Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno GP 1870 issues/problems

Old 08-31-2014, 10:58 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 193
Thumbs down Furuno GP 1870 issues/problems

I replied to a previous thread on this unit,and I am posting this in addition.
I have used this unit for 4-5 months,and do not like it.
It is either a faulty unit,or is just not a very well planned device,made cheaply.
I am not sure.I really like Furuno products,and their tech support is very good.
My experience thus far has been well below average.

I had an furuno 1650,which went bad,and I replaced it with this 1870.
My experience with it so far,is it is not very user friendly,and takes alot of getting used too.
I did the upgrade a month back,and it now works very slowly,takes several minutes to boot up.Even before the upgrade,it still had all these other issues.
The constant screen changing when you try to scroll,makes it useless to try to get from one point to another on the screen.Also when I try to scroll, it starts putting up information tabs,which literally block out all your info.....then on top of that,it now has started "locking up".(Possibly a shutoff for these in menu?)
When you push the ESC button,nothing happens,and if I push it several times,it has shut off completely on me the last few times I used it.
On other occasions,when using "scroll" knob to zoom in,it will just shut off for know reason.
Another problem,is when installing WP's using "arrow"function keys,to put in numeric value,the buttons seem to be very non-responsive....in other words,I have to push the button 4-8 times to get it to install the one number.
These problems happen at random,know specific time when other electronics are being used,daytime,and or night time.
I do not like this unit at all,and would not recommend it.
It just seems very difficult to do simple things...
I loved the 1650,and I will probably get rid of this in the fall,and go with a Garmin.



jeff

Last edited by killin time; 08-31-2014 at 11:07 AM. Reason: spelling
killin time is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:04 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,210
Default

Sounds like you got a bad unit. Should still be under warranty. Why not send it back to Furuno? Mine works great and has been very reliable. Since it's new I bet Furuno would make it right.
23Dorado is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 11:14 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,948
Default

Have you contacted Furuno support?

This sounds like a bad unit...and Furuno has excellent warranty support.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 12:16 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 193
Default

No, have not contacted furuno,but I will this week.
What is there warranty policy?I have only used the unit since spring of this year,and bought it in the winter of this year.....?
Hoping you are right that it is a bad unit.....


thanks

jeff
killin time is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 12:39 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,948
Default

Originally Posted by killin time View Post
No, have not contacted furuno,but I will this week.
What is there warranty policy?I have only used the unit since spring of this year,and bought it in the winter of this year.....?
Hoping you are right that it is a bad unit.....




All Furuno marine units are covered by a 2 year warranty.
And Furuno without question ..stands by their warranty with full support.

The best thing for anyone who has any issues ...is to call Furuno and utilize their excellent guidance and support...the newer units can be perplexing..so any and all help from the manufacture should be utilized.

4400 N.W. Pacific Rim Blvd....this seems the easiest to get to.
Camas, WA 98607, USA
Tel: (360) 834-9300

70 Engerman Avenue.
Denton, MD 21629, USA
Tel: (410) 479-4420

Another alternate source of help is the online Furuno support forum:

http://www.furunousa.com/Support/Forum.aspx




Last edited by semperfifishing; 07-01-2016 at 01:11 PM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 12:50 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 193
Default

Is the tech support in Denton MD?

that is all I could find.

yes you are right,these things are very difficult to use,maybe just getting it set up right,could be half the problem.

Do you know how to turn those PIA info windows off...the ones that pop up when scrolling?
Some windows pop up over others,and you cant read anything.....

thanks

jeff
killin time is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 08:34 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

I don't like mine either. It's slow as heck, takes several pushes on the button to respond often times and doesn't work with my heading sensor. I've had it go blue screen while underway two times in 70hrs use. A reboot does the job, but glad I had nss7 as back up. I love my 587 and pair, but the 1870f will need to go.
Name:  IMG_0895_zps2edbca36.jpg
Views: 527
Size:  101.4 KB
Whidbey is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 03:57 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 193
Default

Im gonna try furuno tech first,to see if unit is bad....hope thats all it is.
How do you like the simrad in comparison?

thanks

jeff
killin time is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 09:21 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: See screen name
Posts: 5,387
Default

The main tech support is in Camas Washington; I have used both them and the MD office and got really great phone and e-mail service, and that is on older units way out of warranty (VX2).
caltexflanc is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 11:39 AM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

I like the nss7. Thinking about putting it where the 1870 is and putting an nss8 where the nss7 is. I have a 4g radar and am really liking that. On a previous boat I had a Ray e90w that was awesome for chart. I just think the 1870 and the smaller one of that design are flops and that's why they don't sell very well in the first place and are not continued....They're probably just ok, but not compared with alternatives these days. My opinion....
Whidbey is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 01:27 PM
  #11  
Senior Member (used to be B-Faithful)Captains Club MemberPLEDGER Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 17,077
Default

I have called the Denton office trying to figure something out and they were very very helpful. Definitely give furuno a call if you are having issues. They seem to stand behind their product better than anyone. Heck they just replaced a battery on my fathers 20+ year old DGPS that he loves.

Originally Posted by Whidbey View Post
I don't like mine either. It's slow as heck, takes several pushes on the button to respond often times and doesn't work with my heading sensor. I've had it go blue screen while underway two times in 70hrs use. A reboot does the job, but glad I had nss7 as back up. I love my 587 and pair, but the 1870f will need to go]

It isn't as fast as my TZT but it is faster than my old system that I just replaced? Also, what mode do you run yours in. I was told not to run it in Auto Course up mode as it slows down the unit and run in either course up or north up mode. (I run mine mostly in north up mode as it is my back up navigation unit which I run in head-up mode. I also like to run the raster charts on it and the vector on my tzt)

iFishMD is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 03:47 PM
  #12  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

I run both in head up. It is connected to the network and gets heading from my gh2183, but if I input gh2183 for gps the chart jumps around continuously. I've only run it vector as I want to utilize the info available from the jeppesen chart. That's why I say it's just ok...it works with this tweek or that one, but not the way it should, I guess. But it seems you get what you pay for...but with the cost of the chart too, I regret not going two simrads. But it's ok for now, however if you have a choice from the get go....just my opinion, again.
Whidbey is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 05:09 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,282
Default

Why do you run it with external GPS when it has quite a good internal one?
cravenMH is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 05:58 PM
  #14  
Senior Member (used to be B-Faithful)Captains Club MemberPLEDGER Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 17,077
Default

Mine isn't connected to my heading sensor since I mostly run the back up in north up mode. My internal antenna reads through my hard top with no issue. I have no issues running under the vector charts either. (I don't run it in 3d mode though)
iFishMD is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 06:18 PM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 45
Default

Due to the issues I described, I do use the internal one. My nss7 has position much faster than the 1870 and it uses the gh2183. Refresh is much faster with nss7 too. I do love my 587 and pair, though.
Whidbey is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 05:14 PM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 47
Default

I have a 1670 and 1870, and neither run the way the OP's does. The charts are not lightning quick, but I have not seen the freeze-up or blue screen issues described.
Marko888 is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 04:06 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 193
Default

Did a complete factory restore,(furuno tech advised)and after just using it for 10 minutes,it shut down on me for know reason.It happened 2 times when scrolling,and then zooming with roto knob.
Definitly something wrong.
Hopefully i can keep it up and running,thru next few months as some of our best fishing is upon us......
Just have to live with these flaws for now.

Just another question.....should it take about 2-3 minutes to boot up every time i initially turn it on?
And then another 30-40seconds for SAT FIX?
My older unit was much faster than this.....
I also have external antenna hooked up from my 1650 (DGPS Waas) Do I have to do anything else to make it right?
Guess I will call furuno again tommorow.

thanks

jeff
killin time is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 03:14 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 193
Default

Talked with furuno tech,and he said check the SD card......I did what he had said,checked SD card slot ,and reset unit,and removed the card,etc......and the unit works fine.
Replace card,and all problems come back........

Now I have to contact Jeppeson(C-Map),and try to find out what the problem is with there $249 chip.......??

Furuno tech support has been excellent.


thanks jeff
killin time is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 07:03 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 193
Default

Today I placed the mini SD card into a new sd "card holder",and tried that,and it works fine so far at the dock,where as before,it would shut-off,and or freeze up.I tried it for about 30 minutes,doing everything I could think of,and it was fine.

It looks as though the Furuno 1870 is a good unit,but the c-map could create problems for it.

The only real way to tell though,is for me to use it for a few hrs out on the water to be sure.
Anyone having problems should check the cards,and also do a reset,by pushing the little white button in,next to the SD card slot....that will make it reboot,and start over.

thanks

jeff
killin time is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 02:28 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 159
Default

Another nice unit is the Si Tex SVS 760 CF. Superior customer service and super product. CMAP Max CHarts. Furuno is trying to get more of the Garmin market share and making lower priced products to do so. Those products are not so good.
CaptPuddie is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread