Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad system idea

Old 08-26-2014, 09:04 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,002
Likes: 0
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Simrad system idea

This is my preliminary Simrad system idea (for a 23-25' center console). I may opt for larger displays and different transducers but for now I just have several questions regarding the connectivity and the use of a 2nd transducer in general. The NSS7evo2 is intended for navigation/autopilot only with the possible expansion of a B175W for shallow water if needed. The NSS9evo2 is for sonar/radar only but I may opt to add a heading sensor so I can overlay radar info onto the NSS7 chart if it’s possible.

Because the autopilot (AP24) uses NMEA2k, is there any use for an Ethernet connection between the displays? Should I just connect the NSS7 to autopilot then use Ethernet to connect the displays of just stick to NMEA2k?

In the future I may decide to add a second transducer if the 175M doesn’t cover shallow to 1000’ to my liking. I’ll of course run one at a time but while running the B175W, can I see it on the NSS9? Will I have to physically disconnect the transducer that’s not being used or can I simply shut off the sounder on one of the displays? I looked over the manual and didn’t find a way to shut the sounder off.

Thanks!
Attached Images  

Last edited by Xpac; 08-26-2014 at 11:27 AM.
Old 08-26-2014, 09:30 AM
  #2  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Just to help you out, the AP 24 is the control unit and is connected through SimNet, the AC 42 autopilot also connects via Simnet. So there a couple of options; you can set up both a N2K network & SimNet or just SimNet. We did the latter with Simrad's demo boat, so any of the units running a N2K connection (i.e. NSS and in your case the Icom) we used this MICRO-C TERMINATOR,N2K,METAL,FEMALE (000-10462-001) but if you want to keep everything N2K you can just use the conversion cable to make the AC42 to N2K.
Old 08-26-2014, 10:07 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Connecting them by ethernet will allow sharing of map chips between units, sharing radar, and sonar data. So your radar overlay idea won't work unless you hook them up by ethernet. If you have them hooked up by ethernet you can dipslay the two transducers on either screen. You probably have already thought about it, but you may want structure scan, and that will display on both screen if they are connected by ethernet. The only problem you will have is it is not so easy to connect those two displays up by ethernet because they both only have 1 ethernet port. You would have to get a network expander like a NEP2.
Old 08-26-2014, 10:08 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by mahimahi99 View Post
Just to help you out, the AP 24 is the control unit and is connected through SimNet, the AC 42 autopilot also connects via Simnet. So there a couple of options; you can set up both a N2K network & SimNet or just SimNet. We did the latter with Simrad's demo boat, so any of the units running a N2K connection (i.e. NSS and in your case the Icom) we used this MICRO-C TERMINATOR,N2K,METAL,FEMALE (000-10462-001) but if you want to keep everything N2K you can just use the conversion cable to make the AC42 to N2K.
Simrad has N2K versions of everything now too I believe.

N2K Autopilot
Old 08-26-2014, 10:25 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

It's not given you need AC42, most boats manage with AC12 autopilot computer.
Old 08-26-2014, 10:41 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,002
Likes: 0
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Thanks for the info everyone. Here's the updated drawing. The autopilot will likely be the last thing I add since I've lived without for years.
Forgot to erase the ?? for the ethernet.
Attached Images  
Old 08-26-2014, 10:56 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

If you don't already own the 424, you might want to look into the Simrad RS35 or RS12. They are NMEA2000 and will plug into the NMEA2000 backbone you area already creating for the Autopilot and heading sensor. Easier to hook up and make work than the 0183 connection. I think they also don't include the 0183 connection in the Simrad box also. I beleive you have to get the Video/0183 cable.
Old 08-26-2014, 10:59 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,002
Likes: 0
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I have a brand new 424 but I can always sell it. In fact it's been on the parts forum for a while. I'll update it. thanks!
Old 08-26-2014, 11:26 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

I would have considered a 4G radar instead of 3G, the 3G is nice, but the 4G is a major step up especially with NSS Evo2 which supports dual range with the 4G.
Old 08-26-2014, 11:27 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
I would have considered a 4G radar instead of 3G, the 3G is nice, but the 4G is a major step up especially with NSS Evo2 which supports dual range with the 4G.
x2

Better resolution, dual range, you'll have a lot more radar for a little more money.
Old 08-26-2014, 11:34 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,002
Likes: 0
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

It's an option but I wasn't sure it was worth the extra $ for a medium size center console since the dome wont be high enough to take advantage of the range capability. Better resolution is good though.
Old 08-26-2014, 11:51 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

The improved resolution and dual range is worth price difference.
Old 08-26-2014, 12:00 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Perdido Key
Posts: 6,399
Received 474 Likes on 340 Posts
Default

Great info and will be used fairly soon as well. Thanks for the post and as always, a thanks to Vidar.
Old 08-26-2014, 01:16 PM
  #14  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
Simrad has N2K versions of everything now too I believe.

N2K Autopilot
yeah I saw that, it's about time! Bunch of slackers
Old 08-26-2014, 01:48 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

It's been out for quite a while but in the start the micro-C versions of AC12, AC42 and RC42 where only available with B&G article numbers.
Old 08-26-2014, 01:57 PM
  #16  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
It's been out for quite a while but in the start the micro-C versions of AC12, AC42 and RC42 where only available with B&G article numbers.
Well if it's been out for a while then our Simrad/Navico rep dropped the ball then, because he never mentioned it and Simrad had sent us the SimNet version to rig in their Demo boat (last Sept.) or maybe they were just wanting to use up that version , but the only unit in the setup that required the N2K was the RS35 so we just used the N2K to SimNet cable. And they don't mention that version on their site, however it is listed here http://store.navico.com/Search/n2k
Old 08-26-2014, 02:14 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,430
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

AC12N, AC42N and RC42N where all listed in the 2013 B&G catalogue. The difference between the models is just a cable with Micro-C instead if SimNet. I have two boats with AP24, none of them with SimNet, I cut off one of the connectors of a NMEA 2000 cable and used this instead for AC12. For AP24 I used an adapter made from the SimNet cable shipped with AC12 together with a Maretron field attachable connector.
Old 08-27-2014, 09:44 AM
  #18  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
AC12N, AC42N and RC42N where all listed in the 2013 B&G catalogue.
Haha! I've never paid much attention to the B&G catalog, unless I had a Blow-boater looking for some stuff...guess I should've looked a little harder at that catalog .

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.