Notices

Garmin sidevu,downvu

Old 08-28-2014, 04:29 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Venice Fl/ Branchport NY
Posts: 61
Default Garmin sidevu,downvu

Installed my garmin 1040xs with thru hull chirp (from SemperFi) with Gil's great advice.
I have a 23' ProLine with Suzuki225.
Going to now move up to GVC 10 capability.
What is the best and most reasonable ducer solution thinking that the transom mount would be partially obstructed on one side when engine is down.

Is there enough room with engine trimmed if ducer was positioned close to drain plug?

Thanks guys for input
captan Jimbo
Captain Jimbo is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 09:10 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 265
Default

If you can, post a pic of your transom and I am sure you will get some suggestions. The Sidescan transducer should not me mounted directly in front of the OB motor as it will cause the prop to cavitate. I have mine mounted approx 12" off the port side keel line and it works very well up to 30kts in calm water, however my OB motor is set back 30" (bracket mounted).
spearfish III is offline  
Old 08-28-2014, 09:22 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,711
Default

Originally Posted by Captain Jimbo View Post
Installed my garmin 1040xs with thru hull chirp (from SemperFi) with Gil's great advice.
I have a 23' ProLine with Suzuki225.
Going to now move up to GVC 10 capability.
What is the best and most reasonable ducer solution thinking that the transom mount would be partially obstructed on one side when engine is down.

Is there enough room with engine trimmed if ducer was positioned close to drain plug?

Thanks guys for input
captan Jimbo


Keep in mind you can also install 2 transom mounted GCV 10 transducers if need.
One for port and one for starboard.Garmin has made it so that one will fire to starboard and the other fire to port if they are used with a "Y" cable.
I have already tried it..it works great.

Tom (Bluewaterpirate) got an extra GCV 10 transom unit a bit ago and has installed the pair also.

Link to
Toms post
http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...ransducer.html


Link to tom's screen shots.
http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...reenshots.html



And of course now the GCV 10 thru hull transducers are also available both as a single and as a pair.

Link to the thu hull first look.
http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...p-gt30-th.html

Last edited by semperfifishing; 08-28-2014 at 10:51 PM.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 08-28-2014, 11:46 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 744
Default

Gil,

As we discussed, I'm wanting to get the 70s now and add the gvc10 later. It comes with its own sideview/downview/chirp transducer correct? Basically it's a transom mount all in one? Will I be able to mount it on a 21 degree deadrise hull or have to upgrade to.the dual transducers?
lakemonster1 is offline  
Old 08-29-2014, 12:02 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,711
Default

Originally Posted by lakemonster1 View Post
Gil,

As we discussed, I'm wanting to get the 70s now and add the gvc10 later. It comes with its own sideview/downview/chirp transducer correct? Basically it's a transom mount all in one? Will I be able to mount it on a 21 degree deadrise hull or have to upgrade to.the dual transducers?
Correct..
One of the GCV 10 options is with a single transom mounted ducer capable of DownVu / sideVu.
The deadrise is of no real concern for a transom mount....the closer to the centerline the better.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 08-29-2014, 03:47 AM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Venice Fl/ Branchport NY
Posts: 61
Default

All good thoughts. I guess I like the dual transom ducer a firing port and strbd. Do you need to do any programming to the unit to read both? I guess I,ll be calling you Gil
Jimbo
Captain Jimbo is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 12:53 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westville, KZN, South Africa
Posts: 564
Default

I was having a lot of problems with the Garmin SideVü quality on the opposite side to which the transducer was mounted on the transom, even when the 'line of sight' path was completely unobstructed.

I then moved the transducer to the centre of the hull near the keel line, unfortunately this is really in harms way:



The results were greatly improved, and with a bit of tweaking got it to read at high speed - +90kph and notice there is no darkening on the side.

Fishton is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 06:53 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: north carolina
Posts: 2,774
Default

Originally Posted by Fishton View Post
I was having a lot of problems with the Garmin SideVü quality on the opposite side to which the transducer was mounted on the transom, even when the 'line of sight' path was completely unobstructed.

I then moved the transducer to the centre of the hull near the keel line, unfortunately this is really in harms way:



The results were greatly improved, and with a bit of tweaking got it to read at high speed - +90kph and notice there is no darkening on the side.


would that be 60 mph ?
nodoubt is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 07:01 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: On the Flats
Posts: 7,199
Default

Originally Posted by Captain Jimbo View Post
All good thoughts. I guess I like the dual transom ducer a firing port and strbd. Do you need to do any programming to the unit to read both? I guess I,ll be calling you Gil
Jimbo
Garmin has a y adapter. Then the unit recognizes the dual set up.
Flatout71 is online now  
Old 09-05-2014, 07:03 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: On the Flats
Posts: 7,199
Default

Originally Posted by Fishton View Post
I was having a lot of problems with the Garmin SideVü quality on the opposite side to which the transducer was mounted on the transom, even when the 'line of sight' path was completely unobstructed.

I then moved the transducer to the centre of the hull near the keel line, unfortunately this is really in harms way:



The results were greatly improved, and with a bit of tweaking got it to read at high speed - +90kph and notice there is no darkening on the side.

Are you a transducer test pilot?
Flatout71 is online now  
Old 09-05-2014, 09:27 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,711
Default



GCV-10 and a GT30 thru hull transducer.....50 mph.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 09-05-2014, 10:34 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: north carolina
Posts: 2,774
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post


GCV-10 and a GT30 thru hull transducer.....50 mph.

transom mount at 40 mph ....heh showing fish and trees in 85ft of water
Attached Images  
nodoubt is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 05:47 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,452
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post


GCV-10 and a GT30 thru hull transducer.....50 mph.
Gil, 3 questions. What unit is this screenshot from? 25.8 volts? Last, but most important for me, how do you get the current time to display? I have the 1040xs and one of the only complaints is that I cannot get the current time to display on the sonar screens. Has there been an update that I missed or has the capability been there all along and I just don't know what I'm doing? (sorry, that was 4 questions)

And I get very similar performance out of mine, but my boat runs at about 45mph W.O.T.
FishLife is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 08:44 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,452
Default

OK, Gil. I went to the Garmin website looking for updates and after updating my unit with the latest version of software, I managed to answer 3 of my questions. The only one remaining is about the 25.8 volts.
FishLife is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 09:50 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,711
Default

Originally Posted by FishLife View Post
OK, Gil. I went to the Garmin website looking for updates and after updating my unit with the latest version of software, I managed to answer 3 of my questions. The only one remaining is about the 25.8 volts.
The voltage reading is correct..
That unit was used on a bass boat with a 24 V. trolling motor..thus the higher voltage source reading.

Same with the shot below...25 v.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 09-07-2014 at 10:05 AM.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 09-07-2014, 12:57 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,452
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
The voltage reading is correct..
That unit was used on a bass boat with a 24 V. trolling motor..thus the higher voltage source reading.

Same with the shot below...25 v.
I guess that I didn't know that these units could handle twice the recommended voltage without damage.
FishLife is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 01:43 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,011
Default

They can be used on boats that use 24V system voltage.
voltage range is usually 9-32
keizerh is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 08:22 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westville, KZN, South Africa
Posts: 564
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post


GCV-10 and a GT30 thru hull transducer.....50 mph.
Hi Gill,

Why does your SideVü look so dull?
Fishton is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 09:23 PM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,711
Default

Originally Posted by Fishton View Post
Hi Gill,

Why does your SideVü look so dull?
That is because the boat is going 50 mph !
No system will show detail at that speed...
That shot is just for fun...

Last edited by semperfifishing; 09-07-2014 at 10:44 PM.
semperfifishing is online now  
Old 09-08-2014, 07:33 AM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westville, KZN, South Africa
Posts: 564
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
That is because the boat is going 50 mph !
No system will show detail at that speed...
That shot is just for fun...
My screenshot was at 60mph with a single transducer, just repositioned to the centre of the hull.
Fishton is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread