Notices

HDS 7 Gen 2 StructureScan

Old 08-28-2014, 07:10 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: southeast, PA
Posts: 1,369
Default HDS 7 Gen 2 StructureScan

I had a marina put a HDS 7 Gen 2 HD with Structure scan on my boat last fall when they winterized it I was not very happy with the work from the marina. I am having trouble accessing the side scan. I just don't have an option when scrolling though my views. Any ideas what is causing this? Could the structure scan transducer just be hooked up wrong? What should I be looking for?

I've had a busy summer and most of my fishing has been in shallow water so I haven't felt the need to get into this project till now.
chad13 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 07:45 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 76
Default

can you get downscan?

If YES: Make downscan your active page, go to menu and there should be an option that says Left, Right, Both, Down (or something like that)

I have a 9 touch so I am not 100% sure what your menus look like.

If NO: Other problem
ebroesicke is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 07:45 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

When you are powered up, what are the lights on the structure scan box doing?
stiletto is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 08:09 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: southeast, PA
Posts: 1,369
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
When you are powered up, what are the lights on the structure scan box doing?
I will look at this this afternoon.

I can not get down scan on the menu. It is like the system does not even have that option.
chad13 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 08:10 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: southeast, PA
Posts: 1,369
Default

Also, It doesn't correctly read water temperature. Did I mention I wasn't happy with the the place that installed it?
chad13 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 08:46 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 76
Default

Well that might rule out just a menu option.

You are in good hands with the experts on this site, should have it figured out in no time.

Where are you in SE PA? I'm in Bethlehem. Not quite SE, but close.
ebroesicke is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 09:26 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: southeast, PA
Posts: 1,369
Default

Valley Forge
chad13 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 09:41 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

My thought right now is the yellow trigger wire from your HDS is not connected to the yellow turn on wire for your LSS2. If it is hooked up, the LSS2 has lights that will flash to indicate status if there is a problem.
stiletto is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 09:57 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 654
Default

If you're not happy, don't settle... I run the same unit and when I added in the Structure Scan I had my guy out three times to trouble shoot, the third time he finally just brought a new SS unit and that did the trick. It seems like you have to weed through a lot of problems (and units in my case) to get these dialed in, but once you do its worth it.

Since I got it working properly I have been very happy with the functionality of the SS. When it finally worked... it worked great. Paid for itself in a few trips when the bait was hanging low, and the structure that shows up is very impressive. Great addition to any HDS.
210VenturaForShura is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 10:33 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: southeast, PA
Posts: 1,369
Default

Originally Posted by 210VenturaForShura View Post
If you're not happy, don't settle... I run the same unit and when I added in the Structure Scan I had my guy out three times to trouble shoot, the third time he finally just brought a new SS unit and that did the trick. It seems like you have to weed through a lot of problems (and units in my case) to get these dialed in, but once you do its worth it.

Since I got it working properly I have been very happy with the functionality of the SS. When it finally worked... it worked great. Paid for itself in a few trips when the bait was hanging low, and the structure that shows up is very impressive. Great addition to any HDS.
Yes normally I wouldn't but this was special conditions. I buy the boat of the marina's broker which is 4 hours drive away while waiting for the paperwork to go through I have them install the unit and they gave me a good labor price and Unit price was on par with every other place. I end up going though a lot of heart ache to get my boat in my name and off their lot. Finally that's all done I find this problem. Which in my mind is not worth the effort to deal with them. Also, it would be cheaper to pay some one locally to fix it then to trailer it back to that marina.
chad13 is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 12:07 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal, HB
Posts: 540
Default

Good idea to not take it back to them, try the thing the guys on here are telling you to try, read the installation manual, look for articles on the web and you should figure it out. Calling Lowrance would also be a good idea as they can be very helpful in diagnosing your problem, best to call them if you are in your boat with the units on.
mossbackinsocal is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 12:07 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE North Carolina
Posts: 930
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
My thought right now is the yellow trigger wire from your HDS is not connected to the yellow turn on wire for your LSS2. If it is hooked up, the LSS2 has lights that will flash to indicate status if there is a problem.
This ^^^
I had the same problem when mine was first hooked up, i.e. StructureScan not even showing up as an alternative page (screen). Problem was that yellow wire that was not hooked up to a switched circuit. One quick connection and it was all good.
woodygo is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 02:11 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: southeast, PA
Posts: 1,369
Default

Well it was the yellow wire that was not connected now that I got that fixed any idea what the blue wire is for?
chad13 is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 03:34 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Originally Posted by chad13 View Post
Well it was the yellow wire that was not connected now that I got that fixed any idea what the blue wire is for?
Blue wire is there to confuse you. Nothing more.
stiletto is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 04:46 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 402
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
Blue wire is there to confuse you. Nothing more.

Excellent Point.
fshmn is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 07:33 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bluffton, SC
Posts: 494
Default

Just to clear a couple things up for others who might be reading:

That wasn't a joke, the blue wire truly serves no purpose and is not to be connected to anything. Perhaps it is for future development and they wanted a legacy compatible connector with an extra signal, or perhaps it serves some purpose to the manufacturer or service center. But for the end user, it is not used.

Also, the yellow wire ("ignition sense") can be connected to the yellow wire on the HDS unit, or it could alternatively be wired to a panel switch. That's how I set mine up, so that I can easily toggle the LSS on or off. Why? Sometimes I keep my main unit on while fishing when the motor is off, but don't want the side scan running. I don't know that the 0.60-0.75 A draw is that significant, but all the little things add up. (Livewell, sonar, gps, vhf, stereo, lighting...) And when you are sitting at anchor, the side scan image is pretty much the same streak continuously, unless bait comes along, which I can just as easily see with the main sounder.
redphish is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread