Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 545s issue

Old 06-29-2014, 09:53 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lincoln Park, NJ
Posts: 1,375
Default Garmin 545s issue

I have a Garmin 545s. It was in the cabin of my boat when it half sunk in Sandy. The unit was sitting in a bucket of water for about a week. I went online to see about getting it checked out and I found out that it's waterproof. I cleaned it up and powered it up and it was fine. I tested it again earlier this year and it was still good. Now that I'm finally getting my new to me boat together and installed it I'm having an issue. At first it wouldn't turn on. Then after I got it to turn on I could turn it off. I wound up disconnecting the plug to shut it off then I couldn't get it to turn on again. I figure there's an issue with the power switch but Garmin doesn't service these older units anymore.
81Malibu is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 09:36 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lincoln Park, NJ
Posts: 1,375
Default

This morning I opened up the unit. No water got inside and everything looked brand new. I spoke to Garmin 2 years ago about getting the unit looked at and I was told that they don't service old units. Is there anywhere I can send it? I really don't feel like buying a new one.
81Malibu is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 11:23 AM
  #3  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 16,270
Default

I'd look at the fuse/power connection (and then remove the fuse and connect it directly to a fuse box).
In boat electronics years, thats a relatively old unit. It's not worth the cost to repair it--even if it could be done.
Joe is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 01:27 PM
  #4  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,904
Default

Malibu,
I have a 541s that I've had for the past 6 years and has worked flawlessly, the unit is always removed from the boat and the power cord has always had the little cover put over it. This past Feb when we went out (for the shake down cruise for the year) the unit came on fine, worked great for about an hour and then it turned off (on it's own) and I couldn't turn it back on, it is wired through a switch on the dash in which the little light on the switch was working but unit wouldn't come on, I pulled the inline fuse which was fine and power was getting to the fuse no problem...then about an hour later the unit came on and ran perfectly for the rest of the day. Fast forward to April, used the boat 3 times no problem, then about 2 weeks ago same thing happened, the unit shut off and wouldn't come back on, so I disconnected it from the switch and wired it directly to a +12v source on my fuse pannel, still didn't help. The only thing left was it was either the unit itself or the plug on the harness, so I took the unit to my West Marine store where I hooked it up to the electronics display that we have and the unit came on and I left it on for about 4 hours without any problems so I got a new wire harness (plug) and hooked it up, it has been flawless since.
So I know that was long way to my point of it might just be your harness. What I would do is if you have a West Marine (or whatever Marine electronics store near you) near by and ask them if you can hook it up to a Garmin harness that they have on their display, it would be an easy way to check the unit, if it works it could be the harness, another thing to check would be to make sure the orange wire is not hooked up to the red (+12v) wire and connected to your +12v source, that could cause the unit to not turn off correctly.
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 03:14 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lincoln Park, NJ
Posts: 1,375
Default

I've owned this unit since new. While it may be old and not deemed worth fixing, I still spent almost $1000 on it about 5 years ago. To say that I should go out and spend that again for another unit that'll last 5 more years sounds insane.
Thanks mahi I'm going to double check my connections. If that doesn't work I'm going to look into trying it at a store. I just assumed that I was going to find water damage on the unit.
81Malibu is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 03:17 PM
  #6  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,904
Default

Originally Posted by 81Malibu View Post
I've owned this unit since new. While it may be old and not deemed worth fixing, I still spent almost $1000 on it about 5 years ago. To say that I should go out and spend that again for another unit that'll last 5 more years sounds insane.
Thanks mahi I'm going to double check my connections. If that doesn't work I'm going to look into trying it at a store. I just assumed that I was going to find water damage on the unit.
Yeah, that's a good thing that you didn't at least find any water in it, that sounds promising at least, hopefully just a $20 harness and a little time to replace cures the problem. My plug didn't have any visible corrosion that I could see in it, but it must have I just couldn't see it in those tiny little holes
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 07:56 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lincoln Park, NJ
Posts: 1,375
Default

I added an aux fuse panel today because the oem was full and I already had it. All spaces weren't being used but I didn't want to mess with the factory wiring at this time. Next season I plan on completely cleaning up the wiring. Right now I'm just trying to undo any mistakes, wire nuts,Home Depot wire,etc from the PO. Next season I plan on adding a second battery and redoing it all. Anyway the unit powered right up, stayed on and turned off when I pressed the button. I'll have more time to check it out on Thursday. Hopefully she works out.
81Malibu is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 08:04 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 417
Default

I have a 441s with the same problem right now. It powered on and off when it wanted to a month or so ago when fished last. I pulled the plug off tonight and had 12.6 volts in the harness. Let me know if the harness is the problem but I believed I ruled that out with the volt meter??
Rferrell is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 08:07 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lincoln Park, NJ
Posts: 1,375
Default

Will do
81Malibu is offline  
Old 06-30-2014, 08:38 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Louisiana and Morehead City N.C.
Posts: 11,390
Default

Here is a Refurb one on ebay for cheap.Comes with one year warranty.U can get new ones on ebay for $509.http://www.ebay.com/itm/GARMIN-GPSMA...item3a85b8ae6a.
Originally Posted by 81Malibu View Post
I've owned this unit since new. While it may be old and not deemed worth fixing, I still spent almost $1000 on it about 5 years ago. To say that I should go out and spend that again for another unit that'll last 5 more years sounds insane.
Thanks mahi I'm going to double check my connections. If that doesn't work I'm going to look into trying it at a store. I just assumed that I was going to find water damage on the unit.
captain28570 is offline  
Old 07-12-2014, 05:41 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lincoln Park, NJ
Posts: 1,375
Default

Had the boat out on Sunday and the unit worked well. Hopefully it continues to.
81Malibu is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread