Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad NSS Sonar

Old 07-15-2014, 06:48 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,250
Received 184 Likes on 104 Posts
Default Simrad NSS Sonar

I'm running a simrad NSS with a B60 to the built in sonar. It will hold bottom at cruise no problem. It will also show bottom up to probably 750' or so.

I'm not overly impressed with the detail of bottom structure with the built in sonar.

Would i see any performance increase if i stick with the B60 but upgraded to the BSM1 or BSM2 ?
Old 07-15-2014, 06:55 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by mrobertson View Post
I'm running a simrad NSS with a B60 to the built in sonar. It will hold bottom at cruise no problem. It will also show bottom up to probably 750' or so.

I'm not overly impressed with the detail of bottom structure with the built in sonar.

Would i see any performance increase if i stick with the B60 but upgraded to the BSM1 or BSM2 ?
No. The B60 is not a great bottom structure transducer. It has a wide cone angle which gives it good fish detection, but not great structure definition. The high frequency element shouldn't be too bad at 12 degrees, but at 700' you are dealing with a 45 degree low frequency element. Changing out your transducer would give you better structure definition. Keep in mind that improving your structure definition will also diminish your fish finding capability.
Old 07-15-2014, 10:43 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 980
Received 31 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

The BSM1 is the same circuit as the NSS8. There would be no change. The BSM 2 would be a waste on a B60.

I put both a B60 and TM260 on my boat. One for fish finding and one for bottom structure. I added a sonarhub to have both ducers connected simultaneously, but you could do the same by adding a BSM1.
Old 07-15-2014, 01:09 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,250
Received 184 Likes on 104 Posts
Default

I'm mainly wreck fishing in 120 - 200' .........perhaps i'm just not used to the picture. I replaced a raymarine e series classic that was running a DSM 300 and B60.

Or - perhaps i haven't played with the settings enough.
Old 07-15-2014, 02:08 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 980
Received 31 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

If you were happy with the Raymarine and B60, then you should be able to adjust the NSS to get the results you want. Make sure you are only looking at the 200khz beam and not the 45kHz as it is wider and will provide less detail.
Old 07-15-2014, 05:34 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

You might also want to think about adding structure scan.
Old 07-15-2014, 06:42 PM
  #7  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,912
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I agree with stiletto, if you keep the B60 for fish and add the StructureScan you'll be armed for both worlds and the fish won't have a chance

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.