers Association. The two organization are quite different.
Sorry for the NMEA NEMA I own a telecommunications company and we use NEMA all the time it just pops out.
34pro is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread