Notices

Fuse question

Old 09-02-2014, 08:29 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Default Fuse question

Trying to find a replacement fuse for wires that go from the engine key switch to the Command Link bus. I went to check the fuse and the top came off. The fuse it takes says Pacific 10A and looks like an S on the inside. At Partzilla they are $2.50 a piece or so (Yamaha part number) plus shipping $5. They are a 30mm fuse that I can't find at any local marine or auto parts store. I was wondering if I can switch out that fuse with a easier to get glass 1 1/4" 10A fuse by replacing the fuse holder. Those run about $0.50 each. Would there be a difference? Is a 10A fuse a 10A fuse no matter what it looks like?

Thanks,
Mike
mikekutz is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 10:20 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Default

There are inline fuse holders that accept blade type fuses. I would prefer that to one that uses glass fuses...

I have seen so many glass fuses that look good, but test as an open circuit...vibration often causes a mechanical separation at one of the end caps, with the visible fuse element still intact.
Karl in NY is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 12:27 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ludington, MI
Posts: 601
Default

To answer your question, yes, a 10A fuse is a 10A fuse, assuming they are rated for the voltage you are running thru them.
Jason Adam is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread