Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad AP14H Rudder Calibration

Old 08-30-2014, 07:09 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 45
Default Simrad AP14H Rudder Calibration

Any advise appreciated. I have a AP14H unit installed and it will not go into rudder calibration mode. Not sure what I'm missing here. I have monitored the SLF12 output to the SCP12 while trying to enter calibration mode (I do this so I can set the appropriate limits) and the SCP12 just won't go into rudder calibration. I've held down both port and strb keys and then powered up and nothing, no calibration mode. What is the trick here? All input to the SCP12 have been check, they're all clean and steady. Has anyone else had issues like this and what have they done other then to buy another pilot. Thanks in advance.
saywot is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 05:16 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,462
Default

Check the flashing pattern for the LED under the autopilot computer cable cover, decode using the table below.

Name:  Screenshot_2014-08-31-13-13-37_zpsldz5sgqa.png
Views: 92
Size:  135.1 KB
abbor is online now  
Old 08-31-2014, 06:26 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 45
Default

Thank you Abbor,
Since it doesn't go into calibration mode and therefore doesn't have stored valves, when I press arrow keys nothing happens.When I press the autopilot key the scp12 flashes 8 times. I tried disconnecting different parts of the system (eg compass module, head unit) and the scp12 flashes accordingly. I have 3 scp12s, one has a calibration in it that I can make work but none of them will enter rudder calibration mode. At this point I'm think it would be awesome if someone had a system which could verify this concern if I shipped them a scp12. The calibration that would work best for me is as followes: 1.45 to 3.45 center at 2.45...I'm using a smartstick with 5v regulator however, I've also tried this calibration with SFL12 and a variable power supply and nothing works. Any ideas? Have you ever had issues enter rudder calibration mode?
saywot is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 07:21 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,462
Default

It starts to become a quite some time since I had AP14H and much longer since I did the calibration, but I think I remember having problems entering calibration mode with SFC14, SFC12 which I also had was a much safer choice for controlling the commissioning.
abbor is online now  
Old 08-31-2014, 09:32 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 45
Default

Yes, I must be missing something. I have both head units SFC12 and SHC14 and 3 SCP12 and nothing works when it comes to entering rudder calibration mode. The SCP12 must have very narrow requirements to enter calibration mode but what those are, I have no idea cause it seems like I'm tried everything and nothing works. Thanks again for your insight if you remember anything else please let me know.

Last edited by saywot; 08-31-2014 at 05:33 PM.
saywot is offline  
Old 08-31-2014, 05:21 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 45
Default

I believe my concern may lie with in the SHC14 and/or the PC500. I thought I had a SFC12 but it is really a PC500 which is a Navico powerpilot just like the simrad SFC12 but perhaps not exactly the same; does anyone know if they are interchangeable? From what I can tell they don't seem like they are since I can't get into rudder cal mode.

The SHC14 I have may have prototype software. If anyone has a SHC14 or SFC12 in good working order and wants to sell it please let me know. Assuming it works I would be very interested in purchasing.

I do have a PC500 that works so if anyone is interested in it I would sell for a good price.

Last edited by saywot; 08-31-2014 at 05:32 PM.
saywot is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 06:51 AM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 45
Default

Couldn't believe how quickly the PC500 sold. Again if anyone has a simrad shc14 they aren't using perhaps we can make a deal.
saywot is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread