Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance transducer placement?

Old 07-07-2014, 06:57 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Lowrance transducer placement?

Ok,
I am ready to install the transducer for my GPS/Fish-Depth finder, but the bracket and transducer are MUCH larger than the current transducer and bracket that are on the boat.

The boat is a 1998 Wellcraft 190CCF for anyone familiar with it. Even after buying a different bracket, and or cutting the current one down, I would think that the ducer would still be mounted to low on the boat. The current transducer and spin wheel will be coming off.

Any ideas (pictures below)? ;?
Attached Images   
Old 07-07-2014, 07:08 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Texas
Posts: 771
Received 251 Likes on 93 Posts
Default

One option would be to mount the bracket horizontally to the bottom of the transom step, the transducer and bracket would then be parallel. Based on the photo you might need to have a spacer or modify the bracket slightly to accommodate for the slope of the transom. Without additional photos it is hard to tell if the transducer would be low enough in this mounting configuration.

Alternatively, with the other transducer remove it looks like you might have sufficient clearance by the chine for the traditional install...might not be the best location though.
Old 07-07-2014, 07:28 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,063
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

Tough call. The bigger skimmer 'ducer also has a longer neck, which will put it deeper still. There's probably too much turbulence if you mount it further aft on the actual transom. It would work fine at slow speeds but probably lose bottom detail when cruising. "Semperfishing" might see this and be able to help out. Like txtightline suggested, invert the mount and screw it "up" to the underside of the transom overhang. You'd likely need to shim down a bit to get correct depth off the keel.
Old 07-07-2014, 08:00 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I would have never thought about mounting it on the overhang. Current ducer seems to work pretty well in that location. I see a lot of Lowrance models with a 2 screw metal mount that is much smaller, not sure if that would work with this one or not.

What other pictures/angles would help?
Old 07-07-2014, 08:09 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,063
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by saltycrab View Post
I would have never thought about mounting it on the overhang. Current ducer seems to work pretty well in that location. I see a lot of Lowrance models with a 2 screw metal mount that is much smaller, not sure if that would work with this one or not.

What other pictures/angles would help?
Rotate the mounting bracket so that it's roughly parallel with the running surface of the 'ducer. Hold it up against the underside as far forward as possible (right above your original intended location), and see what it looks like. You'll likely need a spacer/fairing strip for the starboard side of the mount to keep the 'ducer level. It's probably doable. That 'ducer needs the larger mount due to it's size/weight & drag.

Last edited by Cobia 217; 07-07-2014 at 08:10 AM. Reason: typo
Old 07-07-2014, 10:34 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well,
It does sit a little better than I would have imagined against the overhang. I thought I shot a decent frontal picture as well, but I was in a hurry to get back to work and when I looked on my phone it was a complete blur. You can’t tell too much from this picture. At how much of an angle can it be, or does it have to be shimmed?


Attached Images  
Old 07-07-2014, 10:38 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I guess the very edge of overhang where it is flat where the drain is would be a no no?
Old 07-07-2014, 10:48 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,063
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by saltycrab View Post
I guess the very edge of overhang where it is flat where the drain is would be a no no?
Looks to be a little too deep, even when on the underside, and will be deeper on the right side once it's shimmed. If it's not level side-to-side, you won't get good bottom returns. Remember the signal that goes down needs to bounce straight back up in an ideal setting for the receiver to decipher it. I'd PM Semperfishing in regards to mounting it on the actual transom. He's probably seen similar setups and knows what has the best likelihood of success. Like I mentioned previously, I don't know how much turbulence there is further back. You'd get good performance but likely only at slow speed. I doubt Lowrance makes any specialty brackets for circumstances like yours.
Old 07-07-2014, 11:19 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I assume you mean semperfifishing? Just sent him a PM. Thanks
Old 07-07-2014, 11:26 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,063
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by saltycrab View Post
I assume you mean semperfifishing? Just sent him a PM. Thanks
The guy with the wood boat in the field in his signature is the one I meant. Sorry if I got it wrong.
Old 07-07-2014, 11:38 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,895
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Cobia 217 View Post
The guy with the wood boat in the field in his signature is the one I meant. Sorry if I got it wrong.
Close enough...


Gil
Old 07-07-2014, 05:35 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The angle isn't too bad I don't think. I will still leave the other transducer hooked up so I have 2 sources. Thoughts?
Attached Images  
Old 07-07-2014, 05:40 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Another
Attached Images  
Old 07-07-2014, 05:53 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,063
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

If it were my boat, I'd shim it so it's as close to level as possible bc I'd want it to perform at its best. Should be easy enough. Slip a couple of nylon washers under the outboard side of the bracket and put the screws through them & you're good to go. Or cut a thin strip of nylon or starboard. Whatever you can get your hands on that fits the best.
Old 07-08-2014, 07:30 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You don't think leveling it down will bring it too far below the boat?
Old 07-08-2014, 11:29 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Another stupid question, most pictures show transducers mounted on starboard. If I keep the current transducer, and place this on on port, will that be a problem? Didn't know if the rotation of the prop was a reason you don't typically see them on that side.
Old 07-08-2014, 11:51 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,063
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by saltycrab View Post
You don't think leveling it down will bring it too far below the boat?
Lay a straight edge along the hull to the 'ducer and see where it aligns. You might be a tiny bit low but your options are limited. Compare it to the smaller "skimmer" you already have. As to which side to mount it on, since it's "ahead" of the prop, it shouldn't matter which side you choose. Urban legend has it that the pressure wave from the prop is towards the port side and can adversely affect the 'ducer's performance. I've used both sides on previous boats and not had any issues, but I also had lots of room to work with and was able to maintain my distance from the props.
Old 07-08-2014, 12:01 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Will do.
Old 07-08-2014, 05:15 PM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 10,063
Received 1,624 Likes on 985 Posts
Default

Is there a Wellcraft owners' forum you could post in? You can't be the first guy to face this dilemma.
Old 07-08-2014, 05:28 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thomasville, GA
Posts: 277
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I know right. Every picture I see of the Lowrance 332 transducer shows the one piece metal bracket. Wondering if I should just buy it since it is smaller, but still not sure that it would fit vertical.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.