Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Lowrance HDS, wireless connection with baitboat

Notices

Lowrance HDS, wireless connection with baitboat

Old 09-01-2014, 04:22 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
Default Lowrance HDS, wireless connection with baitboat

Dear all,

in my search to make my HDS5 gen2 work on my bait boat (fisherman) I crossed this forum with a lot of knowledge.

A short summary;

I'm Jaap from the Netherlands, fishing for carp. On the bigger waters I'm using my zodiac and my HDS 5 to determine my fishing location.
I have a little knowledge of electricity, building my own amplifiers,restore old electrics.
For the quick fishing sessions or waters where no boat is allowed, I will use a bait boat. (under construction)

Since I have this, in my opinion, great HDS5 I would like to have it on my bait boat. Especially when you compare it to the commercial black/white rubbish.

I first thought of installing a second transducer in the boat with a 12V battery and an transmitter to send the signal. I quickly noticed that the sonar is created in the unit instead of the transducer?
Then I would like to use the NMEA0183 port, but keeping in mind a GPS location is also very desirable NMEA2000 seamed to be the better choice.

Had a look at Airmar, and noticed the Airmar DT800. a little expensive compared to the unit. But if it works, it works.
Unfortunately I haven't found a reasonable NMEA2000 GPS yet.

Having a normal transducer (83/200 Lowrance) and a NMEA0183 GPS would make things a lot easier I think. Only I don't know yet how to get things work.

If the transducer gets the sonar signal, I only should pick-up the recieved info and transmit that. (easy thinking?)
The NMEA0183 gps signal can be send to the NMEA0183 port.

If this information is able to be send in 1 module, I do not know yet. If it could be it would be great.

Anyone who is willing to comment or help me out, please do so!

Any questions, don't hold back
Schreuder is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 07:52 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,047
Default

If your bait boat can carry the HDS and a 12V battery you can add a WiFi-1 access point and view and control the sounder from the GoFree tablet app.

You need a HDS Gen2 or Touch for this to work, will not work with first generation HDS.

Sonasr signals are only available over Ethernet, NMEA 183 or NMEA 2000 don't have the bandwidth for sonar data, only for digital depth.
abbor is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 08:16 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
Default

Thank you for your reply,

unfortunately the boat is to small to have the HDS on it, and it is a little to expensive to have it on in my opinion.

I believe the transducer gets his sonar from the unit, am I right?

Isn't it an option to modulate this sonar on the bait boat, retrieve the information from the transponder and then send it back like wifi to the unit? The unit will think it gets the information right from the transducer and displays the information.

This is maybe a too simple thought to this advanced issue, but I thought it should work. (If those NMEA transducers weren't that big and expensive I'd go for that option)It is still an option I believe, but modulating a sonar with a 'normal' transducer would make it a affordable solution.

PS: There are people that claims to have a solution working with a cheap transducer wireless connected. I don't really know how they did it, will be commercial.
Schreuder is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 08:37 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,047
Default

NMEA transducer will only give depth, not sonar data.

Of course it can be done using a microcontroller evaluation board and some custom electronics, but you then need to have the knowledge how to design the sonar circuit and how to make the embedded software controlling the sonar and transmitting to shore.

I guess getting hold of a functional board from a HDS-5 with bad screen would be the easiest starting point. Most of the power goes to the screen so you could then manage with a relatively small Li-Ion battery. You would still need WiFi-1 or similar functionality.
abbor is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 08:46 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
Default

Sonar data means fish-bows and weeds I guess?

sorry for this noob question, it's not only the information but also a small lack of language understanding I think, sorry
Schreuder is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 08:52 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,047
Default

Sonar data here means any acoustic returns drawn at the sounder screen, these data can be bottom, fish arcs,weed, thermo clines and whatever.

A NMEA sensor will send the depth every second or so, nothing more.
abbor is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 07:03 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
NMEA transducer will only give depth, not sonar data.

Of course it can be done using a microcontroller evaluation board and some custom electronics, but you then need to have the knowledge how to design the sonar circuit and how to make the embedded software controlling the sonar and transmitting to shore.

I guess getting hold of a functional board from a HDS-5 with bad screen would be the easiest starting point. Most of the power goes to the screen so you could then manage with a relatively small Li-Ion battery. You would still need WiFi-1 or similar functionality.
Is there anyone who has done this already?

I can't imagine I'm the only one interested in such a connection
Schreuder is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 07:26 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,047
Default

It wouldn't have taken me much time to rig up the setup I described above, but I'm an EE with good knowledge to Lowrance products. But I don't have any use for such a setup and I doubt there are many carp fishers at this forum.

The Vexilar SonarPhone wireless sounder could be an interesting alternative for you.

http://www.panbo.com/archives/2014/0..._a_bobber.html

http://sonarphone.mobi/
abbor is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 12:06 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 539
Default

There are commercial alternatives, like this one: http://youtu.be/SgnQcXbMm4I

But a few people have made DIY boats that do more or less the same. If charting and looking for fish and vegetation is the main objective put your HDS with a memorycard as well as a HST-WSBL ducer and powersource in the boat and just rewiev the sonarlog from the memorycard afterwards. A cheaper alternative to HDS would be Elite 4 HDI and even cheaper Mark 4 HDI. With software from Insight Genesis or Reefmaster you can turn tour sonarlogs into detailed maps, showing both depth and bottom composition. Insight Genesis will also make maps showing vegetationbelts.

I couple of friends and I are experimenting with DIY boats for mapping smaller lakes. With ardupilots a boat like this can run by itself, or be controlled by RC or a PC (Bluetooth). I just use a normal RC boat with Elite 4 HDI and ducer inside, my friends are doing the whole ardupilot and DIY hulls aproach. (I'm techy, but not that techy...)
Team Colibri is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 03:02 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
Default

I'm aware of the mapping function. I'm used to do it with my zodiac.
I've seen the auto pilot function on you tube already. Interesting to sort it out yourself! But in my opinion it is a little too much. Don't get me wrong, mapping a lake with predefined course is impressive, as well as the processing behind all it. Nice work!
Really honourable if you all do it yourself and it works like it should.

Diy with the hds5 to go wireless is much to advanced for a ' normal fisherman '.
I'm in the search for the next best solution;-)

most of the time I know where to fish, a confirmation of the depth is always nice to be sure you've got the right spot.
I never actively search for the fish, and most of the time I do my mapping and exploring way upfront my fishing session.
Schreuder is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread