Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

NMEA 0183 advice/help

Old 09-03-2014, 04:49 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
Default NMEA 0183 advice/help

am linking all my electronics together, I understand basics here, just have a few questions on whats more important to talk to each other here. Mainly want to utilize what i have the best i can. I have a Furuno 1933C radar, Furuno FCV 1100L sonar, Garmin 740S gps(no sonar) Simrad AP11 autopilot, and a Uniden 625c VHF. here is what i have linked together right now, but i started running out of recieve RX wires, and am having a hard time linking everything together. I also do not see my garmin 740s and my furuno 1933c talking to each other, does anyone know which nmea version garmin 740s uses? I only have version 1.5 and v 2.0 on the 1933C.
Attached Images  
bgilchrist83 is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 05:25 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maine
Posts: 183
Default

NMEA 0183 or 2k will not share radar info, FYI. Radar is shared between network connections on manufacturers devices. The nmea protocol doesn't have "versions". Manufacturers are the ones that have versions of software on their devices.

By using the Furuno depth and wiring to the garmin, that will only give you a depth reading on your chart plotter. It will not allow you to use the sonar function of the 740s. At that point why bother, because you are going to have to have the Furuno on anyway.
DirtyOar is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 06:17 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 303
Default

My advice would be an Actisense multiplexer. You've got way too much going on with your multiple units.
offshraddict is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 07:37 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
Default

i was wanting the furuno 1933 and garmin 740 to share waypoints, and when navigating to a waypoint show up on oppisite screen... is that not possible? Mainly if i go to a waypoint on radar , it would be nice to see that info on garmin screen, which is linked up with my autopilot. also sending water temp and depth readings just allows that info to be saved along with the waypoint on gps machines, could be good to have at some point. on the photo that is a terminal block, the areas shaded together are common together.
bgilchrist83 is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 12:33 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Default

Originally Posted by DirtyOar View Post
The nmea protocol doesn't have "versions". Manufacturers are the ones that have versions of software on their devices.
NMEA 0183 does have versions - but all should be backwards compatible (more or less)

Current version is as far as I remember 4.1
kaz911 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 03:40 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 66
Default

so would it be possible for the furuno 1933 and garmin 740S to share waypoints and "go to" track info ?
bgilchrist83 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 05:03 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,842
Default

On the garmin at least, there are only specific nmea sentances that can be output. You will have to check the list and see if waypoint destination is one of them, and then make sure it is enabled for output (not every sentance is on by default). Garmin uses it's marine network for this type of comm so brand to brand comm suffers. They only want garmin products being useful. There is a screen somewhere in system config to do this.

The same probably goes for furuno.
gerg is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread