Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Convert from Circuit Board (PCB) to a conventional switch panel

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Convert from Circuit Board (PCB) to a conventional switch panel

Old 08-31-2014, 08:12 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 10
Default Convert from Circuit Board (PCB) to a conventional switch panel

Can anyone tell me how difficult it would be to convert from a printed circuit board (PCB) to a more conventional rocker switch/breaker panel such as one made by Blue Sea or Seasense? My PCB has issues with broken quick connectors which will require de-soldering and soldering new terminals and I think it may be time to convert the whole system. I only have six active switches on my current setup (Acc; Bilge; Livewell 1; Livewell 2; cockpit lights and Navigation Lights but will probably get an 8 switch panel for expansion options. By the way, this is for a 19' Polar CC. Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments. I will try and attach a few pictures so you can see what I am working with.
Attached Images    
marshoaks is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 08:21 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lower Bay in VA.
Posts: 5,791
Default

Its a petty easy job for some of us. BUT that depends on your skill level doing this type of work . For me its easy , but I have some friends that are a lot smarter then myself that could not do it . Not a great answer but I don't have a clue what you good at LOL
prowlersfish is offline  
Old 09-22-2014, 08:31 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Default

I have a similar setup.
My boat is a kenner fishmaster 2450 with the same switch panel as shown in picture #3 the plug in picture #2 plugs into the PCB on the back of the switches?????
I don't have the breaker panel that's in picture #1 it was stolen from the boat. where do the wires from the breaker panel go????and plug into?????? please add those pictures to help me out.
kctango is offline  
Old 06-17-2017, 05:14 AM
  #4  
SOA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 768
Default

Heads up: old thread revival

I have a 21 polar with this type of wiring. After 13 years the switches are starting to fail and I am contemplating re-wiring the switches and accessories. I would just yank everything out and start fresh; however does anyone know if anything on the ignition side is hooked in to this?
SOA is offline  
Old 06-17-2017, 11:26 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Catawba Island, Ohio
Posts: 1,055
Default

Originally Posted by SOA View Post
Heads up: old thread revival

I have a 21 polar with this type of wiring. After 13 years the switches are starting to fail and I am contemplating re-wiring the switches and accessories. I would just yank everything out and start fresh; however does anyone know if anything on the ignition side is hooked in to this?
I have a 2100 polar as well. Why not just replace the switches that are failing. These are standard cole hersee switches.
Catn TJ is offline  
Old 06-19-2017, 05:58 AM
  #6  
SOA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 768
Default

I would do that, but I believe corrosion has won this battle.
SOA is offline  
Old 06-20-2017, 04:21 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Catawba Island, Ohio
Posts: 1,055
Default

Originally Posted by SOA View Post
I would do that, but I believe corrosion has won this battle.
When I pulled the switch panel to replace it ( replace the face panel) there were no ignition related wires. You should be able to easily trace the wires back to the circuit breaker panel in the compartment. - pm me if you want more details.
Catn TJ is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread