Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

How do I hook up GPS to my Yamaha command link plus?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

How do I hook up GPS to my Yamaha command link plus?

Old 07-17-2014, 07:34 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Morgan City, LA
Posts: 89
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default How do I hook up GPS to my Yamaha command link plus?

My boat came with this spare wire (see attached) that I think is for connecting GPS to the display to read true GPS speed.

I have Garmin 7212 chart plotters on my boat.

Anyone have an idea of how to use this wire to tie to the Garmin so I can read accurate GPS speed on the gauge?

Thank you for your help!
Attached Images  
Old 07-17-2014, 11:02 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,027
Received 305 Likes on 172 Posts
Default

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...ll-manual.html
Old 07-18-2014, 12:17 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Morgan City, LA
Posts: 89
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default


Thanks so much for the link. I completed the wiring using the attached diagram. Couldn't have been easier

Now, the only thing I'm having trouble with is finding where on the Command Link Plus display to switch over to read GPS as a speed input. Anyone have information that can help me?

Thank you!
Attached Images  
Old 07-18-2014, 01:36 PM
  #4  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Posts: 17,123
Received 1,318 Likes on 736 Posts
Default

I looked in the command link manual, and did not see anywhere it said to "turn on" the receiving GPS feed.

Are you sure it is connected correctly and that you have the NMEA013 sentences turned on in your GPS? I would think if the Command Link Plus "senses" the GPS feed, it would show either a small "GPS" or something in the corner (like the old style command link does).

I could also be very wrong.
Old 07-18-2014, 02:53 PM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Morgan City, LA
Posts: 89
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Joe View Post
I looked in the command link manual, and did not see anywhere it said to "turn on" the receiving GPS feed.

Are you sure it is connected correctly and that you have the NMEA013 sentences turned on in your GPS? I would think if the Command Link Plus "senses" the GPS feed, it would show either a small "GPS" or something in the corner (like the old style command link does).

I could also be very wrong.

Hi Joe, thanks for your input. I have not turned on anything in my Garmin 7212 chartplotter. Maybe this needs to be done? I could have been wrong in assuming that I had to select a speed source in my Command Link Plus unit?

I'm pretty certain I connected the wires properly. I connected the blue and white wires from my Yamaha GPS pig tail to the blue and white wire on my NEMA 0183 harness. I assume this is correct.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

Jerry
Old 07-18-2014, 03:09 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Morgan City, LA
Posts: 89
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Actually, now I'm second guessing my wiring job.....

I originally hooked up the wires shown with red dots in the image
White from Receiving port 1 to white wire on Yamaha GPS pigtail
and Blue from Transmitting Port 2 to blue wire on Yamaha GPS Pigtail


I now think that the correct wires should have been both from Transmitting Port 2:
blue wire to blue wire on Yamaha GPS pigtail
and blue/WHITE wire to white wire on Yamaha GPS pigtail


Can anyone please confirm?

Thank you!
Attached Images  
Old 07-18-2014, 03:21 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 308
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Garmin TX Port 1 Gray to Yamaha White and Pink to Yamaha blue

or

Garmin TX Port 2 Blue to Yamaha White and Blue/white to Yamaha blue
Old 07-18-2014, 04:11 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Morgan City, LA
Posts: 89
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by offshraddict View Post
Garmin TX Port 1 Gray to Yamaha White and Pink to Yamaha blue

or

Garmin TX Port 2 Blue to Yamaha White and Blue/white to Yamaha blue

Thanks very much! I have just wired it up just like this

Garmin TX Port 1 Gray to Yamaha White and Pink to Yamaha blue


Now, anything I need to set on my chart plotter?
Anything to set on the Command Link Plus display?

Thanks for your assistance!
Old 07-18-2014, 05:33 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

This would have been my guess

Old 07-18-2014, 05:51 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 308
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

In my experience with 6000, 7000, and 8000 series, pink is still used as NMEA 0183 TX negative. Not quite sure where this diagram is from. Garmin has steered away from using common grounds for units and NMEA
Old 07-18-2014, 05:52 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 308
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Common ground, (blk), may work, but makes for a hell of a time trying to troubleshoot issues in the future.
Old 07-19-2014, 07:47 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

The connection diagram is from Garmin. Page 12 from their installation manual.

http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/GP...Install_EN.pdf

Far be it from me to disagree with any manufacturer as to how his equipment should be connected. I follow the general rule of thumb, after all else fails, follow the directions.
Old 07-19-2014, 10:29 AM
  #13  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Posts: 17,123
Received 1,318 Likes on 736 Posts
Default

I used (garmin) black connecting my Garmin 741xs to my Command Link gauges (and my VHF)about 3 weeks ago. Worked perfect.
Old 07-19-2014, 03:43 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 308
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Joe, 741 uses common ground for NMEA where 6000/7000 typically use pairs. Gray being high(NMEA +), Pink being low(NMEA -).
Old 07-19-2014, 04:52 PM
  #15  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Isle of Palms, SC
Posts: 17,123
Received 1,318 Likes on 736 Posts
Default

From what I recall ,I did this on my 6208 (per Jethro's diagram) as well.
Old 07-19-2014, 08:36 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Joe View Post
From what I recall ,I did this on my 6208 (per Jethro's diagram) as well.
Not jethro's diagram. Garmin's diagram.

jethro is married and has learned to just follow directions.
Old 07-22-2014, 07:34 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ft Myers
Posts: 932
Likes: 0
Received 218 Likes on 96 Posts
Default

From what I understand yamaha mixed up there wires on the early models of the command link plus gauges so you might have to hook +- and -+
Old 07-22-2014, 07:42 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,054
Likes: 0
Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

That was a different wire harness. It was for a Command Link Fuel Management Meter.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.