Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Navionics Platinum + Satellite Overlay Question

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Navionics Platinum + Satellite Overlay Question

Old 07-15-2014, 10:49 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Navionics Platinum + Satellite Overlay Question

I am thinking about buying a Navionic Platinum + 651 chip or a Standard Mapping chip for my GPS. Does any one know if the Platinum + chips have a satellite overlay on the GPS, so when you are running on the water it shows like Google maps? I know Standard Mapping offers this, but they are pretty expensive compared to the Navionics.
Old 07-15-2014, 11:29 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tampa Bay Area of Florida
Posts: 5,650
Received 804 Likes on 474 Posts
Default

I just bought the 632P+ card, and it will overlay the satellite imagines on the map...It's a little challenging to see water depth, but I only played with it for 5-10 minutes, so there may be a way to make it more transparent or change the color of the mapping behind the overlay...It's really cool for looking at places that you've never been, such as marina's and waterfront restaurants, to check out the dock/slip situation...

I haven't had the boat on the water yet with the new chip, but it looks to me like you can leave the satellite overlay running, and it will show your location on the images, along with some of the chart details behind it...
Old 07-15-2014, 01:38 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Grand Isle or Houston
Posts: 873
Received 177 Likes on 110 Posts
Default

I run a 907P Navionics Platinum Plus. Really like the aerial overlay that you can adjust from 0 to 100% overlay. Much clearer zoom detail on my NSS12. 16GB chip

Testing the Standard Mapping e-card now -8GB chip. It is ok. Way better that stock, but I will stay with my 907P.

You should test them.
Old 07-15-2014, 02:17 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the feedback. I ended up getting the navionics chip from The GPS Store. I was going to buy from BOE, but they did not seem to want my business when I called with questions.
Old 07-15-2014, 06:40 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bayou Self, LA
Posts: 2,093
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Yes.
Old 07-16-2014, 04:04 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,611
Likes: 0
Received 203 Likes on 136 Posts
Default

When you put on the aerial imagery layer it will block the actual chart layer, unless you make it partially transparent. What we have found is people like to overlay the imagery on the chart when in real shallow creeks or flats like in FL. The charts don't have any info in these areas and the satellite imagery fills the void. Otherwise the satellite imagery is normally off if there is good chart detail.
Old 07-16-2014, 05:40 AM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
When you put on the aerial imagery layer it will block the actual chart layer, unless you make it partially transparent. What we have found is people like to overlay the imagery on the chart when in real shallow creeks or flats like in FL. The charts don't have any info in these areas and the satellite imagery fills the void. Otherwise the satellite imagery is normally off if there is good chart detail.
That's what I do here in South Louisiana also.

Ken
Old 07-16-2014, 10:21 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 1,011
Received 104 Likes on 71 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
When you put on the aerial imagery layer it will block the actual chart layer, unless you make it partially transparent. What we have found is people like to overlay the imagery on the chart when in real shallow creeks or flats like in FL. The charts don't have any info in these areas and the satellite imagery fills the void. Otherwise the satellite imagery is normally off if there is good chart detail.
X2! Matanzas Inlet here in N.E. Florida is unmarked. You need the satellite overlay to run it. For this reason alone, I stayed away from Garmin and their BlueCharts. Garmin is very selective in their satellite coverage.
Old 07-16-2014, 06:10 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bayou Self, LA
Posts: 2,093
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Me too. I primarily fish the marshes in south Louisiana or out to 20' of water east of the river. Either way, I really don't need chart details. I prefer satellite imagery.
Old 07-16-2014, 07:57 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 27 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Is the Platinum + sat overlay the same as their "3D" feature, or are they something else?

Also, can radar overlay be used at the same time, or does the clutter make that impractical?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.