Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Mounting options for HDS-12 Gen2 Touch

Old 08-30-2014, 09:21 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Destin, FL area
Posts: 38
Default Mounting options for HDS-12 Gen2 Touch

I am buying a new Key West 210 BR, and I am considering buying one of the Lowrance HDS-12 Gen2 Touch units for the StructureScan capability. I am planning on doing 85 - 90% of my fishing in the bay, and I will never be in more than 150' while in the Gulf - let me know if I am on the wrong track here with the StructureScan.

Is it normal to do a flush mount or a RAM mount for the HDS units on these types of boats? I am considering doing a RAM mount so I can swivel the unit to face the bow while I am fishing on the bow. Of course, I would leave a large blank space on my console where I could have flush mounted the MFD, but functionality is my primary concern. Any advice on the best location for this, or even if I would be better off with a different brand than Lowrance, would be appreciated.

I also need to purchase an AM/FM stereo, and I am considering buying the SonicHub. If anyone thinks this is a good or bad idea, please let me know.
AFBoggy is offline  
Old 08-30-2014, 09:42 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,959
Default

The RAM mounting does give you a good bit of flexibility.
And along with the HDS 12 you may also look at the Simrad NSS9evo2.

The SonicHub is very popular and a good choice.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 08-31-2014, 05:39 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Destin, FL area
Posts: 38
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
The RAM mounting does give you a good bit of flexibility.
And along with the HDS 12 you may also look at the Simrad NSS9evo2.

The SonicHub is very popular and a good choice.
I'd kind of like to buy the 12'' display because I think I will be better able to see it from the bow of the boat: Simrad is more expensive in this regard. I know you get CHIRP with the Simrad units, but you have to go out 25 -30 miles to even find a spot that might be >150' deep, and usually further... I'm only buying a 21' bay boat here. My research indicates that CHIRP improves resolution at much greater depths. Because of this, I'm less inclined to make the additional investment in CHIRP. But... let me know if I am on the wrong track here. Definitely willing to reconsider.
AFBoggy is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 06:46 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,342
Default

CHIRP gives major improvements also at 100'. And the low Q-factor of the Airmar CHIRP is a huge advantage even if operating at fixed frequencies in shallow waters.

This is NSS9 with TM150M. The line drawn at 7-8m is the thermo cline (I'm not using a downrigger here)

Name:  shot037_zpsup2qosld.png
Views: 264
Size:  242.8 KB
abbor is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 07:51 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Destin, FL area
Posts: 38
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
CHIRP gives major improvements also at 100'. And the low Q-factor of the Airmar CHIRP is a huge advantage even if operating at fixed frequencies in shallow waters.

This is NSS9 with TM150M. The line drawn at 7-8m is the thermo cline (I'm not using a downrigger here)

Do you think it's worth the extra money for someone who is spending 80-90% of his fishing time in the bay?

If I wanted to go with CHIRP, what is more economical: the SIMRAD NSS12 evo2, or buying the base Lowrance HDS-12 unit and purchasing the separate SonarHub module?

If I went without the CHIRP and bought the Lowrance HDS-12 Structurescan package with the LSS2 and 83/200 ducers, is the 83/200 ducer that is included a good transducer, or should I buy a different one?

Any help is appreciated.
AFBoggy is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 08:38 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,348
Default

If you go the RAM mount option, PM me. I have a complete RAM mount set up that I used on my HDS 12 setup that is like new and just sitting. I was going to list it for sale in due time.
Badbagger is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 09:05 AM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Destin, FL area
Posts: 38
Default

Originally Posted by Badbagger View Post
If you go the RAM mount option, PM me. I have a complete RAM mount set up that I used on my HDS 12 setup that is like new and just sitting. I was going to list it for sale in due time.
Will do. I am going to keep the boat for a week to get a feel for what I want before I give it back to them to have the electronics and some other stuff involved, and I will let you know. Appreciate the offer.
AFBoggy is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 09:18 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,959
Default

Originally Posted by AFBoggy View Post
I'd kind of like to buy the 12'' display because I think I will be better able to see it from the bow of the boat: Simrad is more expensive in this regard. I know you get CHIRP with the Simrad units, but you have to go out 25 -30 miles to even find a spot that might be >150' deep, and usually further... I'm only buying a 21' bay boat here. My research indicates that CHIRP improves resolution at much greater depths. Because of this, I'm less inclined to make the additional investment in CHIRP. But... let me know if I am on the wrong track here. Definitely willing to reconsider.
you say you want a 12' so you can see it from the bow of the boat.

Another option to consider is to get 2 smaller units and network them so one is mounted at the bow.

Or a single unit at the helm..and a Wifi to an ipad at the bow using a bracket..etc.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 08-31-2014 at 10:01 AM.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 08-31-2014, 09:27 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location:
Posts: 580
Default

I used to have a LCX-113 mounted on the dash so that I could swivel it... I never bothered.

Now I have a HDS-12 which I decided to flush mount so that I don't feel compelled to unhook it after every trip. I know it can still be stolen, but it would take take more time and make more noise doing it.

I'm happier with the flush mount.

The Sonic hub is a nice solution, but I see a lot of people hooking up dedicated controls for them because it takes some training for other people to use... I think the way to go is to just get a Fusion radio that can be controled from the mfd over NMEA2000 like a SonicHub if you do desire, but also has the dedicated front panel controls that most people seem to prefer.
brcarls is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 09:29 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Midwest
Posts: 179
Default

I am using 2 lowrance hds 9 gen 2 touch units. 1 is in dash and the other on the bow. I have a sonar hub and the tm150m and lss2 . I can share the transducers with both units as well as the motorguide xi5 trolling motors'transducer. There is also a cable coming out to allow me to "autopilot" the trolling motor.

1 more thing that might be cheaper for you. Mount the hds 12 in dash, purchase a lowrance go free module. You can than and use an ipad or other tablet at the bow and share screens
Hollowhill is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 09:45 AM
  #11  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Destin, FL area
Posts: 38
Default

Originally Posted by Hollowhill View Post
I am using 2 lowrance hds 9 gen 2 touch units. 1 is in dash and the other on the bow. I have a sonar hub and the tm150m and lss2 . I can share the transducers with both units as well as the motorguide xi5 trolling motors'transducer. There is also a cable coming out to allow me to "autopilot" the trolling motor.

1 more thing that might be cheaper for you. Mount the hds 12 in dash, purchase a lowrance go free module. You can than and use an ipad or other tablet at the bow and share screens
I've thought about the go free module. But how do I hold an iPad in my hand while fishing?

How did mount the HDS 9 in the bow? Do you have a picture? I am definitely curious about this.
AFBoggy is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 01:48 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kingston, TN, USA and Plash Island, AL
Posts: 4,400
Default

AF, are you going to mount and use a trolling motor on your bay boat? Unlike some folks, I am not a fan of the MotorGuide, but have two bay boats with HDS units in the console; I thought I would swivel the 10" unit, so I mounted it on a RAM mount. The RAM is great, but swiveling the HDS never worked well for me, so I went with an additional 7" unit on the bow with a hockey puck transducer on the MinnKota. I have been pleased with this, but my winter project is to figure out how to switch views on the bow unit, and show the trolling motor transducer when I'm running the MinnKota, and the stern transducer view when the trolling motor is not deployed.
weatherman is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 06:12 PM
  #13  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Destin, FL area
Posts: 38
Default

Originally Posted by weatherman View Post
AF, are you going to mount and use a trolling motor on your bay boat? Unlike some folks, I am not a fan of the MotorGuide, but have two bay boats with HDS units in the console; I thought I would swivel the 10" unit, so I mounted it on a RAM mount. The RAM is great, but swiveling the HDS never worked well for me, so I went with an additional 7" unit on the bow with a hockey puck transducer on the MinnKota. I have been pleased with this, but my winter project is to figure out how to switch views on the bow unit, and show the trolling motor transducer when I'm running the MinnKota, and the stern transducer view when the trolling motor is not deployed.
I am going to mount a Minn Kota. I was planning on setting an iPad on the console and facing it towards the bow to see how well I could resolve its images before I made a decision on electronics. But that is interesting it didn't work for you, I will take note of that.

How do people mount fishfinder display units on the bow close to the trolling motor? This is what I don't understand. Does anyone have a picture of this?
AFBoggy is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 07:51 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Midwest
Posts: 179
Default

I will post a pic Tuesday once i get back to my office. The motorguide xi5 is everything i thought it would be. Once the autopilot feature comes out it will change the face of shoreline casting forever.
Hollowhill is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 02:59 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Midwest
Posts: 179
Default

Pictures of bow mounted Lowrance and Motorguide trolling motor. Picture is deceiving in that i have about 3 inches of clearance behind the Lowrance unit. There is no interference between the x2 units. They work flawlessly together. Another option is for you to move the Lowrance to the right on top of the gunnel. I was luck in that i had a large bow pulpit.
Name:  image.jpg
Views: 2188
Size:  307.2 KB

Last edited by Hollowhill; 09-02-2014 at 03:03 PM. Reason: Add mor info
Hollowhill is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 03:06 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Midwest
Posts: 179
Default

One more picture.
Attached Images  
Hollowhill is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 06:32 PM
  #17  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Destin, FL area
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks! looks neat.
AFBoggy is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread