Notices

hds7 & hds7M

Old 09-01-2014, 09:17 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 59
Default hds7 & hds7M

Hello all....

I have a HDS7 gen2 touch w/ radar,point-1,structure scan,transducer, it is on a nema 2000 network.

My question is.... Can I use a hds7M as a second display and if so what can be displayed?

Thanks Matty
Neversosure is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 10:22 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,043
Default

Yes you can use HDS-7M as second display, if you connect both screens using Ethernet and NNEA 2000, the M model can show everything your HDS-7 can. Even chart cards are shared.
abbor is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 12:35 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 59
Default

Thanks again! For that info, was just curious because the 7M doesn't have the sonar in it, I just want another display to be able to put up the chart, sonar, etc and see it a lil better.
The 7M will be a match for the 7 I already have to mount flush.


Matty
Neversosure is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 12:37 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 451
Default

You don't need nmea connections, just the ethernet cable.
KatsDiamond is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 12:51 PM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 59
Default

Originally Posted by KatsDiamond View Post
You don't need nmea connections, just the ethernet cable.
I don't want to get confused here, I don't want to mirror the other display.

For example "I would like to put sonar on one display #1 and put chart or anything else on display #2".

So Kats your saying I only need the Ethernet cable to do what I want to do?

Matty
Neversosure is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 01:06 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,043
Default

You need both to get full functionality. Radar overlay won't work without NMEA 2000 and you can of course not take advantage of the very sensitive 10Hz GPS receiver in Point-1 without NMEA 2000. NMEA 2000 is also needed for screen back light synchronisation.

The internal sounder in HDS-7 can be considered as a BSM-1 located inside HDS-7, it's available for all MFD's connected to the Ethernet. HDS-7 is actually communicating with it's internal sounder the same way HDS-7M would do.
abbor is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 02:05 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 451
Default

I just happen to have the same units in question. They are only connected with the ethernet cable and both units operate independently of each other. The only thing that mirrors is the signal from the transducer ... But what do I know? Save yourself some time and only hook up the ethernet cable. I guarantee it will do exactly what you have mentioned.
KatsDiamond is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 02:21 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,043
Default

Of course the sonar will be available from both units with only the Ethernet cable, but to get full functionality for both units, as listed previously in this thread, NMEA 2000 is needed as well.
abbor is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 05:00 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

You need both Ethernet and NMEA2K. You already have an NMEA2K backbone to connect your Point-1 to you HDS7. While maps and sonar will share over Ethernet, the Point-1 heading, GPS coordinates, and other small things will not. KatsDiamond is getting what he wants by just an Ethernet connection, but you won't get what you want without the NMEA2K connection in addition to Ethernet.
stiletto is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 05:36 PM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 59
Default

Got it! Thanks for all the input from everybody!

Matty
Neversosure is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread