Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance network

Old 07-13-2014, 04:43 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 316
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowrance network

I have the Lowrance gen. II HDS 8. I wants to add the EP 60 R fuel flow consumption sensor. I have two outboards and understand I would need to install two sensors one on each filter between the fuel filter and engine.
I have the unit mounted in a electronics box hung from the T Top and would need to chase a wire from the console up thru the T Top leg to the box.
My question is can I install the backbone in the console and run a single wire up to the head unit. There is no backbone as I'm only using the GPS and transducer at the moment.
The way I understand it is run all your accessories to the backbone and then have one lead going to the head unit and the backbone can be anywhere as long as the lead to the display unit is long enough. Correct?
I believe I have the blue connectors
Old 07-13-2014, 01:15 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 316
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the information. I'll shop around for the network items. Any place you know of with decent prices
Old 07-13-2014, 03:39 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,037
Received 604 Likes on 462 Posts
Default

And by the way, you will use the new black or red connectors on your network!

The blue NMEA2000 connectors were the old Lowrance ones from the pre-HDS era.

You may be confusing the lowrance blue power and transducer connections with the NMEA2000 connections.
Old 07-14-2014, 05:15 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,999
Likes: 0
Received 253 Likes on 206 Posts
Default

The way I understand it is run all your accessories to the backbone and then have one lead going to the head unit and the backbone can be anywhere as long as the lead to the display unit is long enough. Correct?
Incorrect. The length of any drop cable is limited to 6-meters, or about 19-feet.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.