Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Last garmin firmware in 721xs and 1020xs with transducer M260 and B175M with GCV10

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Last garmin firmware in 721xs and 1020xs with transducer M260 and B175M with GCV10

Old 07-07-2014, 05:46 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Last garmin firmware in 721xs and 1020xs with transducer M260 and B175M with GCV10

Hi, yesterday I upgrade my system with last firmware. But I didnt find how combine both transducer in only one gps. I have the 721xs with traditional m260 and the 1020xs with the B175M, I have both gps connected in network garmin. I only watch sidevu and downvu in both gps as the previous firmware.

Can someone explain me in detail these two points of last firmware:

1.- Added support for sharing internal sonar across the Garmin Marine Network.

2.- Added ability to select the sonar source for traditional sonar, DownVü, and SideVü if multiple sources are available.

Thank you

Old 07-07-2014, 06:16 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default

1. You can share any sonar display your using between units (i.e. whatever transducer your using to display chirp (TM150 etc) you can display that view on either plotter.

2. Source lets you select what sonar/chart/gps source you want to use on either plotter.
Old 07-07-2014, 03:59 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
1. You can share any sonar display your using between units (i.e. whatever transducer your using to display chirp (TM150 etc) you can display that view on either plotter.

Ummm but i have two gps 721xs and 1020xs, they are plotter or not?, how can i do that?

2. Source lets you select what sonar/chart/gps source you want to use on either plotter.
This is only plotter?
Old 07-07-2014, 04:01 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
1. You can share any sonar display your using between units (i.e. whatever transducer your using to display chirp (TM150 etc) you can display that view on either plotte

2. Source lets you select what sonar/chart/gps source you want to use on either plotter.
Ummm but i have two gps 721xs and 1020xs, they are plotter or not?, how can i do that?
Old 07-07-2014, 04:29 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,889
Likes: 0
Received 1,695 Likes on 928 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by josman2001 View Post
Ummm but i have two gps 721xs and 1020xs, they are plotter or not?, how can i do that?


When using either the 721xs or the 1040xs you can select which sonar transducer you wish to see the return from...either the M260 or the B175m.
But...You can't see both at the same time...on the same screen.

But you can see the GCV 10 information at the same time as the selected transducer...on the same screen.
Old 07-07-2014, 05:03 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default

Here you go a video ...... u can share xm/sirius weather/music controls, waypoints/tracks/routes, sonar and sonar controls transducers etc, charts.

https://vimeo.com/100163418
Old 07-07-2014, 05:53 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 80
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Umm ok,
If traditional sonar option is off in the 721xs and ON in the 1020xs, I watch the b175m in both gps
Or
If traditional sonar option is off in the 1020xs and ON in the 721xs I watch the m260 in both gps
And
If both gps with traditional sonar option in ON, the 721 only watch the M260 and the 1020xs only watch the b175m.

Is this correct?
Old 07-07-2014, 08:10 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,889
Likes: 0
Received 1,695 Likes on 928 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by josman2001 View Post
Umm ok,
If traditional sonar option is off in the 721xs and ON in the 1020xs, I watch the b175m in both gps
Or
If traditional sonar option is off in the 1020xs and ON in the 721xs I watch the m260 in both gps
And
If both gps with traditional sonar option in ON, the 721 only watch the M260 and the 1020xs only watch the b175m.

Is this correct?
Correct..you can select any transducer as your source that you want.
Old 07-08-2014, 01:29 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 169
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

There is one caveat to this. I'm finding that the quality of the image is reduced on the transducer info not connected directly to the unit you are viewing.

I have a 1040xs and 840xs connected via GCV 10. The TM150M transducer is connected to the 1040xs. I can now select to view that transducer source on my 840xs, but the screen image is not as crisp as it is on the 1040xs. It seems to lose some clarity going over the network.

I assume others notice the same thing?
Old 07-08-2014, 04:38 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default

I have not seen the sonar clarity issue. My TM150 is connected to a 741xs
Old 07-08-2014, 05:42 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by ejthomp View Post
There is one caveat to this. I'm finding that the quality of the image is reduced on the transducer info not connected directly to the unit you are viewing.

I have a 1040xs and 840xs connected via GCV 10. The TM150M transducer is connected to the 1040xs. I can now select to view that transducer source on my 840xs, but the screen image is not as crisp as it is on the 1040xs. It seems to lose some clarity going over the network.

I assume others notice the same thing?
Do you get the same degradation when you go from 840xs to the 1040xs?
Old 07-08-2014, 03:00 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 169
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
Do you get the same degradation when you go from 840xs to the 1040xs?
Don't know. The TM150M is connected directly to the 1040xs and they are connected via the GCV 10. I can't switch the TM150M to the 840xs without rerouting the transducer wire which would be a pain.

It's not bad viewing the TM150M on the 840xs, it's just a little less clear. It reminds me of a recording of the 1040xs screen.

I'm the only one noticing this?;?
Old 07-08-2014, 03:24 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by ejthomp View Post
Don't know. The TM150M is connected directly to the 1040xs and they are connected via the GCV 10. I can't switch the TM150M to the 840xs without rerouting the transducer wire which would be a pain.

It's not bad viewing the TM150M on the 840xs, it's just a little less clear. It reminds me of a recording of the 1040xs screen.

I'm the only one noticing this?;?
What I was wondering is if it is just because of the smaller screen.
Old 07-08-2014, 04:11 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location:
Posts: 169
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
What I was wondering is if it is just because of the smaller screen.
The screens have the same resolution so I doubt that. Also, the DownVu and SideVu screens fed from the GCV 10 look the same on both.

Next time out I will look at it more closely and take pictures if the difference is noticeable.
Old 07-08-2014, 05:35 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by ejthomp View Post
The screens have the same resolution so I doubt that. Also, the DownVu and SideVu screens fed from the GCV 10 look the same on both.

Next time out I will look at it more closely and take pictures if the difference is noticeable.
Just think smaller pixels might make some things harder to see. The other option is Garmin is encoding it and distributing it as a network video stream. Seems kinda weird to do that. None of the other manufacturers I am aware of do that. Pictures would be good, you are breaking new ground here.
Old 07-08-2014, 05:44 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default

I'm heading offshore Thursday so I'll get some screen shots and video finished the Garmin install this evening. I'll stress it as much as I can.
Old 07-09-2014, 04:59 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default

Removed the TM 260 and installed the 840's transducer ...








Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.