Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

I'm still confused about Transducers. 741XS .. GCV10... is my M260 scrap now?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

I'm still confused about Transducers. 741XS .. GCV10... is my M260 scrap now?

Old 07-12-2014, 06:30 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,746
Received 695 Likes on 391 Posts
Default I'm still confused about Transducers. 741XS .. GCV10... is my M260 scrap now?

Ok, I upgraded my pair of 740S to a pair of 741XS.

Now, I notice I can't even plug in my M260 anywhere. (Wrong pinout - although I do have a breakout box, so could I get a new cable and rewire?)

I intend to buy (this week?) a GCV10 with transducer for the down/side view.

What do I do with my shoot-through M260? Is there any benefit to it? I've been very happy with it overall, especially with its ability to hold bottom while running...

Help me out, I'm a bit baffled even after reading all of Gil's posts and various discussion on the matter.
Old 07-12-2014, 06:33 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,895
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Congratulations on your upgrade...






The 741xs can fire your M260..you just need to use the 8 pin Garmin adapter...010-11613-00.
Your 740s used a 6 pin connector.....the adapter will let you use the M260 & 741xs 8 pin connection.

(If your M260 is a mix and match even easier...just change the cable to a MM1-DST-8G )


Here is the latest software also:

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...-8000-etc.html

Last edited by semperfifishing; 07-12-2014 at 07:37 PM.
Old 07-13-2014, 05:51 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,746
Received 695 Likes on 391 Posts
Default

Thanks Gil - the M260 I have is a mix-and-match - however, it looks like the garmin adapter might be cheaper than a new cable?!

If I add the GCV 10 (which I'm planning..) then how does the M260 fit into the system? Using that software update I'l connect the M260 directly to one of the units, and be able to select it while running?

Last edited by Flot; 07-13-2014 at 06:28 AM.
Old 07-13-2014, 08:34 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,895
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Correct.......connect the M260 to one of your units 8 pin plug.

Connect the GCV10 to both of the 741xs units via the network cables.

You now have the ability to show information from the GCV 10 and M260 either separately or at the same time if you like.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 07-13-2014 at 09:05 AM.
Old 07-13-2014, 12:58 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,746
Received 695 Likes on 391 Posts
Default

Thanks Gil. Will call you today or tomorrow to see about ordering what I need!

Last edited by Flot; 07-18-2014 at 04:40 PM.
Old 07-18-2014, 04:40 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,746
Received 695 Likes on 391 Posts
Default

Good talking to you today Gil, thanks for the help!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.