Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

HDS LOST DEPTH/SOUNDER Readings

Old 07-11-2014, 10:05 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HDS LOST DEPTH/SOUNDER Readings

Greetings,

Long time reader, first time posting....

I have a GEN1 Lowrance HDS 5. While out on the saltwater, I had a house battery malfunction that caused an overcharge (over voltage) situation with my alternator. Although it wasn't over 16 volts charging, it was over the normal 14.2 volts it was charging at earlier.

During this over-volt issue, my HDS 5 lost the sounder function - no fish arches, bottom patterns, no depth reading. It does however, still have the water temp, so I know that particular transducer is sending some data to the head unit.

I have already tried a new HST-WSBL (83/200) transducer and had the same exact issue, no depth or sounder echoes, just a water temp reading.

I have searched for voltage pin-outs for the transducer connections without any luck.

Since my Unit is well out of warranty (2nd one I might add as the first HSD I received in the mail with DOA out of the box) and I have had it apart, but there doesn't appear to anything OBVIOUS (visually) wrong with the circuit board.

If I could find a pin out chart with voltage readings, or a circuit description, I could have my son who works in a high end circuit board mfg company here in Seattle, fix any problems I may find.

HDS 5 Gen 1
HST-WSBL (x2) Transducer
Bayliner Trophy

Thanks for any help
Old 07-11-2014, 08:04 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 551
Received 144 Likes on 77 Posts
Default

I have the same set up. Have you tried a soft reset? If that doesn't work try a hard reset?
http://70.184.206.230/system/selfser...RTICLE_ID=2874
Old 07-11-2014, 10:02 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for replying..

I've tried the soft reset, hard reset, rewire, replaced the transducer with a new one, reset (Installed) the transducer in the menu settings, taken the circuit boards out, cleaned them, reinstalled them, made sure the "STOP SOUNDER" button was not checked, isolated the HDS with battery voltage (ground and positive from battery) Today I checked "Voltage" out of the Sounder connection and I think of the 7 pins that are there, only 2 showed any kind of voltage out and one of those pins is not used by simple HST-WSBL, skimmer. The one NOT used showed a volt reading of 5 volts, and the other, showed a reading of 3.5. Thanks offering a suggestion.. Next step will be to figure out how to convince my buddy to dismantle his dash so I can plug my head unit into his wiring....
Old 07-11-2014, 10:08 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Oh, and one other thing I tried - when in SIMULATION MODE, the sounder displays a depth reading... I don't know it this simulation mode is simply a small video file or not, but it does provide a bottom pattern, fish arches and depth reading..

Thanks
Old 07-12-2014, 12:09 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,444
Likes: 0
Received 1,128 Likes on 918 Posts
Default

If the sounder is transmitting you should measure 1200-1400V peak to peak when using an oscilloscope with a high voltage differential probe between pin 1 and 5.

I have never tried measuring with a multimeter, but here the readings would be much lower and varying with the range selected (or autos elected by the sounder).

For doing measurements on these high voltage signals I recommend using the pigtail connector ( 000-10046-001) or a pigtail connector made from an old ditched transducer. Take care when measuring since this are high voltage signals.

Old 07-14-2014, 05:57 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Outstanding, I'll check with my brother to see if any of his automotive scopes/oscilloscopes will measure this voltage... And I just happen to have s pare connector!

Thank you for the information.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.