Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Think I messed up... Tm 260 question

Old 09-01-2014, 03:52 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default Think I messed up... Tm 260 question

Do I dare try to mount it here? Seems like that's the only place it will fit.
Attached Images  
VanW is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 03:53 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

(yes that's the outside of the hull)
VanW is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 03:54 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

Also the reason for going with it is seriously limited bilge space.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 04:31 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 34
Default

No chance of getting it to work there while your moving.
phil.hrx is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 05:49 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,292
Default

I ran one in that exact spot for quite a few years on my brand new boat. Performance increased when I ditched the TM and installed a thru-hull. Other than that, it's hard to say what your results will be. I hate the remnants of the mounting holes (now filled) that remain, but you've got some good options to avoid those holes in your transom if you use one of those stick-on plate thingies.
Pez Vela is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 06:24 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,531
Default

Do not mount it there.

Post a better picture of your transom so we can get the full picture.

You will get a lot of interference next to that trim tab. I've shot that movie.

Here is a picture of mine and it works great.
Attached Images  
HeadHunt is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 07:01 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

There is nowhere else it can fit. It has a full floatation bracket so like 3 inches of hull under it and it can't fit between the tab and the bracket either.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 08:07 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,531
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
There is nowhere else it can fit. It has a full floatation bracket so like 3 inches of hull under it and it can't fit between the tab and the bracket either.
Sounds like you need another type of ducer.

Where is the pic of your full transom?
HeadHunt is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 10:37 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

I'll get one in the morning
VanW is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 08:16 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

Here we go.
Attached Images  
VanW is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 10:51 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,531
Default

Can you mount it on the inside of the port tab?... like the one on your starboard side? How does that ducer perform?
HeadHunt is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 10:57 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

No, it can't fit there the bracket is like 1/2" too wide. That transducer works ok. At this point I'm leaning towards selling the system and buying a 1040xs.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 11:02 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,531
Default

Originally Posted by VanW View Post
No, it can't fit there the bracket is like 1/2" too wide. That transducer works ok. At this point I'm leaning towards selling the system and buying a 1040xs.
What is the other ducer for? The TM 260 has to be much better. Why not remove it and put the TM 260 there since that location works.
HeadHunt is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 11:06 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

It can't fit there either.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 11:07 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,531
Default

How about a picture of the bilge?
HeadHunt is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 11:40 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

Here, keep in mind I have yet to install a rule 3700 for tuna tubes and take out the lil live well pump and replace with a 2000 gph.
Attached Images  
VanW is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 11:40 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

Hmm let me try to get a better picture.
VanW is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 11:49 AM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12,030
Default

Hard to get a good picture
VanW is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 11:56 AM
  #19  
Closed Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,771
Default

Shave the tab to clear and toss some Orpine in that bilge
BoemarineBrian is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 11:57 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,531
Default

What boat do you have? Maybe some other tht'ers have figured it out.

How will a 1040xs solve your problem? It will need a ducer too and those little chirp ducers aren't much good tuna fishing in the canyons.
HeadHunt is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread