Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Need advise Raymarine or Garmin????

Old 08-26-2014, 07:14 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advise Raymarine or Garmin????

Hello All,
I would like your advice on what to do regarding my GPS equipment. Right now I
have a 2005 Glacier Bay Canyon Runner 2360. It has a Raymarine c80, DSM300 , a Raymarine radar(not working) and an Airmar p66( I think, transducer). The Raymarine is
always acting up (really old maps and GPS guidance inaccuracy. It often goes through shallow areas or toward land when following coordinates) Both the DSM and the
transducer are almost brand new. I use the boat mostly for pleasure and some
fishing (no more than 200 feet). My main concern is the GPS. Based on what I have, do you think I should replace the Raymarine with a newer Raymarine unit and radar, or should I buy a
Garmin Chartplottler bundle and start from scratch? I have asked a couple of members in the parts forum and get different answers depending on what they have for sale. I really appreciate your honest advise.
Thanks.
Old 08-26-2014, 08:10 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Posts: 2,760
Received 156 Likes on 116 Posts
Default

Really is a personal decision as the capability of both manufacturers - based on your needs - are pretty much the same. Do you have experience and familiarity with one vs. the other? If so, and you like it go that direction. I'm a Garmin guy, but only because I have used their machines for years and "get" their user interface.

If no experience either way, go to YouTube - or a boat show - and get some first hand experience with both to help you make a decision. Again, you won't get vastly different functionality, just a different user interface.
Old 08-27-2014, 08:47 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot for your prompt response. My only experience is with the Raymarine. In this case ismatter of money. I can only buy the Raymarine radar and chartplotter since I already have the transducer and dsm300. I can also discard them all and buy a new Garmin, but doing that, I would have to start from scratch.
Old 08-27-2014, 10:00 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Go mess around with them in a store. While you are there, try other brands too. They will all give you a rocking system in the end, but you might gravitate towards a particular one. The Garmin has a sonar built in, so only thing starting over means is replacing a transducer.
Old 08-27-2014, 10:57 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,708
Received 585 Likes on 281 Posts
Default

Garmin 1040xs x 2 if you can afford it.

Garmin Radar dome 24"
Old 08-27-2014, 01:03 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL.
Posts: 1,615
Received 259 Likes on 142 Posts
Default

Garmin
Old 08-27-2014, 02:25 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

No brainer...buy a new A C or E series and plug your DSM in with your transducer.That's wat we did.Love the new Raymarine.The DSM will need an adaptor cable.We have the Navionics platinum plus...you can also download NOAA vector and rastor charts for free from the Raymarine web site.You can also hook a Cp100 and the new CP 200 with your DSM 300 and view traditional sonar,chirp down vision and also side vision all at the same time...You need to make sure Your new plotter has the New Lighthouse 2 11.26 software.. Installed in it.We use our Raymarine to make a living.It's very nice.Capt.Mike
Old 08-27-2014, 02:28 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nokomis, Florida
Posts: 1,402
Received 124 Likes on 76 Posts
Default

eBay the Raymarine and use the funds to offset the purchase of a Garmin or Simrad system.
Old 08-27-2014, 02:30 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,102
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by worldcat 2000 View Post
No brainer...buy a new A C or E series and plug your DSM in with your transducer.That's wat we did.Love the new Raymarine.The DSM will need an adaptor cable.We have the Navionics platinum plus...you can also download NOAA vector and rastor charts for free from the Raymarine web site.You can also hook a Cp100 and the new CP 200 with your DSM 300 and view traditional sonar,chirp down vision and also side vision all at the same time...You need to make sure Your new plotter has the New Lighthouse 2 11.26 software.. Installed in it.We use our Raymarine to make a living.It's very nice.Capt.Mike
Yup- +1. The latest RM machines are world class. Further, integration with the new Evolution autopilot systems and FLIR gear is excellent.

No need to reinvent the wheel.
Old 08-27-2014, 02:35 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Panhandle, FL
Posts: 2,693
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

It's my understanding that the transducers will adapt easily.

Raymarine has something "like" chirp but, it seems to not be chirp.
Raymarine updates at roughly 5hz, Garmin 10Hz

Garmin 1040xs units now are fully networkable and they do not require the black box. I would strongly recommend Garmin.
1-1040
1-1020 as you only need one map as they now mirror and waypoints sync.
1-18xHD radome for 48 mile capability

Just me though. Gibert Travis on this site username (semperfi or something very close to that)
Old 08-27-2014, 02:45 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 123
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Forgot to add the Raymarine also has Wi-Fi you can down load AP'S from the apple store to your mobil device.Ray view and Ray remote.Ray view you can view anything currently on the display.Ray remote turns your device to a full scale remote,So you can change anything you want on the display.We went with the RMK9 remote key pad(200.00)You can run multiple displays from the key Pad.You never have to even touch the screens.Awesome!We also have the Evolution autopilot for our 50 mile runs offshore.Love it.Ray marine is coming look out.Capt.Mike
Old 08-27-2014, 02:54 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,102
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Marksnet View Post
It's my understanding that the transducers will adapt easily.

Raymarine has something "like" chirp but, it seems to not be chirp.
Raymarine updates at roughly 5hz, Garmin 10Hz


Garmin 1040xs units now are fully networkable and they do not require the black box. I would strongly recommend Garmin.
1-1040
1-1020 as you only need one map as they now mirror and waypoints sync.
1-18xHD radome for 48 mile capability

Just me though. Gibert Travis on this site username (semperfi or something very close to that)
What are you talking about (bolded text)? Can you provide proof of your statement?

Bias towards a manufacturer doesn't count.
Old 08-27-2014, 03:10 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Panhandle, FL
Posts: 2,693
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pau-hana View Post
What are you talking about (bolded text)? Can you provide proof of your statement?

Bias towards a manufacturer doesn't count.
Haha,, My bad..

Correction Raymarine has ChIRP powered by Dragonfly.

I was operating on the fly. Texting and driving. Using the THT rule of estimates.


The unit does refresh at 5hz per second as I understand it. You are welcome to prove me wrong. I won't be offended either
Old 08-27-2014, 03:14 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,446
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Marksnet View Post
Haha,, My bad..

Correction Raymarine has ChIRP powered by Dragonfly.

I was operating on the fly. Texting and driving. Using the THT rule of estimates.


The unit does refresh at 5hz per second as I understand it. You are welcome to prove me wrong. I won't be offended either

I think your description of DragonFly in the previous post was quite accurate

But you forgot the fact that Raymarine has a 2-channel CHIRP sounder, CP450i, which we seldom hear about.
Old 08-27-2014, 03:22 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Panhandle, FL
Posts: 2,693
Likes: 0
Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
I think your description of DragonFly in the previous post was quite accurate

But you forgot the fact that Raymarine has a 2-channel CHIRP sounder, CP450i, which we seldom hear about.
I will sit in time out accordingly for the next 10 minutes.
Old 08-27-2014, 05:47 PM
  #16  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,874
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Raymarine now has overlay like Garmin, as of two weeks ago.
Old 08-27-2014, 05:49 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 6,292
Received 4,141 Likes on 1,940 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bono69 View Post
Hello All,
I would like your advice on what to do regarding my GPS equipment. Right now I
have a 2005 Glacier Bay Canyon Runner 2360. It has a Raymarine c80, DSM300 , a Raymarine radar(not working) and an Airmar p66( I think, transducer). The Raymarine is
always acting up (really old maps and GPS guidance inaccuracy. It often goes through shallow areas or toward land when following coordinates) Both the DSM and the
transducer are almost brand new. I use the boat mostly for pleasure and some
fishing (no more than 200 feet). My main concern is the GPS. Based on what I have, do you think I should replace the Raymarine with a newer Raymarine unit and radar, or should I buy a
Garmin Chartplottler bundle and start from scratch? I have asked a couple of members in the parts forum and get different answers depending on what they have for sale. I really appreciate your honest advise.
Thanks.
I have a couple of low end Raymarine Plotters on my boat. One the A70D linked with the SR50 to provide Sirius WX and the other the newer a65 touch screen. I also have a DS500 bottom machine. I mostly dive shipwrecks and both machines do an excellent job of getting me directly over WRECK the #s and getting me to and from home often in the dark & fog . The bottom machine on the A70D has been flawless with a solid lock on the bottom at all speeds and depths. I have the a65 networked with my Evolution 200 autopilot and they work fantastic together.

The .3 depth difference on the bottom machine displays is due to the transducer that supports the A70D being mounted deeper along the hull.

Garmin products seem to be the favorite on THT but I do not have any complaints with Raymarine stuff I own.
Attached Images  

Last edited by Mpellet; 08-27-2014 at 06:01 PM.
Old 08-27-2014, 05:51 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,897
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Very clean set up...
Old 08-27-2014, 06:53 PM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,002
Received 1,507 Likes on 795 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bono69 View Post
Hello All,
I would like your advice on what to do regarding my GPS equipment. Right now I
have a 2005 Glacier Bay Canyon Runner 2360. It has a Raymarine c80, DSM300 , a Raymarine radar(not working) and an Airmar p66( I think, transducer). The Raymarine is
always acting up (really old maps and GPS guidance inaccuracy. It often goes through shallow areas or toward land when following coordinates) Both the DSM and the
transducer are almost brand new. I use the boat mostly for pleasure and some
fishing (no more than 200 feet). My main concern is the GPS. Based on what I have, do you think I should replace the Raymarine with a newer Raymarine unit and radar, or should I buy a
Garmin Chartplottler bundle and start from scratch? I have asked a couple of members in the parts forum and get different answers depending on what they have for sale. I really appreciate your honest advise.
Thanks.
I have almost the exact Raymarine set up as you have, we call it Retarded Ray. This winter going to replace all the Raymarine with Garmin.

No way I would buy Raymarine again for any reason.
Old 08-28-2014, 08:24 AM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Myers, Fl
Posts: 1,791
Received 94 Likes on 69 Posts
Default

We have a Garmin and Raymarine, I would have switched to a full raymarine system except my 4000 waypoints are in the Garmin format. Just switched out our e127 with a new A128 and it is an incredible unit. The A9X and A12X series has a 10hz refresh rate, the newer raymarine products are very nice.

We added the cpt100 in addition to our cp300 and m260 tank for deep water, I can have three different fishfinders up on one screen and it is impressive to say the least.

Best bet, go into a local electronics store and play around with each of the units.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.