Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Will a higher element/higher power transducer help on transom mount

Notices

Will a higher element/higher power transducer help on transom mount

Old 08-31-2014, 04:16 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,795
Default Will a higher element/higher power transducer help on transom mount

I purchased a Dragonfly as a backup chartplotter primary finder while I save my pennies after taking delivery of the boat. We don't plan on fishing heavy.

The Dragonfly looses bottom pretty quick, fine while idling or going slow.

I found a DFF1 black box for a reasonable price. Would upgrading to a P66/TM258/TM260 help?
BadgerS is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 04:21 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,732
Default

The DFF1 is an excellent sonar..one of the best of the traditional tone burst units.

A P66 is a single element 600 watt... equal or better than the DragonFly for depth and bottom tracking.
The Tm260 is a 8 element 1000 watt ...and 50 times more sensitive at 50 kHz.
With a DFF1...
A properly mounted P66, Tm258 or even better.. a TM260 ... will give superior results in comparison to the Dragon.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 08-31-2014 at 07:42 PM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 04:29 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,795
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
The DFF1 is an excellent sonar..one of the best of the traditional tone burst units.

A P66 is a single element 600 watt...the Tm260 is a 8 element 1000 watt ...and 50 times more sensitive at 50 kHz.

Do you think I will have better luck not loosing bottom with either transducer.

The Dragonfly looses at anything above idle speed.
BadgerS is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 05:47 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,536
Default

Losing bottom as you have described is not a symptom of lack of power in the transducer or sounder, it is a symptom of a badly placed transducer! Any transom mounted transducer, when placed incorrectly, will not give a good signal, no matter how powerful. If it gets turbulence or air bubbles under it, the picture will be poor.

You need to work on repositioning the transducer so that it is in a clear flow of water when the boat is on the plane at speed. Read the transduce installation instructions, make certain that it is positioned as prescribed, and check the hull ahead of the transducer position to make sure there is absolutely nothing there that would create turbulence, eliminate those things and you stand a good chance of getting it set in a position where it performs to your expectations. Make sure the trailing edge if the transducer is maybe 1/8" lower than the front (end nearest the bow).

If you are unsure, take some photos from behind, and from side on so we can see exactly how it is positioned now in relation to the hull,post them here, and then people may be able to offer some further suggestions on how to improve it.
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 05:51 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,795
Default

It is a CPT Dragonfly transducer that is mounted just to the right of the V in between my twin 250s. Maybe 8" off center of the boat. The front of the transducer is about 1/4" higher than the rear. It works up to about 8 knots.

I was planning on swapping transducers at the next haul out.

I have other issues with the Dragonfly as it loses GPS signal as I have an aluminum pilot house boat.
BadgerS is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 05:55 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,795
Default

I will try to find a better photo. You can see the Dragonfly transducer tipped up while they were painting the bottom.
Attached Images  
BadgerS is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 06:12 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,795
Default

Here is another one..

Unfortunately I can't find one with the transducer down...

Hopefully a Airmar TM mount fits on the welded bracket...
Attached Images  
BadgerS is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 09:59 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Default

Chiming in with my 2 cents.

In your picture, I am envisioning it in the down position and to me, by the picture, it looks like it may be a little high. When down, the entire face of the transducer should be a little below a straight line of the hull. Also, take a picture of the bottom looking foreward in front of the ducer. Are there any chines, fittings or rivits?
Just trying to think if there is anything to help make the dragon fly. (Pun intended)
spearfish III is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 10:11 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,732
Default

Originally Posted by spearfish III View Post
Just trying to think if there is anything to help make the dragon fly. (Pun intended)
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 10:11 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,795
Default

Originally Posted by spearfish III View Post
Chiming in with my 2 cents.

In your picture, I am envisioning it in the down position and to me, by the picture, it looks like it may be a little high. When down, the entire face of the transducer should be a little below a straight line of the hull. Also, take a picture of the bottom looking foreward in front of the ducer. Are there any chines, fittings or rivits?
Just trying to think if there is anything to help make the dragon fly. (Pun intended)
Got to wait for the next haulout...

No chines or fittings ahead and certainly no rivets on this boat. It's fully welded 1/4" 5086
BadgerS is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 05:58 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,795
Default

Any thoughts.. Will a transom mount ever work, or should I plan on drilling the a 4" hole in the hull for a stainless transducer?

Last edited by BadgerS; 09-01-2014 at 06:20 PM.
BadgerS is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 06:09 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,732
Default

Yes, a good transom mount such as the eTM260..properly mounted and used with your DFF1 should do just fine.

Mount it right in the center of the V.
I have seen a good many successful TM260 units mounted in worse locations than yours.





semperfifishing is offline  
Old 09-14-2014, 10:32 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,795
Default

Do you think I could bolt a 1/4" plate and have the Dragonfly transducer offset and mount a TM260 directly on the bracket? Or should I wait till I can get another bracket welded on?
BadgerS is offline  
Old 09-14-2014, 11:04 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,732
Default

Originally Posted by BadgerS View Post
Do you think I could bolt a 1/4" plate and have the Dragonfly transducer offset and mount a TM260 directly on the bracket? Or should I wait till I can get another bracket welded on?
Spacing between ducers is important in regard to not having one of them so close it would divert aerated water to the side and cause reduced sonar capabilty to the ducer next to it....etc.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 12:19 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,795
Default

Well... Boat was hauled out and Dragonfly transducer was kicked up again. Hard to tell while it is in the water. I have not hit anything, nor has the boat been trailered

I now know the transducer is not meant for a 40knot plus 11k pound boat that sees some waves...

TM260 is going on this week.
BadgerS is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 01:30 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SouthBay SF
Posts: 1,375
Default

Originally Posted by BadgerS View Post
Any thoughts.. Will a transom mount ever work, or should I plan on drilling the a 4" hole in the hull for a stainless transducer?

If you can afford it, this is definitely the way to go!!!
The Kid is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread