Notices

Hummingbird 998c transducer ?

Old 08-28-2014, 08:15 AM
  #1  
ALB
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,391
Default Hummingbird 998c transducer ?

What transuducer are you running with your Hummingbird 998c with the side scan sonar? I have the transom mount and unfortunately I cant read bottom above 18kts. I have been looking at thru hull transducers like a B164 or B60 something similar.

I want to switch from the transom mount to a thru hull but dont know which one works best...? Boat is a Mako 21 that gets mainly used in the Chesapeake Bay but will travel to NC and offshore a few trips a year.

Any help is appreciated.

Thx
ALB is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 09:13 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homosassa, FL
Posts: 1,403
Default

I have a 998 with both the stock side imaging transducer and a B60. The B60 has about twice the sensitivity of the Humminbird. I rarely fish in more than 70'. If you don't fish deeper than 150', the B60 is all you would need. It will track bottom down to at least 400', but seeing fish and discriminating bottom at that depth isn't very good. You can get a switch from Humminbird that lets you select either transducer. As long as you are using 200 MHz, you don't need to go to setup and select a different transducer each time you switch.

Interestingly, my stock transom mount Humminbird transducer will actually track bottom at higher speeds (35 mph) than the B60 (25 mph) ever since I added a SternMate extension that puts it in clean water. But the B60 never gets fouled by weeds, which can be a problem with any transom mount transducer.
DocStressor is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 11:43 AM
  #3  
ALB
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,391
Default

Thanks Doc.

One of the problems I have is my boat is wet slipped so the hummingbird transducer does get a little growth on now and then that I clean off best I can every weekend. I also have it mounted as low as possible to get clean water.

The deepest water the boat will see is 600' max and that may only be one or two trips a year. I'll have to check out the SternMate extension.
ALB is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 03:38 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North NJ & Barnegat Bay
Posts: 6,316
Default

Originally Posted by ALB View Post
Thanks Doc.

One of the problems I have is my boat is wet slipped so the hummingbird transducer does get a little growth on now and then that I clean off best I can every weekend. I also have it mounted as low as possible to get clean water.

The deepest water the boat will see is 600' max and that may only be one or two trips a year. I'll have to check out the SternMate extension.
If u delete the HB ducer u will lose SI and DI. I have the selector switch and it works great. My second ducer.is.a shoot thru and I read bottom 60 mph WOT.
pastaman1234 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 06:31 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 943
Default

Originally Posted by ALB View Post
What transuducer are you running with your Hummingbird 998c with the side scan sonar? I have the transom mount and unfortunately I cant read bottom above 18kts. I have been looking at thru hull transducers like a B164 or B60 something similar.

I want to switch from the transom mount to a thru hull but dont know which one works best...? Boat is a Mako 21 that gets mainly used in the Chesapeake Bay but will travel to NC and offshore a few trips a year.

Any help is appreciated.

Thx
I have been using the Bird 997c machine since it came out and have logged over 4,600hrs of use on the unit. SI & 2D sonar reads perfectly all the way up to 40mph=WOT. Might you have photos of how you have it mounted? Perhaps a solution could be seen.
NIGHTIDES is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 11:14 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 5,479
Default

Originally Posted by ALB View Post
Thanks Doc.

One of the problems I have is my boat is wet slipped so the hummingbird transducer does get a little growth on now and then that I clean off best I can every weekend. I also have it mounted as low as possible to get clean water.

The deepest water the boat will see is 600' max and that may only be one or two trips a year. I'll have to check out the SternMate extension.
So you have flat bottom hull or stepped? My Regulator had a integrated bracket and about 2" step where I mounted it. My cat is flat so I made this. I used transducer bottom paint but it didn't work well and I think it made the transducer crack at the seam.
I also had a 997 w/ the 1kw transducer and it was MUCH better than the one that came with the 998.
I'd made it motorized for fun just switched it to manual raising and lowering.



here's the one I settled on. It stays put when put down even without tightening the screw.
Capttater is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 06:40 AM
  #7  
ALB
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,391
Default

Originally Posted by NIGHTIDES View Post
I have been using the Bird 997c machine since it came out and have logged over 4,600hrs of use on the unit. SI & 2D sonar reads perfectly all the way up to 40mph=WOT. Might you have photos of how you have it mounted? Perhaps a solution could be seen.
I'll try to get some as the boat is in the water and I doubt it comes out this weekend .

It is mounted almost all the way down on the stbd side of the transom. I have a standard transom with a 20 degree deadrise.
ALB is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 06:42 AM
  #8  
ALB
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 1,391
Default

Originally Posted by pastaman1234 View Post
If u delete the HB ducer u will lose SI and DI. I have the selector switch and it works great. My second ducer.is.a shoot thru and I read bottom 60 mph WOT.
Def not looking to get rid of the HB ducer now but wanted to add something if I needed it. What shoot thru ducer do you have? Top speed on my rig is 40kts haha...
ALB is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 10:15 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homosassa, FL
Posts: 1,403
Default

He won't be able to see bottom at 600 ft with the stock transducer. It will lock onto the thermocline, jellyfish, or anything else it sees down there once you get to 300-400 ft and display that as bottom. That's why I got the Airmar transducer.

But I agree that you can almost always get the stock transducer to read at speed by finding the right spot to mount it.
DocStressor is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 03:26 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North NJ & Barnegat Bay
Posts: 6,316
Default

Originally Posted by ALB View Post
Def not looking to get rid of the HB ducer now but wanted to add something if I needed it. What shoot thru ducer do you have? Top speed on my rig is 40kts haha...
Not sure. Original owner said 1000 watt but I think it's a 600 watt. Works great regardless. Call HB customer service. They're great to deal with.
pastaman1234 is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 03:29 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North NJ & Barnegat Bay
Posts: 6,316
Default

Originally Posted by NIGHTIDES View Post
I have been using the Bird 997c machine since it came out and have logged over 4,600hrs of use on the unit. SI & 2D sonar reads perfectly all the way up to 40mph=WOT. Might you have photos of how you have it mounted? Perhaps a solution could be seen.
I have never seen SI/DI work at 40 mph. Please post pics.
pastaman1234 is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 08:54 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 943
Default

Originally Posted by pastaman1234 View Post
I have never seen SI/DI work at 40 mph. Please post pics.
I never took pictures at that speed but will take some then post...! And yes she really does work at that speed..
NIGHTIDES is offline  
Old 09-02-2014, 10:04 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North NJ & Barnegat Bay
Posts: 6,316
Default

Originally Posted by NIGHTIDES View Post
I never took pictures at that speed but will take some then post...! And yes she really does work at that speed..
Believe that your 2D will work well at that speed but not SI and DI. Looking forward to the pics.
pastaman1234 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread